We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and the place to be in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kudat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp
Save
You added Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp to your Saves list
Marang Parang | Tip of Borneo, Kudat, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and the place to be in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The owner Howard runs a great place, the food is fantastic... Highly recommend this spot... We were staying at tommy's place which was perfectly fine but spent all our time at Howard's restaurant.. They will tell you all about the local Rungus people, even built a museum..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    37
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
66
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A great place to meet other travellers and exchange stories and tips, great food, beautiful place to stay and it allows you to experience some of the local culture without straining the environment. You are well looked after here and there are boats, kayaks, snorkels and a jungle tour if you feel like being active, or good books and a lovely quiet beach if you don't. This place will be a lovely surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We visited TDA in October 2012 and it was one of the highlights of a visit to Sabah. Howard is one of a kind, good fun but also genuinely passionate about his world, environment and visitors' enjoyment. He makes the place. Incredible deserted beaches and an authentic feel are in contrast to more touristy parts. We hope he manages to preserve his piece of paradise as development increases. Cinnamon and pineapple smoothies are a must. Also great fun getting shuttled to and from beach in the back of his 4x4. You can't help relax and adjust to Tip of Borneo time. Thanks Howard, Niall & Laura.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutraubling, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have been at Howard's place in April 2012...sorry Howard, it took some time till we could manage to give the review of our stay, but we have promised and there we are ;-)

We have come to know about Howard's place by coincidence when we were in KK - we did not regret the long trip to Kudat. We have been at Howard's place for 4 days. The jungle camp itself was a very nice experience with its open air shower, ducks and compost toilet. Even though the camp is very puristic, we felt convenient and it was very impressing to see how Howard has built up this place with all his enthusiasm and spirit. Being in a camp which was built according to ecological principles is a nice side effect and feels quite good.

We can recommend the jungle trip with Howard, because it is very impressing to see how much he knows about the local wildlife. Watch out the Mozzies ;-)

The tip top restaurant was the place where we hung out the most time. Food and beverages were delicious and the "Full Monty" is a must (at least for men)!
The staff is very friendly and helpful and the beach is also quite nice and relaxed.

This brings us to our one and only criticism:
The tip top restaurant and beach area is missing something like a lounge, where you can sit conveniently, lie in a hammock, etc.
The place is very nice and invites for staying, but due to the lack of suitable seating, it is a bit tricky to find comfortable place for the whole day. I am sure Howard will also find a solution for this soon.

To sum it up, this place is definitely worth to stay a few days. Howard is the man there and he does really everything to make his guests a comfortable stay.

Simone and Karl

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Tampat Do Aman is a nice balance between local Rungus style longhouse accommodation and an environmentally friendly jungle camp. The owner, Howard, is one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet. He's super helpful and does a massive amount for the local community. Food at the Tip Top cafe is cheap and tasty and it's a great place to hang out between surfing, swimming or kayaking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After a 5 hour motorbike ride from KK we arrived in Kudat, Sabah. First we checked in at a crappy hotel in town. Once arrived in our room with wifi we found out that this Jungle Camp existed. We found the phone number of Howard and called him. We decided to check out in our current hotel and spent the night in Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp. What a lovely place. Howard and his crew are very friendly, helpfull people that do absolutely everything to make your stay there a once in a lifetime experience. Initially we were planning to stay only 1 night, but we liked it so much that we booked another night. This is an absolutely must-go when go to near to Tip of Borneo. You definitely won't regret it!

Thanks Howard and crew!!!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the Longhouse, those have a little more space than in the 'tents'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had four nights un-planned at the end of my Borneo trip and this place was just perfect for my End-of-Nowhere chill-out time. Howard is a scholar and a Gent and will take care of you and make sure you get the best out of your trip - knowledgeable, worldly and generous to a fault! Staying in the long-house was a treat too - falling asleep to the sound of the jungle and then waking up to roosters - it was just what i needed to get back to nature. Make sure you stop off here if you are seeing North Sabah!

Room Tip: Just see what Howard has available at the time - there's a long-house with 2 man dunk-bed rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp

Address: Marang Parang | Tip of Borneo, Kudat, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kudat
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kudat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome friends. At the Tip of Borneo lies an Eco resort and jungle camp called Tampat Do Aman. In the local Rungus language this means "a place of friends".We are located by the only road that leads to this phenomenally beautiful coastline that stretches from the Tip of Borneo 10km to the south, incorporating eight of the best beaches Sabah has to offer. The area really is a jewel in the crown of Sabah. In Tampat Do Aman Tip of Borneo you will find : A Jungle camp (Traditional Rungus long House), A beach front restaurant and Bar (“Tip Top”) and an activities center. If you are a nature lover like us then there is lots to do here in Tip of Borneo. Our activities center offers bicycles and snorkeling gear for rent. There are different trekking and night tours happening and you can even take a course in Jungle Survival. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp Kudat, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampat Do Aman Jungle Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.