We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Maison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cap Maison to your Saves list
Cap Maison
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cap Maison when we got married and our trip was unforgettable. I could not have asked for a more perfect location or stay.

Cap Maison is at the north of the island whereas the airport is at the south, so it is a bit of a drive (approx. 1.5 to 2 hours) to reach the property. However even this was made enjoyable by the staff of Cap Maison, who arranged for our transport from the airport and then back to the airport when we departed. Our driver was wonderful - he taught us so much about the history and culture on the island. We stopped several times along the route to experience some of the beautiful sites that St. Lucia has to offer.

As for the actual resort, Cap Maison is stunning. The buildings, rooms, grounds, gardens, fountains and pools were all beautiful and impeccably maintained. Our room was an incredible suite with a rooftop pool that offered stunning views of St. Lucia and the Caribbean. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Kristal helped to arrange all of the wedding details. She was very attentive and responsive, and was a pleasure to work with. Everything went perfectly - I never once had to worry about any of the formalities.

One tip - there are sand fleas that will bite your legs. Cap Maison puts bug repellant in each room - use it!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    73
    36
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
349
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I went to St. Lucia on November 3rd through the 12th, 2013 for our Weddingmoon. This was our first time in St. Lucia, which we selected after many months of research into Caribbean islands and resorts. We are sharing our experience in detail as much of what we wanted to know in advance was not available from previous reviews or Internet research. First off, Cap Maison is a wonderful place to have a vacation; it is exclusive, beautiful, relatively small and well maintained. The flight from Miami to Hewanorra International Airport located in Vieux Fort is approximately 3 hours. The airport is very small and with several flights landing at the same time it can become (very) crowed. TIP: There are several lines with no wait for disabled people, which we used as my wife is disabled. This can save you 30 to 45 mins. It is very important to fill out both the front and back of the immigration form as the directions are not very clear and we as well as many others had to return to the end of the line to complete the form. If you have a lot of luggage there are two types of porters that are available for tips. The yellow vest porters can only take your luggage to the customs line, where the red hat porters will take your luggage to the curb where transportation is available. They will take either US or Eastern Caribbean (EC) money for tips. The conversion rate from EC to US money is approximately $2.65 (EC) to $1 (US). We would strongly suggest that you hire a private car to take you the 90 minutes from the airport to Cap Maison. The drivers are very knowledgeable about the country and the trip is a very nice tour of the island. They will even stop along the way for you to take pictures. 10% is the customary tip on the island, but virtually every price quoted for meals, cars, etc. already included the service fee (tip). We were amazed at their (taxi/limo drivers) wealth of knowledge about the island's history. You can elect to take a helicopter, but if you have a lot of luggage you will still need to have your luggage come by car. Barefoot Holidays is a great company to make local transportation arrangements. Tourism is the cash business of the island and everybody gets it and subsequently, you will rarely if ever run into anyone who is less than kind, warm and friendly. We also spoke to the St. Lucia Embassy and St. Lucia tourist bureau before we left to verify all the comments we read on TripAdvisor. TIP: Download a copy of the free 46-page St. Lucia Visitors Guide. Everyone in St. Lucia speaks English and/or French Creole. You won't have a problem speaking with anyone on the island. The weather in November always has a risk of rain, but it is brief and light. Rodney Bay is pretty much a tourist trap and its advertisements don't live up to what you actually see. We ate Spinnakers on the beach, which is highly recommended in TripAdvisor as well as from our experience. When shopping, have your Passport or Driver's license with you so you can pay the duty free prices. For shopping it is best to go to Castries and visit the Castries Market; however, check the time and days the market is open, if you go late in the day you will miss everything. As my wife is disabled, we were concerned about bringing her prescriptions into the country. I checked with both the St. Lucia Embassy and Tourist Bureau and both said there would be no issues and there was not any. TIP: Be very careful about using your cell phone as roaming and data charges can be $2.99 a minute (Sprint). Surprisingly I found Wi-Fi just about everywhere on the island and although slow, it was quite adequate and free.

Now more on Cap Maison. We stayed in villa 32 which had a Jacuzzi. The room was huge with three floors. Only the bedroom is air-conditioned, but that is not a problem as you will enjoy the open air space of a villa. After looking at the rooms with the private pools, we will select one with a pool next time. The all-inclusive Cap It All plan that Cap Maison offers is a bit of a misnomer. It is far from all inclusive and should be promoted more accurately as it is limited to meals and a beverage credit. We easily added another $1,000+ (US) just in beverage and meal overages. We say this more to manage your expectations than to be a negative comment. The beach is truly a cove and not very big. We found this nice however, as we did not have to fend off people selling trinkets to us as we relaxed as is often reported on the larger beaches like Sandals. To reach the beach is 90+ stairs so for elderly and disabled people this can be a challenge. They recently installed a bench so you can rest on your way back up. However, once you are down there you will want to stay. The Naked Fisherman bar and restaurant has everything you would want, there are plenty of toys to play with and the staff (especially Charlene) is very nice and attentive. While we were there a segment of the TV show "The Bachelor" was being filmed so Cap Maison is definitely on the map. We had our wedding ceremony at the resort and we cannot say enough about Day and Kristal - they were amazing and made my wife calm during the entire time. We also took full advantage of the Spa and had several massages - top notch! The food at Cap Maison is definitely something you will remember. We actually got to meet and speak with Chef Craig while there. My wife wanted lobster for our wedding dinner and he went into the city to ensure she had exactly what she wanted. The villa had lots of US plugs, cable TV with lots of channels including AMC so we did not have to miss Walking Dead. The bathrooms are roomy and Cap Maison provides lots of amenities. TIP: Leave your shampoos, hairdryer, etc. at home they provide top of the line products for everything. The only fairly bizarre part of our stay was that when we were walking to our wedding dinner at Rock Maison the 62 stairs down ended abruptly in the ocean where we had to walk in the dark over slippery rocks and the tide washing up on us. You will need to take your shoes and socks off and roll up your pants. There should have been a flashlight and guide rope provided. We also went on the Cap Maison 1 for the sunset cruise which was very nice. We would also recommend chartering a boat through the resort for a private cruise. They have a great little workout room, nice gardens to walk though and a great restaurant and bar. We were concerned about mosquitoes that others have posted, but we found Cap Mason had an aggressive mosquito control program and provided repellent and after bite in the room. We never had much of an issue while we were there.

If you want great service, great food, fantastic views, a warm friendly staff and privacy definitely stay at Cap Maison.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I had read a lot of reviews before going to Cap Maison and hope a lot of readers view my review because I have only great things to say! First of all it's beautiful!!! The grounds, rooms, and everything else are well maintained. All the staff was so friendly and so nice to us, and they all knew our little girl (1-1/2 years) by name and were so sweet with her! I couldn't believe how nice the staff was! Our room was amazing! We had an oceanview villa with rooftop terrace and pool which was so nice to have all the room since we were there for 10 days! The housekeeping does an excellent job cleaning everyday and the maintenance staff is right on the ball! Note: the loud chirping noise at night are not birds lol but frogs!!! You get use to them after the first night there thank goodness. Downtown is only about 10 minutes away which is convenient. The food is good, the drinks are good, the pools are great! The private little beach is nice and secluded. If you like long walks on the beach you might need a different beach but we loved the one here. For those of you having a wedding in St. Lucia, this resort is a great place for it. We had our wedding here and it was stress free for us and gorgeous. The photographer took great photos (Roger), the bouquet was beautiful, even the cake was yummy! We had a private reception dinner on our rooftop with a private chef and waiter which were both excellent! The food was the best thanks to the chef (I believe his name was Scott) but he was great and our waiter McKenny became our good friend we plan to stay in touch with. I was really impressed and happy with Cap Maison! Great scenery, great food, great service and great people!
Thanks to them for making our experience a 10!!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are great but personally I love being able to see the ocean from my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review following your stay and wedding with us at Cap Maison and yes we all adored your little daughter!! :)

It was great reading that you all had such a great time and we all wish you a long and happy life spent together

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were greeted on arrival with a cold towel and a glass of champagne and the service continued in like this. Staff were always helpful and friendly, we did the morning hike with Julian and he was very a very good guide and on the beach Dunstan and Purnell were really helpful with the sunbeds and water sports. We always had breakfast in the restaurant which was good although on a couple of occasions the service was slow and had a couple of good meals there in the evening. Views are fabulous and the grounds a delight to walk in

Room Tip: Not a tip about a better room but mosquitoes can be a problem, we bought a couple of citronella cand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted that you had such a great time

Julian, Dunstan and Parnell were delighted that they were mentioned within your review

It’s great to see that you would return and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Cap Maison and the beautiful island that is St Lucia

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is the most idyllic setting one could dream of. The villas and rooms are tucked in amongst beautifully kept gardens and there is a secret door down to a secluded beach. The food was amazing, and the staff took every care to explain everything we were eating. Nothing was too much trouble. But best of all they were fun. Real people who cared about our individual and collective enjoyment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for writing your review and we were delighted to host Evie and Dan's wedding at Cap Maison - a wedding to remember!!

As you observed our staff had a great time looking after you all and I am very happy that everyone had such a great time in St Lucia

With Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very very good food, very good service made out stay in St. Lucia incredible. Cant wait to go back! They make you feel very welcome. The owner was there to greet us when we came. The BBQ party at the beach was really amazing. We were 10 (5 couples) that stayed there and had different types of room. All of them were fantastic especially the ones with the pool on the roof. Amazing place we really want to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us in February and great to read that our Swedish cousins had a fabulous time at Cap Maison and St Lucia and that you would love to come back - we could not wish for anything more

With kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

So here we are again at Cap Maison. What a place, what a food, what a service!!! Where do I start...
We went there last year and have decided to go back for another couple of week this October. This boutique hotel has become our favourite holiday destination for a number of reasons; fantastic to relax, the best food on the island and private beach. My aim on holidays is to forget about the reality. I have extremely busy life in London therefore I don't fancy staying in a massive all inclusive music playing places. I like my sleep and most importantly good food. After eating in quite few restaurants over the last 2 trips I can comfortably say that The Cliff has the best chef on the island. The main pool area is nice and quiet as most of the rooms have their own private pools. The pool service offers lovely food, drinks and service that goes extra mile for your own comfort. A basket with complimentary chilled water and chilled face towels, this is what Cap is all about - your comfort and extra mile service. There is a new beach restaurant, finally. Lovely place for lunch.
Easy access to complimentary water, towels, business centre with private pools boat and other adventure bookings makes this place a perfect destination for us year after year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossCS, General Manager at Cap Maison, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you both for returning to stay with us again and for writing your review following your second stay with us at Cap Maison

I am glad you enjoyed our new beach facility - The Naked Fisherman Bar & Grill which has really taken off and guests are really enjoying the chilled vibe on the beach

We do hope that we can welcome you back again in the future - there has to be an antidote for the hectic city life of London!

Kind regards

Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cap Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Maison

Address: Smugglers Cove Dr, Cap Estate, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Cap Estate
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cap Estate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cap Maison 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap Maison is a new family owned and managed five star boutique resort. Located above a beautiful secluded sandy cove on the north west coast of St Lucia, Cap Maison offers luxury private villa suites, many with private rooftop pools. Facilities include a waterfront fine dining restaurant, spa, fully equipped fitness centre, walk in wine cellar, beach club with chaise lounge service, free non motorised water sports, a hiking and running club, private 46 foot resort boat, club lounge with (computer access) and concessionary golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Regatta Hotels, Amex, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cap Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Maison Hotel Cap Estate
Cap Maison Gros Islet
Cap Maison Hotel Gros Islet
Cap Maison St. Lucia/Cap Estate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.