We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amamoor Homestead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amamoor Homestead to your Saves list
Amamoor Homestead
254 Kandanga Amamoor Road, Amamoor, Queensland 4570, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Amamoor B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Peace and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We both work in stressful jobs and we just wanted some place to get away for some well earned peace and quiet, well we found it. The Cottage has a living area, main bedroom, bathroom with spa and verandah overlooking the valley. No-one for what feels like miles... the air is clean and fresh an amazing escape from the hussel and bussel of the big cities. My husband loved feeded the fish it was amazing. We loved it so much that we have booked to come back again, but for longer. Carol and Ken make you feel so welcomed and at home. Amamoor Homestead was absolutely perfect place for a weekend away. Once again Carol and Ken thank you for making out stay perfect. Cheers Mary and Bill Rogan

Room Tip: Get a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amamoorhomestead, Owner at Amamoor Homestead, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you Bill & Mary. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay as much we enjoyed having you! We look forward to your return visit, with a sundowner on the verandah at the Homestead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

Located in the Mary Valley is this little gem. We found it on a daily deal which was lucky as we probably would never have considered it. Bought as a present for my wife and intended as a much needed break it ticked all the boxes. We initially planned to have a romantic meal out and travel back to the cottage for a romantic evening but due to inclement weather rang through to Carol who was able to fit us in for dinner. Thank goodness because this is a real get away with the nearest towns being Amamoor or Kadangar which are limited in entertainment.
We also considered an option of cooking in and were glad we had chosen to be catered for by the owners as cooking facilities are a 2 hob hot plate, microwave and BBQ. We are so glad we didn't do either.
Ken and Carol served up a meal worthy of a good restaurant. They also scored top marks as hosts, attentive, entertaining and wecolming. After a walk up the hill offering beautiful views the night in was just what the doctor ordered. The value as excellent with the deal and would have been still worth it at full price. If you are after a quality self pampering wind down venue, this is it. Leave the cooking for home and enjoy this place as a break from the fast pace and rediscover yourself and your partner. We both even had time for a spa bath. Great 'Get Away'

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amamoorhomestead, Owner at Amamoor Homestead, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your get-away and we were able to make your stay with us memorable. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had a wonderful long weekend away in Amamoor at the Homestead. Such a lovely place, quiet, beautiful scenery & very relaxing. Carol & Ken (the hosts) were very friendly and cook a delicious dinner - which we enjoyed with the veranda to ourselves in the twilight - not an experience you can find in many places! We caught fish in the lake, went for a row, toasted marshmallows & walked up the hill to watch the sunset on our last night. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay & would be back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amamoorhomestead, Owner at Amamoor Homestead, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

We recently had a 4 night stay at Amamoor Homestead B&B. We stayed in one of beautifully appointed cottages and our stay was wonderful in every way - just could not fault any part of it (except the having to leave part!). The hosts, Carol & Ken, are fantastic people who are helpful, friendly and fun. They made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped out of our car until the moment we left. The ambience of the beautiful grounds is just so relaxing and the views of the surrounding mountains are glorious. Even though the cottages are fully self contained, we opted to have a dinner one night at the homestead. The meal was first class in every way - taste, quantity and value for money. Carol & Ken, you should be running a restaurant! We left feeling totally relaxed and rejuvenated and would highly recommend the Homestead to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We had a fantasitc weekend at Amamoor Homestead. Carol and Ken were friendly, helpful and a whole lot of fun. They are also excellent cooks and the food was delicious.

I loved feeding the birds, especially the magpie whose name is three toes, he came and ate the mince right out of my hand.

Will definately be back to this totally peaceful and unique place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Having stayed at many B&B's, Amamoor Homestead offers those little touches that often other accomadation lacks. Carol & Ken are extremely personable and go out of their way to ensure their guests have everything they could want. Apart from the rooms in the main homestead there are 3 cottages that are exceptionally well appointed and have every creature comfort you could ask for. We look forward to our next visit and hope others come and experience the exceptional accomadation and cusine at Amamoor Homestead.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amamoorhomestead, Owner at Amamoor Homestead, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Our thanks for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

WOW- This is the 3rd time we have stayed in one of the 3 cottages at Amamoor Homstead B & B, and it is now officially known as our families "home away from home"! At this property, there are 3 cottages, or you can choose to stay in the homestead. We have always stayed in a cottage as we have young kids. The cottages are decked out with everything you need. Fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with spa bath, big comfy bed, and the owners even keep them stocked up with some of the latest dvd's (which kept the kids entertained this visit with the constant rain we had). Each cottage has a fire place out the front, for warm, relaxing nights, and the view from each cottage is just devine. You also have a bbq on the porch, so an easy bbq for dinner is perfect. Ken and Carol (the owners) look after the kids so much, they supplied us with marshmallows for the fire, and they have a big dam which seems to be packed with fish and the kids have a ball down there fishing (catch and release, and they even supply the fishing gear and bait!). Even with the rain this time around, we found ourselves sitting on the deck of the homestead with Ken and Carol having a quiet cold one, talking about the property and simply enjoying the serenity. The owners are just so accommodating. They are the loveliest people, and no matter what kind of request you have, it is never any bother. They have made us feel like we are family, and this is why we have gone back 3 times, and will continue to do so. Noosa is only a 40 minute drive and have ventured in to the beach and Hastings Street for some shopping last visit. Eumundi markets are also a 30 minute drive for market lovers (me me me). If you want, Ken and Carol will cook you a 1st class meal and you can sit on the deck by candlelight and overlook the valley. While you are there, take a walk to the top of the back hill. The views and the peace will leave you breathless. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. Our plan is that our next visit will be just my husband and myself for some blissful R & R. Waking up each morning with no sound of kids, cars or noise, just nature. Simply stunning guys, try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amamoorhomestead, Owner at Amamoor Homestead, responded to this review, January 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. It is always very rewarding to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amamoor Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amamoor Homestead

Address: 254 Kandanga Amamoor Road, Amamoor, Queensland 4570, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Amamoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Amamoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Amamoor Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amamoor Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.