We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate Romantic Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cap Maison to your Saves list
Cap Maison
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Intimate Romantic Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This intimate boutique property is situated on a bluff overlooking the Caribbean. It is comprised of beautiful Spanish influenced architecture with Spanish tiles and brick cove ceilings. The suites are British Colonial in feel and many include a living/dining area, full kitchen, extra half bath and laundry facilities. My bathroom deserved its own description with natural stone tile work, 2 separate vanities, a large walk-in shower with amazing rain head, and a jetted tub. The ample-sized terrace is perfect for cocktails at sunset or breakfast al fresco. All of the space and amenities in the suite make it ideal for families or a luxurious couple's retreat. The lush verdant landscaping interspersed by courtyards with pools, a gazebo overlooking the ocean, and stone stairs leading down to a deck- topped jetty resting over the ocean make this resort an ideal romantic destination. The main infinity edged pool as well as multilevel, open air restaurant overlooking beautiful blue water and rock islands add to the ambiance as well. The beach is a small cove perfect for watersports and snorkeling and also holds the Naked Fisherman beachside bar and grill ideal for casual fare and a Piton beer. Speaking of food, the cuisine as well as the wines were all exceptional. I had the best scrambled eggs I have ever tasted as well as some incredible conch ceviche, seared scallops, braised short ribs, and passion fruit sorbet. If you are looking for a smaller boutique property with a British feel within a stunning setting topped off by warm and friendly service, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: There is a large variance in rooms, views, and amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    72
    36
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
348
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at Cap Maison for a week in late May 2014. Beautiful sea view room, with a relaxing balcony that overlooked the cliff top sunsets. Such a wonderful location!
The finer details were catered for too, with attentive housekeeping and turndown service, insect repellent in the bathroom (which we used and got no bites) and just a general chilled out atmosphere. The hotel seemed relatively full at breakfast, though during the day few people were about which made for no struggles getting sunbeds etc. and if the beautiful pool wasn't enough, the cove (complete with Naked Fisherman restaurant) was just a couple of minutes walk away with complimentary sea kayaking, snorkelling too. Absolutely brilliant!
Breakfasts were great too, with your local fruit healthy alternative as well as copious amounts of bacon, sausage etc. And all of this to a backdrop of the ocean and Pigeon Island.
So to sum it up, all in all a wonderful experience. Only downsides to watch out for - make sure that if you eat at The Cliff at Cap you don't do it when there's a wedding on as the whole experience becomes de-personalised and I thought the burger at The Naked Fisherman was small and rather average for the price paid. But these were just small things...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Here with my husband and 2 teen girls. We had A/C problem in one room and some unusual situation in our room that was resolved and Management and Jasmine really did more than what we were expecting. They gave us an upgraded room that is truly beautiful and will be a joy to stay in the next 5 nights. We had a dinner at the Naked Fisherman day one that was chef prepared by Scott - my girls and the whole family was thrilled with the flavor and presentation. Jasmine was our greeter and also combing the resort doing PR. Second night dinner in the Cliff, tapas style also amazing. The upgrade has made my trip fabulous. Thank you Cap Maison and whole staff for working to make our trip so memorable. Oh and the attention at the pool is also five star.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Nothing should be badly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

What an amazing resort! Absolutely breathtaking. The view from the pool and main restaurant were even better than the pictures. We loved the food and service at the Naked Fisherman down at the resorts private beach.
Getting breakfast in your room each day was fantastic, there was so much selection!
Would definitely stay here again when we are back in St Lucia.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was a guest at Cap Maison in early April with my husband. We were blown away by the beauty, friendliness, service, and views (particularly sunsets). You can be as active or as restful on this vacation as you choose. We mixed it up and did a little bit of both. The concierge services at Cap Maison were exceptional. They took care of us from airport transfers to the resort, to bookiing various activities/adventures around the Island, etc. The tour companies they paired us with were all fabulous. We experienced some disappointment when we arranged for a rental car. We were given a small SUV that looked and sounded like it was going to die at any minute. We passed the 100,000 mile mark in the car and were forced to stop to re-fill the tires with air. So you've been warned...beware when renting a car! Our ocean view room was beautiful with the exception that the floors were filthy dirty upon arrival and there were no waste paper baskets in the suite. As soon as we notified the front desk they quickly sent someone over to remedy the situation. It took them 2 attempts to get the floor clean though. Skip the Spa. Don't let the fact that they exclusively use Sothy's products fool you. I had a facial and my husband had a massage. Nothing special that warrants the prices there. Internet works in the rooms but not very well. Breakfast and Dinners at the restaurant The Cliff at Cap were phenomenal. The food at The Naked Fisherman Restaurant was also spectacular. Fresh food, creative preparations, great atmosphere, and gorgeous views. If possible, choose a suite with a pool on the roof. Don't miss these attractions: Jungle Biking at Anse Chastanet Resort, Hike Gros Piton, Visit the Diamond Botanical Gardens & Waterfall, Excursion to Soufriere Drive-In Volcano and Sulphur Springs, and Mud Baths. Scuba Diving and snorkeling are highly recommended activities in many places around the island. Also the overnight Turtle excursion may be worth your while if you love these giant creatures. We look forward to returning to this exceptional resort again someday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

While visiting St. Lucia for our 11 day honeymoon, we had the opportunity to travel to each side of the island. Our last 5 days were spent at The Cap Maison. As we arrived early we were greeted with a nice glass of champagne while they set up our room. Check in is not until 3 however, they were kind enough to allow us to check in as early as 11:30am!
As we entered our Junior Suite Ocean View room, we were very pleased. Clean, roomy, and rum punch on the house! SCORE! After two nights in our Junior Suite, we couldn't handle being rather warm at night any longer. Two attempts at making our room cooler, still no luck. The front desk staff was so helpful and concerned with our comfort. They asked us to pack our things, we are to move rooms. Little did we know, Cap Maison staff went above and beyond. We were moved to the Suite with full kitchen, dining, living room, AND roof top private pool. How very nice of them. Totally went above and beyond! Our stay was lovely!
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, Front Office Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you very much for writing your review following your recent Honeymoon spent with us at Cap Maison

It was great to read that you had such a great time and I am sorry that you were inconvenienced with an AC issue but it was lovely to see that our team took the initiative to move you to more comfortable surroundings

Thanks for recommending us - it means a lot to us

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just returned from our stay at Cap Maison. One week of pure bliss. Cap Maison is the perfect way to experience St. Lucia. The accommodations are superb, with breathtaking views. The food at the Cliff at Cap restaurant is sublime with even more breathtaking views, and dinner at Rock Maison is a must. The staff is wonderful and friendly. Amenities are plentiful, if desired, and excursions are easy and rewarding. Overall rating: AMAZING. Highly recommend.
Barry S.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us

It’s great that you had such a wonderful experience and enjoyed the various aspects of your stay, accommodations, food, views and most importantly our people

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.