We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - Restaurant very cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Inn Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The George Inn Pub
Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
+44 1934 712124
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 11 restaurants in Wedmore
Price range: $14 - $38
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good food - Restaurant very cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went here for a belated valentines day meal.

The food was excellent - and very reasonable value (The wine list is a bit pricey)

The only fault I would find was that the restaurant was freezing ... My wife kept her coat on for the starter and main course !

Staff very friendly - and did their best with the log fire to get it warmer !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    19
    28
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful but freezing cold!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband took me to the George as a special celebratory treat, a couple of weeks ago. I must say the food was absolutely perfect although my husband's main course seemed very small, we weren't sure if the steak meal was missing a few vegetables! But despite this, the starters and desserts were simply delicious... it's a lovely place too, really quirky with bags of atmosphere! The open fireplaces are wonderful too, and they had obviously been roaring away before we arrived at 8 o clock. Unfortunately, where we were sitting, the fire had completely died down..no one came along to check...and I spent the whole evening freezing cold..consequently I couldn't wait to finish my meal and leave....to go out into an already freezing cold night! Not sure if we'll go again yet...maybe in the summer. It all felt a bit austere and uncomfortable, not cosy or relaxing...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, cosy pub, good tunes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very nice food, good ales, good wine selection, friendly staff and some unusual twists on the menu making it more much interesting than standard pub fare. A nice cozy atmosphere with open fires and candles too. 2nd visit for us and will always drop by when in the area. Staff were accommodating when we hadn't booked and needed an early table as we had our daughter with us.

If I were going to be really picky, the steak was ordered medium rare but came out well done. We didn't complain as this seems to be so common in Britain whose chefs seem to be petrified of serving anything pink and it was still delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Does what it says on the label-good local pub / restaurant and B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for two nights, room spacious clean and comfortable and good breakfast. friendly team. Have visited recently for dinner (Jan 2013) good food and prompt service, this is much improved on past experiences with meals

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedmore, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another great meal at The George Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Always a great meal at The George. There is obviously so much care taken with the food and you know it is always local and fresh.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Inn Pub also viewed

 
Wedmore, Somerset
Wedmore, Somerset
 

Been to The George Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Inn Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.