We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Maison

Save Saved
You added Cap Maison to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cap Maison
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early Booking LongerLoves
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cap Estate
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived at Cap Maison for the second half of our honeymoon and were delighted with the look and feel of the resort. We were greeted with glasses of champagne and our room wasn't quite ready so we headed down to the Naked Fisherman for lunch. The resort itself is small, and has the feel of exclusivity. The grounds are maintained beautifully and the views are gorgeous.

The only downside would be that we had booked our trip as a bed and breakfast package through Expedia and got a little bit of attitude when we pointed this out and they had to adjust our final bill to reflect the change. They did adjust the price for us without much of a fight.

But other than that, a traditional hotel with all the usual room amenities and a nice, relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Cap Maison for your Honeymoon and thank you also for posting your review - it is very much appreciated

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I do apologize that your final bill query was not handled in a more professional manner

Thanks again for making the journey to St Lucia and Cap Maison

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    53
    29
    4
    0
See reviews for
46
283
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Have just finished an excellent stay at Cap Maison. Service and ambience along with location make this an excellent hideaway. The true gem is the beach restaurant the "Naked Fisherman" where you can enjoy good food right on the beach and watch and listen to the waves coming in in. The staff and excellent and succeed in making the place feel more like a party than a restaurant. Pity it is only open for three days a week but worth seeking out. Overall a memorable stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us in January

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our latest addition - The Naked Fisherman - it really has been a great little project to get off the drawing board and the team down there is really great - we are very proud of them!

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We tagged on an extra three days holiday to our usual two weeks in St Lucia and decided to stay at Cap Maison following some previous excellent experiences.

We were in a Garden Room, number 26. This was a new experience for us as, previously we had stayed in villas with jacuzzis and, on one lucky occasion, with a pool.

The Garden Room is laid out in a large L-shape with a small entrance area, shower and bathroom to the right with his and her sinks (!). The shower pressure was excellent and, to my surprise, there was a separate outdoor shower too which is large, but not totally private.

There was a desk area, well-stocked small fridge, usual closet and safe arrangements and a large and very comfortable bed. The sound of the sea can be heard clearly from this room which is great.

There was a door leading to a small patio area with two chairs and table. This patio area was in a covered walkway formed between Room 26 and one of the larger villas next door. Leading from the patio was a way out to a large grassed area with comfortable sun lounges from where one could get a clear view of the sea. One morning, early, I walked barefoot around the resort and was a bit disappointed that the only really muddy area (there had been a lot of rain) was between the lovely soft grassed area and our patio area -making access rather squishy and slippery so I scrapped the early-morning-read-on-a-sunlounger-overlooking the sea moments..

Room service was good as usual. This time, extra towels etc had to be requested and there did not appear to be the usual invisible replenish service as previously. That said, housekeeping were very prompt and they now hold my own personal resort record in that they provided a new towel within 2 minutes of request!

Hooray! A special mention of the return of the Aqua Parma shower gels and shampoos. I am totally addicted to this stuff - rating it higher than Molton Brown - and missed it on our previous trip in September 2013.

The one downside of the room is that we could hear housekeeping and our neighbours clearly, which meant that they could also hear us! This would slightly put me off this category of room again but this is only a minor whinge.

The service in Reception, Cliff and the new restaurant on the beach, "The Naked Fisherman" was excellent. There is a very talented female Lucian chef in the Cliff's kitchen in addition to top chef Craig...who popped out on several occasions to ask us how the food was and whether we were we enjoying ourselves. i have done a separate review for the Naked Fisherman as it deserves it. Kaysha, Vanessa, Maggie and, new additions, Wendy and Fanilia were a delight in the restaurants as were all the staff and Dunstan was a star in watersports - restoring my confidence in hobiecat sailing in roughish waters. He and I had a great time!

Pools were clean - there is not enough shade around the pool in the afternoon - this is more to do with the layout of the resort which should appeal to all sunworshippers. The pool area was busy but the resort was busy too.

Ross Stevenson, Matthew Hartmann and Dee looked after us very well as usual with usual attention to detail.

Mozzies were pests this time and worse than our previous stay in Septamber. We sprayed the room before going out to dinner each evening.

The cadillac taxi service, with driver Michael, was friendly and efficient. On our return journey to the airport there was a major traffic jam about two miles from Castries and he took the decision, after discussion, to go up over the hills avoiding Castries and going back down to Bexon to the main road. These roads required careful attention and Michael is a very good driver and a nice guy.

So another great stay with just a few caveats. If I could give 4.5/5 on the TA rating I would!

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are more spacious than I had thought for "entry-level". Room 26 is nearer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for entrusting us again with your precious vacation time

It was great to read that you liked our new addition The Naked Fisherman as well as our new staff members Wendy at the Cliff and Phenillia at TNF, as ever our staff love to see their names mentioned!! - thank you

Thank you also for writing a separate review on The Naked Fisherman it really has found a little niche on our pretty little cove

We very much look forward to your next visit which I think will be your sixth!


Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We absolutely loved Cap Maison and would go back in a heartbeat. Though it is on the far northern end of the island away from Soufriere and the Pitons, you will not want to leave the resort. We were upgraded to an ocean view villa suite with a rooftop pool/terrace, and it made our 4-night stay absolutely unforgettable. The location was perfect and we enjoyed the seclusion, especially the private beach which is beautiful. The chef is wonderful as well and we really enjoyed our meals at the Cliff restaurant. Cap Maison offers beautiful views of Martinique and the ocean, excellent food and OUTSTANDING service. Great place for couples.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us at Cap Maison

It was great to read that you both had such a great stay and that you enjoyed both of our restaurants; The Cliff at Cap and The Naked Fisherman

We very much look forward to your return visit

With kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our first visit to Cap Maison but it will most certainly not be our last, a really wonderful hotel with outstanding staff offering exceptional service without being overbearing and always with a smile, absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We had a garden view room which was large and actually had fantastic ocean views, the housekeeping standards are impeccable. We have spent many holidays in the Caribbean and without doubt this hotel really is exceptional, a beautiful hotel in a beautiful country, the beach bar is a magical place to eat supper so don't miss out on that experience, we went on a B&B package and only had supper outside the hotel on 3 nights (out of 10) the Cliff Restaurant must surely be one of the best locations on the Island if not the entire Caribbean, our only comment would be that the food is very good but the dinner menu could benefit from a little more variety and slightly more generous portions, this IS the Caribbean at its best don't bother to read any further just go ahead and book - if you cannot enjoy Cap Maison you cannot enjoy anywhere!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us

It was lovely to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and I am glad that you enjoyed the Bar B Que tasting menu at The Naked Fisherman on the Thursday - it’s one of my favorites also!

Thank you for your endorsement - it really does mean a lot to us

With kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a very special place. It is tucked away on a cliff on the north side of the island on a quaint flower-lined road. We were greeted with champagne and friendly service. Thanks to Expedia we were upgraded from a garden view room to a sea view with a very large balcony and a breathtaking view. The view from the restaurant was even more spectacular and the casual and attentive service from Wendy kept us happy and laughing through our meals. The beach is absolutely charming and don't miss sunset at the pool! Rodney bay is a short cab away with lots of bars and restaurants as although the views are fantastic we felt overall that the restaurant was a little pricey!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a bay view - more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us and it was great to read that you had a great time and that Wendy looked after you so well

We always try to keep ourselves competitive with our restaurant pricing and we conduct regular reviews benchmarking other independent restaurants in the Rodney Bay area and our Simply du Jour daily changing menu is US$45 for two courses US$60 for three courses plus our a la carte menu is available where courses are individually priced

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We spent our first 5 nights in St Lucia at Cap Maison in a garden view room costing around £1,200 B&B. The hotel and grounds are in a fantastic location from a landscape and view perspective. The buildings and grounds have a spanish / moroccan feel to them with beautiful plants and flowers throughout and everywhere seemed immaculately maintained. The whole place had an air of calm about it and the location of the rooms allowed some privacy and there were plenty of quiet corners to relax either around the 2 pools or in the gardens overlooking the sea. Our room was perfect, it was large had everything we needed, was completely quiet and had the most comfortable bed in the world. Exactly what we were hoping for. The staff were friendly and helpful and front-desk always on hand to advise on local restaurants / transport etc. The beach was smaller than most but the right size for the hotel and was never busy. It is largely shaded but still possible to find some sun if you're happy to move around. We swam every morning and the water could be a little choppy getting in and out but fine once in. It was quite good fun watching unsuspecting swimmers being knocked to the ground when a wave came. Now to the food….. we ate in the cliff restaurant only once on arrival as it was an easy option before we got our bearings. The choice was a little limited but the quality of the food was good, it was served slightly lukewarm but that would be our only complaint. However, we did think it was overpriced as was the wine - our bill came to around £120. There are much better and more reasonable options elsewhere (even if you do build in the $30 US return taxi fare - try Blue Olive, Big Chef Steakhouse, Tapas on the Bay, The Terrace or Golden Taste for some local cuisine in Gros Islet). To be fair the front-desk at Cap did recommend some of these. The breakfasts were great, lost of choice and a daily special. Dinner at the Naked Fisherman was only available Thurs - Sun but we ate there twice and it was lovely - and much better value for money. Note: if the weather is bad it may not be open as the majority of tables are outside overlooking the beach. Overall we'd recommend Cap Maison but be prepared for the pricey food or travel costs to get into Rodney Bay. You also need to be reasonable about the position of your room and the view as only the top priced villas seemed to be right on the cliff front. We loved our room but accepted it wasn't going to be sea view.

Room Tip: Just be reasonable about what type of room your paying for. There are plenty of quiet corners aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.