We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Orselina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Orselina to your Saves list
Villa Orselina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santuario 10 | Orselina-Locarno, Orselina 6644, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orselina
Zurich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great hotel, very well appointed rooms and the staff are just great! Amazing view over Locarno and easy to get into town and back up to the hotel with the funicolare. We were also very happy to find a chilled bottle of prosecco and some crisps upon arrival which were free of charge. Also nice to see the hotel director around a couple of times during the time we spent there. There is of course a price tag for this kind of hotel but definitely worth to splurge on this one. We will hopefully be back!
One small tip to their gardener: Pretty much all of the plants in front of our balcony were withered or near death. Not the nicest thing to look at. Especially as the rest of the garden is very well maintained.

Room Tip: I don't think they have any "bad" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
69
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place gets rave reviews - justifiably: the location (grandiose); the hospitality (friendly and welcoming); the rooms (extremely well and expensively equipped - our junior suite even had a kitchen remarkably fitted out with a full-sized dish washer and oven); recreational facilities (comprehensive) and the food (a light, creative kitchen). So why only practically perfect? Two things from our perspective.
Our two dogs were made to feel at home and were even welcomed with a present of doggie treats that went some way in offsetting the overnight price of S.Fr 25 per dog. However, this is not really a hotel suitable for dogs. They're not allowed (understandably) in the gardens and the almost tree-and-grass-less area in the immediate vicinity of the hotel is neither dog-business friendly nor inducive.
Our second minor criticism is the layout of the hotel - in particular the separation of indoor and outside pools. If staying in the west wing of the hotel, a journey to the indoor pool also involves passing through the main hotel reception area. Also, the indoor pool is relatively small and somewhat claustrophobic.
Apart from that, a memorable overnight experience - and a long walk after our stay with the dogs.
Viator ed cani Coloniae

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Towards the end of May my husband and I were so fortunate to have been able to stay 4 nights at this amazing property. I never wanted to leave and I can't wait to go back. Everything from the reception, to the restaurant, the bar and the room could not have been more perfect. We had a small suite which was spectacular! The "starry night" ceiling in the bathroom was phenomenal! The breakfast on the terrace was breathtaking. We loved it so much that we even met with the real estate firm that sells the apartments that are attached to the hotel. Unfortunately, they are currently a bit out of price range but it is something to aim for.

The location near the top of the funicular could also not have been better. Walk down and you are in the centre of Locarno and take the funicular back up on a hot summer day.

Room Tip: I think that all of the rooms are great but if you can get a panorama suite it is definitely worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, General Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Buongiorno Clover
Thank you so much for your review. It is true that the position of the Villa Orselina is simply unique but we are happy to read that you enjoyed all the facilities and appreciated the attention of the staff.
We hope to see you soon again here in Orselina and at the Villa Orselina.

Cari saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, setting, views, staff, cleanliness, breakfast, dinner, spa, suites are absolutely first class.

Stayed in the Orselina suite, couldn't fault it at all. Amenities in the room small kitchen, breakfast bar, great balcony for breakfast. nicely styles lounge tv area.

Lovley relaxing ambiance to the room.

Hotel is well situated about 3 mins walk to the vanicular down to Locarno town centre which is nice , but we got a taxi to Ascona and it was great, lakeside restaurants, lovely quaint town with some really nice shops.

Cant wait to find an excuse to go back.

So if your looking to go to that area definately 5 star all around would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Orselina suite or any of the suites are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, General Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Buongiorno Linda
Grazie mille for the time you have taken to leave us this wonderful review. I shared it with all the team and it would be a real pleasure to welcome you again at the Villa Orselina.

Cari saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Of course, it's a five star property, so it would be fair to say, "it should be impeccable," but that, sadly, is not always the case. A lot of things can compromise a stay in even the most posh hotel but usually it's the people that make or break the experience. At Villa Orselina, the people made our experience...

Starting with our check-in. The reception manager informed us that they had upgraded us to a suite, adding, "a little gift for Christmas," as we were here for the holidays. A tour of the property ended at our suite, where we found a lovely bottle of pro secco and fruit awaiting us. The suite (room 232) was equipped with a full kitchen and dining area, a separate living room, full fantastic bath with jacuzzi and rain shower and the most comfortable bedding - including four different choices of pillows. The wall facing the lake was floor to ceiling sliding glass doors of very high quality - not a sound could be heard when they were closed. But what impressed us most perhaps was the absolutely impeccable cleanliness of every aspect of our room and, in fact, all common areas of the hotel.

The weather was not as accommodating, but we never missed the sun. Instead, we nestled into the hotel for some self-styled wellness. We used the gym together every morning and enjoyed the saunas each afternoon. There is an indoor and outdoor pool - both heated - that we also indulged in. The breakfast buffet is utterly fresh and beautifully arranged, with warm but unobtrusive staff. And our one dinner in the restaurant was both delicious and romantic.

Last year, we had stayed right on the lakeside in Ascona, with all the shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. While we had to drive to Ascona from Vila Orselina, we didn't mind and the funicular to Locarno is just a 2-minute walk.

We emerged from our stay fully rested and relaxed...and vowing to make Villa Orselina our Ticino mainstay..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. You're overlooking the lake; might as well enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and had the chance to enjoy few of the facilities. The staff is very very nice (all staff ). The place is beautiful. We loved the simple deco. Very relaxing atmosphere and outstanding view from every rooms and restaurants. The breakfast is fantastic (all fresh ingredients (from fruits, juices, bread, cheese...). Il Restaurant is also an unforgettable experience. Even in room dining on the second night was delicious and perfectly served. The spa facility is nice, clean and well equiped ( no jacuzzi :-(....??). The treatments, facial for me and massage for my partner were very good. We definitely want to return to this place located in the beautiful area (nice walks around). This was one of our best gataway in a five stars hotel. We felt like home!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, General Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Babette
Grazie mille !
Thank you so much for your very kind words. I have shared your comments with all my staff as they deserve all your compliments.
It is a pleasure to read that you felt like home, this is what we always try to achive for all our clients.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Cordiali saluti
Christoph Schlosser and the team Villa Orselina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights with our 3 months old baby. The staff were really welcoming and incredibly obliging, especially at the restaurant. The room was great, the view fantastic and there was nothing to complain about. We'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, General Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Buongiorno dear family

Thank you so much for your kind and positive feedback. It was a real pleasure to have you here with us and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We really look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Cordiali saluti
Christoph Schlosser and all the team at Villa Orselina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Orselina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Orselina

Address: Via Santuario 10 | Orselina-Locarno, Orselina 6644, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Orselina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orselina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Orselina 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Escapio and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Orselina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Orselina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.