We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cin Cin by the Sea

Cin Cin by the Sea
Prospect, Prospect, Barbados
(246) 424-4557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Prospect
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Mississauga
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I dined at Cin Cin with a group of 4 on December 26 2012. We tried to dine here last year but the restaurant was fully booked so this year we booked a couple months early. Although we were unable to get a table outdoors by the beach, we were seated by a large window which offered a great view nonethless. We were greeted quite cordially and my purse was hung on a little hook attached to the table. Its these little things that count! The waiters were extremely attentive and polite. The atmosphere was calm, cool and relaxing and I loved the crisp white decor. We ordered the bruschetta and the pizza to start and our tastebuds were dancing! Such simple dishes were revamped with splashes of flavour which did not overwhelm us. The owner then came by to see how we were doing and I was glad to see he was not pushy and was quite easy going. He suggested a few dishes based on our preferences and we ordered the steaks as well as the braised shortrib. I was expecting the portions to be small as is the case with most fine dining however I was pleasantly surprised to see a big platefull of food. The steaks were cooked to our liking and tasted absolutely delicious. We were all extremely happy with our meal and were stuffed by the end of it. The price was pretty much the usual for a fine dining experience and well worth the money! I will definitely be back :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    496
    186
    76
    32
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cin cin is a sin sin”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Cin cin was a huge disappointment. Starting with the clothing interrogation at the door. Lets just say if your not dressed in your finest be prepared to be given a hard time before you even enter the dining area. The hostess was just plain rude, the staff not friendly and needless to say I could cook a better meal at home. If your looking for a warm welcoming and relaxed atmosphere this is NOT the place to go. Champers, tapas, and Nauru all two thumbs up!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellerogers2010, Owner at Cin Cin by the Sea, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
It is very sad that through being informed of a dress code which many restaurants have all over the world not just here in Barbados that you would resort to reacting in such a way. We do not "enjoy" readdressing our policies "at the door'" but we do have a responsibility to our other guests to do so. When it is necessary this is done discreetly. Funnily enough I myself do not understand what the problem is with a policy of "No Shorts, No Baseball Caps and No Armhole T Shirts". We are not a beach bar by any stretch of the imagination and it is quite acceptable to expect people to dress appropriate to their surroundings. We are very happy that you found some comfortable alternatives to dine at and they are all excellent choices. We especially love Naru and frequent it often. However your remark about the food at Cin Cin being likened to the same standard of what you produce at home, well then we would have to congratulate you on being privileged to dine so well most of the time. We are assuming that you did eat with us although we are somewhat dubious on this comment because if the dress code was an issue then we are a bit confused how you managed to get around this and if you did why you bothered staying if we were so ill mannered from the moment you arrived .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great setting and great food. What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a difference a day makes! Went to lone star last night and it was an expensive mess. Cin cin brought us back to the standard you expect of a great restaurant. Great setting above the beach outside, fantastic service and the food was also exceptionally good. What I would expect from a smart restaurant. The gnocchi and jerk was great, as was the crab. The cheesecake was also terrific. if you want a chic, smart and posh dinner overlooking the sea, with good looking and tasting food - then you can't go far wrong here. As with everywhere you eat in Barbados, you'll wallet will be a little lighter. But it doesn't matter when it's this good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location good food and service. Not as special as the cliff but still excellent but not such a high price tag. Would love to go back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Contrived Cin Cin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was told this was one of the best restaurants on Barbados, well no where near The Cliff or even Daphne's. When booking, which is a must at all good restaurants in Barbados, we were told we had to come early ie 6pm and vacate table by 8pm, what they didn't tell us was we would be sitting in Siberia, by ourselves not even within eye shot of the ocean! When asked if we could have a better table before the second sitting arrived, and we were happy to vacate the table early if need be, bluntly told no. So we left, but were 'chased' into the car park and offered a much better table near the ocean, why the charade?? That put a dampener on the evening, but the food was good, good wine list and aspect, and eventually good service, but an unfortunate way to get there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cin Cin by the Sea also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Hastings, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Cin Cin by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cin Cin by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.