We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP OF THE LINE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Trinidad
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“TOP OF THE LINE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It is with great pleasure and pride on behalf of my wife and myself, I seize this opportunity to express our profound thanks and sincerest gratitude to the management and staff of the Smugglers Cove Resort and Spa, St. Lucia. During the period of Thursday 27th September 2012, and Monday 1st October 2012,both of us were blessed with the golden opportunity of celebrating our wedding anniversary (Sunday 30th September 2012) at this resort. It was a remarkable experience which has prompted us to say that, never before in our lives, had we ever gone to any other part of the world and experienced such a wonderful vacation. The staff were polite, friendly, hospitable, kindhearted, loving, and most of all professional in there bearing and manner. We say this not just for saying sake, but not for a single moment, were we left to feel bored as we were well taken care of and had our attention drawn to them at all material times. Every member of staff, we highly commend and urge to continue in good stead, to continue to be exemplars and raise the image of Smugglers Cove as, this will in no doubt redound to the benefit of visitors, mamagement and staff, but despite all of this this, we give a heartiest, special and well deserved cnmmendation to ROSE and ROSALIE of the Cove Restaurant and BRYAN Theophilus etc. (rest of name to long to fit -lol) of the Piton's Lounge for their undivided attention, dedication and devotion which they displayed to us during our stay. They have no doubt in our minds performed exceptionally well. The food at the various Restaurants were exotic and quite simptuous in addition to the grill and BBQ on the beach. The activities staff especially Jackie were great. They did a magnificent job in getting the visitors to be involved especially the Kareoke on Sunday 30th September 2012. The two most beautiful ladies who gave us our massages on Saturday 29th September 2012, at 2.00pm did a professional job which we both enjoyed. Up to this present time we still feel relaxed. I am so sorry that we did not note their names but, hats off to both of them. The rooms were well kept and house keepers did a great job. Our room was 313. We are still amazed as to the beautiful and advantageous location with full view of the Caribbean sea this resort is situate. We would definitely like to say to everyone, THANKS for a job well done by making our stay a most enjoyable and comfortable one. Our payments were well worth it. We will do all of our our best in the meantime to encourage persons to visit Smugglers Cove as it we know it will be a vacation they will never regret. Continue to attract people and it will most definitely auger well for your establishment. Keep the flag flying and keep up the good work guys. From Neville and Lutchme Sankar, Sangre Grande- Trinidad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear nevillesankar,

We are glad that you took the time to share your feedback and post this review on trip advisor about Smugglers Cove even though time passed too quickly on your last stay with us.

Thank you for that and for your detailed comments and recommendations. Hopefully you will be planning a return visit to Saint Lucia soon so you get a chance to experience more of beautiful Saint Lucia with its hospitality and friendliness all over again. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Smugglers Cove and thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    937
    435
    167
    118
See reviews for
753
1,017
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Smugglers in mid September along with our friends during a low occupancy period with only about 200-300 guests. Whilst the food was very good and our room immaculately cleaned and maintained by our maid, the hotel facilities looked tired and in places in need of some tender loving care. No information book about the hotel was available in the room and the welcome pack was not comprehensive enough.
For example some doors in the ladies toilet had 8 different positions drilled to place the lock! The swimming pools were not very clean and did not appear to be cleaned daily as no matter what time you went there appeared to be leaves or sand in them. Although being told to factor up and get shade at 1 pool we counted 64 sunbeds with only 7 umbrellas available. Needed early morning raid to ensure you got one! The management were aware of this and more were on order.
We ate at all the various options with Cafe Asia getting the best vote. Had an excellent and good value lobster on last evening which was cooked to order with the chef coming out in person to check on cooking method!
Overall the hotel rates a 3.5 rating and must make some effort in its cleanliness, communication and facilities to get a 4 star rating in our view

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe garden rooms for easier access to facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear PWOOUT,

Thank you for choosing Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa for your recent stay in Saint Lucia and for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very valuable to us as we try to improve and expand our services.

We would like to take a moment to address sand in the pools. Our pools are very close to the beach and as such some sand my be blown in or tracked into the pool by guests. I can assure you we clean the pools 3 times a day in most cases. That said we will be installing a few more showers/footbaths in an effort to reduce the sand in pools.

Once again, thank you for choosing Smugglers Cove and for your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed Saint Lucia and we are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We just got back from having our wedding at the Smugglers Cover Resort and Spa.
Before we went I was really worried about all the negative reviews but to be honest these people must have stayed at a different resort because the resort was brilliant.

We were welcomed with reception drinks and shown to our room with no problem.

The day after arriving we had an appointment with the wedding co-ordinator Lorna who is amazing. We literally filled out a few forms and Lorna took care of everything.

The mosquitoes were a pain for the first day but after buying the repellent they were no longer a problem.

The food was good in all the restaurants and I am a really fussy eater and always managed to find something to eat which was good. I especially liked the cinnamon rock cakes at breakfast. We had no problems booking in to any of the restaurants.

The room was lovely and was right next to the wedding chapel overlooking the sea.

The staff were always polite and helpful and there are always staff working to keep the pools clean and maintain the grounds.

We arrived on a Sunday and got married on the following Friday in the wedding gazebo and it was the most perfect day and I couldn't have hoped for anything better. I had my hair and make up done by Nicola in the spa and she did an amazing job.

We met so many nice people which really made our honeymoon.

All the water sports are free and we had no issues booking any of them up.

I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone going to St Lucia and would love to return.

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe Garden/Sea View Room which I would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear JaxB29,

Congratulations again on your recent marriage with us at Smugglers Resort & Spa and thank you for posting such a lovely review. It makes us proud to read that your stay was perfect especially on such a memorable day!

Please note that we have communicated your 5 star review with the team as a thank you for their consistent work to provide the highest level of service and standards. Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Smugglers Cove, we are looking forward to welcoming you back among us for many anniversaries to come.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Basically the hotel was ok. We had water damage in our bathroom in which the ceiling fell. They offered us another room but we were checking out in 2 days and did not want to move everything. The other downfall was all the cats on the resort. My husband left his shoes outside so as not to bring sand in the room and the cats urinated on them so they had to be thrown out. The best restaurant at the resort was La Tattoria. There they had the best wait staff around and truly made it enjoyable.

Room Tip: We had a beachfront room which we liked
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Maggie F,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor. As a follow up on the correspondence we had, we just like to apologize again for the inconvenience you have encountered during your last stay with us. You may rest assured that your comments were noted with great concern, and detailed investigations with the Maintenance staff have been taken, along with the corrective measures to avoid future repeats.

We take great pride in maintaining a reputation for excellence, and you, as a valuable customer, should never experience such situations. I honestly believe that your unfortunate experience is an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering as Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of services and facilities. We sincerely regret we fell short of our goal in this instance. I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for sharing with us your beneficial comments and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, where every member of the Hotel’s team will do his utmost to make your stay as much memorable as enjoyable.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is an excellent family holiday once again. Standards are improving year on year. I cannot imagine a holiday in St. Lucia away from Smugglers Cove The staff made the holiday special, and tend to be laid back and calm but hard working. My holiday was in the busy season of August and they were BUSY.I would love to purchase a TIME SHARE... when i win the lottery.!
I was hoping to mention several staff members, but have lost my notepad. So, sorry folks and many thanks to everyone of you wonderful hard working staff. Charmaine is my favourite,she remembered us immediately. Mr Tony K. has a great sense of humour,Mr. Xavier has a keen eye for detail, Stan was a great keep fit facilitator, Bernadine at reception was really helpful.
I enjoyed the organic fruit picked on site from Jonathan, the hydroexercises,the spa, the varied cuisine especially the beach BBQ's, the many unique cocktails which bar staff patiently made, and the general ambience of the LOCATION with hundreds of acres of beautiful flowers which is maintained daily.

Room Tip: We received an upgrade as returning guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Angel186338,
Thank you for choosing Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa for your recent stay in Saint Lucia and for sharing your experience with others on Trip Advisor. It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the facilities within and the highlights of our location. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and we are glad to inform you that preparations are being made to expand our spa and import white sand to our cove. So hopefully when you come back again it will be an even more beautiful beach with many more ways to relax.

Once again, thank you for choosing Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa and for your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed Saint Lucia and we are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went to St Lucia & stayed at the Smugglers Cove last 2 wks of Sept. We upgraded our flights when we booked the hol & sat in the upper bubble. It was amazing.
The resort was fabulous. So clean & tidy. Staff were always cleaning the pools, the walkways, the chairs, the beach & the rooms were cleaned every day. The staff all over the resort were kind, polite & very helpful. They couldn't do enough for you.
The restaurants were really nice. Plenty of choice, with me being a very fussy eater it can be quite difficult to find food i like. Not so here. I tried a wide variety of food & enjoyed most of it. Not easy to choose which our favorite restaurant was. they were all equally good.
The water sports were fab. You could book & go on anything almost at anytime. Murphy who worked at the water sports was so helpful & accomadating. He couldn't do enough to ensure we had a fantastic time. Sight seeing trip on the speed boat. Snorkelling trip to another bay. Trying everything he could to help a friend try & succeed to water ski. Nothing was too much trouble for him. & all of it done with the utmost safety to the holiday makers. A big thank you to him.
The entertainment staff were so friendly. The shows in the evening were well staged, especially the Thriller scene & the Phantom of the opera scene. They kept you amused throughout the day with their antics & fun & games.
We went on a few trips organised through the vrigin rep, Natasha, was really bubbly & enthusiastic . Knew her Island & always came over for a chat when she saw us.
The sunset cruise we did on a friday was so romantic. A steel band plays on the catamarn only on fridays. So relaxing.
The virgins ahoy trip was also a wonderful day out. Very well organised again & a lot of fun. Both these are highly recomended.
Overall a fantastic holiday. One we will remember for a very long time. Thank you Virgin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Ian C,
Thank you for your recent stay at Smugglers Resort & Spa and for posting such a lovely review. It makes us proud to read that your stay was perfect and awesome in every detail! Please note that we have communicated your 5 star review with the team as a thank you for their consistent work to provide the highest level of service and standards.

Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Smugglers Cove, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon among us.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for one week and first impressions on arrival were ok, however they soon changed. service at Breakfast was poor, if you wanted a coffee you would have to wait and if you we're lucky you would get one just as you finished breakfast. Very few staff are polite and most only know two words ' your welcome' it's like robotic. Food is good in all restaurants with a varied choice. Swim up Pool Bar need more staff and again preferably ones that enjoy working and not ones that find it hard to smile. The beach was black sand and not as in the professional pictures. Bit of a disappointment. The air conditioning in the room was broken and took 3 attempts to get fixed. Finally it was fixed sort of! The room was comfortable but had lots of ants everywhere. It really would not of hurt for the staff to be more friendly and want to be at work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmugglersJT, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Twinkle2222,
Our sincere apologies for your experience on your most recent stay here at Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa. It is extremely disappointing to know that the level of friendly service and facilities usually enjoyed by our guests were not in place on this visit, and we truly regret your unacceptable experience.

Whilst your comments are most concerning, we always value and appreciate the gift of feedback, and thank you for the time you have taken to post this review. That said it is a Caribbean custom to say "You're Welcome" anytime someone thanks you for your assistance. We truly do not mean to sound "Robotic" and if anything are attempting to be as polite as possible. Also it is our pleasure to inform you that preparations are being made to import white sand to our cove. So hopefully if you do visit us again it will be an even more beautiful beach.

Once again, thank you for choosing Smugglers Cove and we are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Staff & Management
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa

Address: Cap Estates, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Priceline so you can book your Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel Cap Estate
Smugglers Cove Resort And Spa
Almond Smugglers Cove Castries
Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.