We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Merry Monk

The Merry Monk
30 West Street, Isleham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Isleham
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tucked away in the Cambridgeshire fens, The Merry Monk started life as three cottages in the 17th Century and from there became The Red Lion Public House until 1992 when it was renamed The Merry Monk. Roaring log fires for cosiness during the winter months and a garden rounding off a gorgeous country restaurant offer perfection for enjoyment throughout the year.Our focus at the Merry Monk is a casual and inviting atmosphere.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from a Sunday lunch at the merry monk! Overall it was really nice, beef was really good, Yorkshire pudding was over done but not a big deal. My dad had the fish and wasn't overkeen as sauce was very over powering.

Our waiter (owners dad) was very friendly and recommended a lovely wine. The service we received was very good from him .

I thought the food was very good and would defiantly go again soon!

My only slight criticism was the other waitresses - they seemed to lack experience and coordination. We kept getting asked the same questions and they seemed un confident and a little confused!

If you are in doubt about going, don't be give it a go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    46
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice weekday meal, bit pricey but the starters were delicious! Opt for something more adventurous than the steak.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ten out of ten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just arrived home from a very pleasant evening in the Merry Monk. A meal to remember. We couldn't fault it. Service, presentation, drinks, cleanliness and most important a chef that can cook!
If you need to chill have interesting conversation and like decent food, that is properly seasoned, this is the place to come. Home made bread and olives, then steak with red onion and pepper sauce, my wife had the Pork. Both mains 1st rate. Decent desert. Nothing was too much trouble.
Priced correctly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Provides a class of restaurant lacking in Ely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

For a growing city, Ely suffers from a shortage of decent restaurants therefore I tend to take valued guests to this restaurant in Isleham. It is frequently booked out so it is advisable to book in advance. The food is excellent but overpriced and the menu extensive. Service can be haphazard. The decor is tasteful and it is possible to sit outdoors. I suspect anywhere else this place would be considered above average rather than excellent, however the absence of any real competition means it is the best show in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“quaint and rustic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

we booked up for the "monk" recently and wish we had gone sooner... the food was second to none, the service was fantastic, the staff were knowledgeable, and the cost was worth every penny....

as a group who eat out regularly this was by conclusion the best meal we had ever had in a restaurant.

A must visit establishment...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merry Monk also viewed

 
Newmarket, Suffolk
 

Been to The Merry Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merry Monk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.