We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, private, cliff view of ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Maison

Save Saved
You added Cap Maison to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cap Maison
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Utah, US
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing, private, cliff view of ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Though the cab ride from the major airport on the south end of the island to the property of Cap Maison was long (1 1/2 hours) it was worth every minute. We had a junior villa suite which had a pool and veranda (where we spent tons of time) with gorgeous view of the ocean. The property is on a cliff and there are steps to the small (but nice) beach area. The restaurant was first rate. (We were disappointed the two times we didn't eat there.) Everyone strives to make your visit enjoyable, starting with complimentary bubbly on arrival. Double check on all reservations (spa, special zip line deck, etc.) as us and others found that there were some hiccups in scheduling. We felt private and secluded and appreciate that we could keep in touch with our kids via the wireless internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time spent with us at Cap Maison and the beautiful island that is St Lucia

Ross

Ross Stevenson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    57
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
293
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My husband and I found this place for our honeymoon after reviewing several others on the island of Saint Lucia as well. We could not have been more pleased with our choice and believe it was one of the best places we have ever stayed in our lives. The scenery is breathtaking and resort is quaint and charming. The restaurant, The Cliff at Cap, is fantastic. We ate there 5 out of 7 nights. The staff here is very friendly and accommodating and will set up any activities for you on the island during your stay. We also had several spa treatments and were very impressed. The activities you can do right from the hotel are great as well, we did a sunset cruise on the private boat that was great. We also enjoyed snorkeling and kyaking right from the beach and both we great! We cannot wait to go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Loved my holiday. i tend to splurge and visit different resorts off and on. I loved every moment of Cap maison.,
FANTASTIC restaurant and food. Hotel resembles a spanish style housing and its just simply beautiful. What i enjoyed most was that i AUTOMATICALLY received a 3 day rental in my Holiday package from AL-Rentals.Com. Inquire about that. MAde my explorations much more affordable and saved me tons on the cost of tours.
should not be rated as a 5 star but 5 diamond resort in my opinion.
BTW. the beach which the hotel sits on was filmed in the most recent bachelor TV show. Smugglers Cove. IT was an old pirate hide away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

As a 14 year old in a family with a 11 year old boy my father and I are the main vacation planners. I am so glad that we stumbeled along this gem. We were here for about a week on the Cap It All Off Package. All of our food was included and we are so happy that it was. The restaurant (Cliff at Cap) was so delicious. The waiters and waitresses knew our names and treated us like friends. I highly suggest the pork belly with squid for it is one of the most delicious things I have every eaten. The location is beatutiful and I wish I was still there. My family and I stayed in an oceanfront villa with a private pool. It really was ocean view and it was just steps away from EVERYTHING! The main pool was gorgeous as was the champange zip line terrace and the spanish courtyard pool. Sadly while we were there due to a storm the beach was small but still beautiful and the service at the beach was terriffic. On the other hand the front desk was very helpful with aranging a free shuttle to a different larger white sand beach and any other excursions you my be interested in. Now, I am working on a vacation to turks and caicos and I am worried that no resort will be any where as good as Cap Maison! The only advice I have for someone considering vacationing at Cap Maison is DO IT!!!! You won't be disapointed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulham, London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

First of all we travelled by helicopter, if there are 2 of you travelling to the North of the island it is a complete false economy to get a taxi and it is a wonderful way to arrive after an 11 hour flight from Gatwick.

We were greeted at Cap Maison with a smile, a glass of champagne and a cold towel. We were taken straight to our villa with rooftop pool (Glory Cedar) and our luggage was delivered within 2 hours. The villa was incredible, 2 large balconies plus a huge roof terrace with plunge pool. We had pre ordered a fridge pack, this was ready and waiting with all the basics you would need plus a few naughty treats. There are no local shops so we had these fridge packs delivered every few days throughout our 2 week stay.

The beds are 7ft and the bathrooms are gorgeous with Acqua Di Parma products. A large TV in the sitting room with surround sound and a large TV in bedroom with Ipod dock. There is a food centre with ice maker in the kitchen and dishwasher, there is a cooker too although I didn't go near it!

The hotel complex is beautiful, the grounds are lovely and there are 2 communal pools, the walk down to the beach is steep but first thing in the morning when it gets the sun is really stunning.

Unbeknown to me my boyfriend was planning to propose whilst we were away, the staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating. Whenever they called the room to help him execute his plan they used the code word 'Spa' and pretended to me it was regarding the appointments he had made. The hotel helped to arrange an executive car (BMW X5) to pick us up and take us round to The Landings Hotel where the hotel boat 'Cap Maison 1' is moored, this is a 60ft Searay and is amazing. The captain was waiting to take us for our private charter at sunset the length of the island to the most incredible restaurant called Rainforest Hideaway. This restaurant can only be reached by boat but is most definitely worth it. Thanks to the hotels co-ordination the captain had been given the ring box and knew the proposal would happen on the return journey. Another executive car (Audi Q7) was waiting to take us back to Cap. When we arrived back to our villa the staff had stayed late to cover our ENTIRE villa with rose petals in heart shapes, arrange all our towels in to swans and generally make the most romantic environment that was possible. Beautiful.

The next morning we had a private breakfast on the deck below The Cliff, it's true the zip line is a myth which meant one very nice young man was running up and down the stairs to bring us our 4 course breakfast. Was so beautiful and once again the hotel made it very special.

We did go in to Rodney Bay, Big Chef was our favourite restaurant by far.

Very sad to leave and would 100% recommend to anyone.

...I said yes by the way.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford,CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Cap Maison was the perfect choice for our honeymoon. The hotel is an excellent example of great customer service and a wonderful location. Our room was perfect and we felt at home with all of the amenities in the room. The restaurant staff was able to accommodate my wife because she doesn't eat red meat. We went to Rodney Bay one night to try the food outside and we realized that we had been spoiled at the hotel and ended up eating the rest of the meals at the hotel. The beach was perfect for a honeymoon couple because it was private. We felt as though we were the only couple there and we loved the secluded feel, especially during our honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We got married in May 2010 and after a recommendation from a colleague, decided to spend 5 nights at Cap Maison as part of our honeymoon.

Having travelled extensively around the world, i can easily say this is the best hotel we have ever stayin in.

On arrival, we were greeted with an ice cold hand towel, and a chilled glass of champagne. This was an ideal after an 11 hour flight. As we had flown in from the south by helicopter, we were still waiting for a bags, but were told these would be delivered to our room once they arrived.

Check in was the best i have encountered. We gave our names, and were promtly shown to our room. Not having to worry about paper work, and credit card details was a relief after such a long jouney.

We stayed in an ocean view villa with pool which could not have been more perfect, and far exceeded our extremely high expectations. The large private pool was the icing on the cake for this amazing accommodation.

The staff at Cap Maison are a compliment to this hotel. When looking into this trip everyone we spoke to was extremely helpful, especially Ollie and Dey. They were so helpful, and made us feel welcome even before we arrived! Once we got to the hotel this hospitality continued. From Crystal on arrival, Julien in the spa, Dey on departure and all the bar, restaurant and house keeping staff, we cannot speak highly enough of all of them.

A special mention has to go to the manager, Ross. It is so refreshing to be in a hotel where it is clear who the manager is, knowing he is around if there are any issues.

Ross was friendly, and personable, and had a genuine interest in all his guests. On arrival at the welcome drinks, he greeted us, and knew that we had just received our lugguage. A nice touch! It is not surprising that the staff are so fantastic, with a leader like Ross who clearly leads from the front.

There are not enough words, and there is not enough time for me to explain what an amazing hotel this is. Easily the best on the island, and i am sure it will not be long before this hotel is recognised as one of the best in the world.

We look forward to returning to this hotel in the near future. If you are undecided about staying at this hotel, you will not be disappointed. This is a true gem.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;