We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smugglers Cove, St Lucia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Smugglers Cove, St Lucia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just got back from a superd 2 weeks at this resort. We had the all inclusive package and couldn't find fault with the service, accomodation or food in any of the 4 resteraunts. We were particularly impressed with the free sports provided especially the archery and water skiing and the staff providing support for these activities. We will be returning without doubt.

Colin and Adele

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    820
    386
    157
    107
See reviews for
673
896
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Didn't read any of the reviews until a week before departure, and I must admit a was a bit worried. But I needn't have been as from the moment we arrived the staff couldn't have been better. Very friendly and helpful. The room or little bungalow thing was basic but it was actually all we needed. Our daughter had her own room and the beds were comfy and the room kept clean. Didn't think much of the shampoos etc thankfully we took our own. The only other comment about the accommodation was that there was not enough cupboard space to hang or store clothes - I do hate living out of a suitcase thank goodness for the ironing board. No complaints about the food plenty of variety, well cooked and presented. My daughter loved the pancakes for breakfast! Also special mention for the drinks - fruit punch can't be beaten! Never been all inclusive before but would definitely do so again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Sandra B,

We at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa always value and appreciate the gift of feedback, as such we thank you for the time you have taken to post this review. Please note that we have communicated your comments to the team as a thank you for their consistent work to provide high levels of service and standards.

Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Smugglers Cove, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon among us.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went for a week in october, lovely weather. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

Shame about the standards of the room. Bathroom needs a good revamp, toilet top just sat on top and toilet kept getting blocked. Shower head needs decalcing and the basic that you can find in lower star hotels, shower gel was missing. Room was massive and spacious. beds lovely and huge, the fridge should be supplied with basic ingredient of water at least. First few nights had issues with mosquitoes in the room and asked the staff several times to spay and finally they went away. shoudl also have the option of mosquitoe nets.

Food in the hotel was ok but should really make use of the local produce e.g pineapple and papya which was available once the whole stay i was there. More fish products being an island.

Some bar staff were a bit rude as it felt like you were imposing there discussions when asking for a drink.

WiFi only in the bar area of the hotel so everyone congretgated there.

Sunbeds plentiful, pools were great.

Evening entertainment was really good.

last days there it rained continuoulsy and everyone tried to stay in the bar but there wasnt enough room to cater for everyone.

overall good stay, but sorry to say i wouldnt go again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Frangi_72,

Thank you for your recent stay at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa and for your feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to address some of the issues highlighted in your review. First we are truly very sorry for the lapses in servicing your accommodations. We investigated this matter and took corrective measures to ensure this does not happen again.

In an effort to reduce the amount of waste produced we do not use shower gels. Instead we offer bar soaps that are much more suited to single use. As for the mini fridges these are available upon request. In some cases the previous occupant of a room may have requested a fridge and since it was not required elsewhere it could be left in place. The fridges are not stocked in order to reduce ants and pests in rooms. However as the hotel is all inclusive there is nothing to stop a guest from filling a bottle with water or a plate with food and taking it back to the room.

We thank you again for your honest feedback, It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Hopefully your next visit will be for a longer period as there is much more to see in Saint Lucia and Smugglers Cove.

In the mean time stay connected with us through Facebook and twitter.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second visit to Smugglers Cove and there were lots of improvements. The beach was fantastic (definitely seemed cleaner and brighter than last time) and our room was nicer - in a similar area to our last stay but "refreshed". There has obviously been some hard work done over the past few months. The food still great, didn't have a bad meal. Best of all - The Spa. New and improved for sure - big hello to Ariel and his team. Was seriously stressed from work when I arrived and although the Spa is not part of the all inclusive deal, it is seriously worth indulging. Heavenly!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Betty F,
We would like to thank you for your continued support and taking the time to write a review. Our returning guests are very important to us, as such it makes us proud to hear you found more to enjoy on your recent stay. Keep an eye on your inbox as we will soon be offering many new facilities and special packages for our past guests. We sincerely look forward to your next vacation here with us at Smugglers Cove.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second time to return to Smugglers Cove and was wonderful to be greeted like long lost family from the kids club/nursery staff. Jay, Marcia, Cleopaulna and Denise are a true asset to this resort. We also use the babysitting service they offer in the evening to enjoy cafe Asia and our children are more than happy to wave bye bye to us :-). Smugglers is a big resort and yes it will get busy in the school holidays. As long as the hotel open all restaurants (waterfront) for breakfast it is possible to keep queues to a minimum. (It just took a while to get it opened!)

We have always food the food to be to a very high standard and plenty of choice. We have a one bedroom suite which is a large room which as a family of 5 we need and can be divided. He's, the rooms are a bit tired and could do with a few tiles being replaced but this is the Caribbean and having spent a lot of time there, this is very common.

To sum up, we love this hotel. Yes, it's not so busy out of school holidays which I'm sure we would all prefer but when you are tied to these dates you have to expect it to be busy. We hope to return next year.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear M B,
We would like to thank you for your continued support and taking the time to write a review. Our returning guests are very important to us, as such it makes us proud to hear you found more to enjoy on your recent stay. Keep an eye on your inbox as we will soon be offering many new facilities and special packages for our past guests. We sincerely look forward to your next vacation here with us at Smugglers Cove.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from an amazing honeymoon at Smugglers. The transfer does take a while but you are told of this on booking. We had one of the rooms near the beach and although it was near the watersports section it wasn't noisey at all. All the fixtures and fittings in the room were lovely, especially the giant bath! Though some instructions on how to use it would of been good as we only really worked it out by accident.

The food was lovely, although it would have been nice to have a really traditional caribbean restaurant on site as the Waterside only really serves some caribbean food and I think it would go down a treat. Yes you had to queue for breakfast but never for long and this soon eased up when the waterside was open for breakfast. A wider choice of wine might of been nice.

Sunbeds were limited but to be honest we never had a problem finding one but maybe we were quick with this. It was frustrating seeing people looking for sunbeds when some people had put towels out and then hadn't once returned to use them for 4 hours in some cases. I wouldn't say this is a criticism of the hotel though as I think this is the sort of thing that happens at any resort. The beach sellers, of which there were only ever a few, never hassled you more than once and they were fine if you said you weren't interested.

In terms of the staff they were always helpful. I know some reviewers have criticised them for being rude but I really don't think that is their intention. We spent a lot of time exploring the island and we found that the St Lucian people are really quite quiet and a little reserved with tourists and I think that this is the same with staff at the resort. In terms of service it was always fine, if sometimes a little rushed but again having eaten in the market the St Lucians seem to not hang around with their food! It is worth remembering that you are visiting a totally different country with a different culture and you can't expect all things to be the same.

We loved the island and the hotel did a fab job of making it special for us. A holiday is what you make of it so enjoy!!

Room Tip: We had a beach front room which was large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear rflint1979,

We are glad that you took the time to share your feedback and post this review on trip advisor about Smugglers Cove even though time passed so quickly on your last stay with us.

Thank you for that and for your detailed comments and recommendations. Hopefully you will be planning a return visit to Saint Lucia soon so you get a chance to experience more of beautiful Saint Lucia with its hospitality and friendliness all over again.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Smugglers Cove and thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We traveled to Smugglers Cove this last spring from April 1 -8, 2012. I hadn't written a review at that time but felt I should give my two cents...so here goes.

This was a nice resort. This was not glamorous but certainly clean and nice.

We opted to rent a car and this allowed us some freedom to eat out a couple of times, visit the Pitons on our own and go into Rodney Bay and Reduit Beach.

The beach at the resort was nice but not as nice as Reduit Beach. They had several pools throughout the resort.

They have an excellent children's pool with a water slide and a great play area for kids.

The room was clean. It was a very nice room. Again, not glamorous but nice.

The food and drinks were quite good. We ate at the buffet most nights but did eat at the a la cartes a couple of times. The food was delicious. Lots of variety.

The resort is large and beautifully kept. It reminded me of a lush botanical garden. Just lovely.

Overall, an excellent holiday. This is a very nice family resort. Only drawback is the distance from the airport!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Travelsalot!,
Thank you for choosing Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa for your stay in Saint Lucia and for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor. It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the facilities within and the highlights of our location. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad to inform you that white sand has been imported to our cove & we have a newly expanded spa facility. This means when you come back again there will be even more to enjoy here at Smuggler Cove.

Once again, thank you for choosing Smugglers Cove and for your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed Saint Lucia and we are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Address: Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel Cap Estate
Smugglers Cove Resort And Spa
Almond Smugglers Cove Castries
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.