We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Merry Monk

The Merry Monk
30 West Street, Isleham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Isleham
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tucked away in the Cambridgeshire fens, The Merry Monk started life as three cottages in the 17th Century and from there became The Red Lion Public House until 1992 when it was renamed The Merry Monk. Roaring log fires for cosiness during the winter months and a garden rounding off a gorgeous country restaurant offer perfection for enjoyment throughout the year.Our focus at the Merry Monk is a casual and inviting atmosphere.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a decent Sunday lunch on September 29th. We had aheard a bit about the Merry Monk and were keen to try it.
The Bad:
They were very keen to push the "nibbles". A card on the table with them on as well as being in the main menu. We were also asked three times whether we wanted any. We declined.
No bread, which was a little disappointing.
The service charge had been added to the bill already. I'd prefer to make my own choice on the service charge thankyou very much.
It is pricey. £66 for two of us for Sunday lunch. We didn't especially begrudge this, but you make your own mind up on it.
The Good:
The resturant is laid out very well and the cutlery, crockery and linen is all of high quality.
The drinks were good and not too pricey.
The food was superb. Starters of mussels and the haddock rarebit were absolutely lovely. We had a pork and beef as the mains and these too were excellent. Good portion sizes with plenty of (perfectly cooked) vegetables. The pork was a little fatty, but with it being pork wasn't a problem. The small stuffing balls tasted wonderful and the gravy was extremely flavoursome.
We could only managed two courses and didnt eat for the rest of the day.

All in all, it was a very good meal. We would return maybe for dinner at another time. As others have said, it's expensive but probably worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    46
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Second visit to merry monk after being wowed the first time.

Whilst food and service were as good as before, rating - and overall impression of the evening were let down by lack of atmosphere and feeling of being ripped off by the price of bottle of still water.

We were in a side room with only one other couple - and it felt rather soul-less and empty.

Only when getting the bill did we realise that we'd been charged £4+ for a bottle of water! This is excessive and we weren't warned of the price or offered tap water.

We would return - but would be more careful next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Another 5* meal at The Merry Monk. Really like the new look too. Thank you very much, we'll be back soon!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from a Sunday lunch at the merry monk! Overall it was really nice, beef was really good, Yorkshire pudding was over done but not a big deal. My dad had the fish and wasn't overkeen as sauce was very over powering.

Our waiter (owners dad) was very friendly and recommended a lovely wine. The service we received was very good from him .

I thought the food was very good and would defiantly go again soon!

My only slight criticism was the other waitresses - they seemed to lack experience and coordination. We kept getting asked the same questions and they seemed un confident and a little confused!

If you are in doubt about going, don't be give it a go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice weekday meal, bit pricey but the starters were delicious! Opt for something more adventurous than the steak.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merry Monk also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Merry Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merry Monk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.