We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think twice.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Orselina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Orselina to your Saves list
Villa Orselina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santuario 10 | Orselina-Locarno, Orselina 6644, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orselina
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't think twice.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is beautiful, setting, views, staff, cleanliness, breakfast, dinner, spa, suites are absolutely first class.

Stayed in the Orselina suite, couldn't fault it at all. Amenities in the room small kitchen, breakfast bar, great balcony for breakfast. nicely styles lounge tv area.

Lovley relaxing ambiance to the room.

Hotel is well situated about 3 mins walk to the vanicular down to Locarno town centre which is nice , but we got a taxi to Ascona and it was great, lakeside restaurants, lovely quaint town with some really nice shops.

Cant wait to find an excuse to go back.

So if your looking to go to that area definately 5 star all around would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Orselina suite or any of the suites are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, General Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Buongiorno Linda
Grazie mille for the time you have taken to leave us this wonderful review. I shared it with all the team and it would be a real pleasure to welcome you again at the Villa Orselina.

Cari saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
70
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Of course, it's a five star property, so it would be fair to say, "it should be impeccable," but that, sadly, is not always the case. A lot of things can compromise a stay in even the most posh hotel but usually it's the people that make or break the experience. At Villa Orselina, the people made our experience...

Starting with our check-in. The reception manager informed us that they had upgraded us to a suite, adding, "a little gift for Christmas," as we were here for the holidays. A tour of the property ended at our suite, where we found a lovely bottle of pro secco and fruit awaiting us. The suite (room 232) was equipped with a full kitchen and dining area, a separate living room, full fantastic bath with jacuzzi and rain shower and the most comfortable bedding - including four different choices of pillows. The wall facing the lake was floor to ceiling sliding glass doors of very high quality - not a sound could be heard when they were closed. But what impressed us most perhaps was the absolutely impeccable cleanliness of every aspect of our room and, in fact, all common areas of the hotel.

The weather was not as accommodating, but we never missed the sun. Instead, we nestled into the hotel for some self-styled wellness. We used the gym together every morning and enjoyed the saunas each afternoon. There is an indoor and outdoor pool - both heated - that we also indulged in. The breakfast buffet is utterly fresh and beautifully arranged, with warm but unobtrusive staff. And our one dinner in the restaurant was both delicious and romantic.

Last year, we had stayed right on the lakeside in Ascona, with all the shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. While we had to drive to Ascona from Vila Orselina, we didn't mind and the funicular to Locarno is just a 2-minute walk.

We emerged from our stay fully rested and relaxed...and vowing to make Villa Orselina our Ticino mainstay..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. You're overlooking the lake; might as well enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and had the chance to enjoy few of the facilities. The staff is very very nice (all staff ). The place is beautiful. We loved the simple deco. Very relaxing atmosphere and outstanding view from every rooms and restaurants. The breakfast is fantastic (all fresh ingredients (from fruits, juices, bread, cheese...). Il Restaurant is also an unforgettable experience. Even in room dining on the second night was delicious and perfectly served. The spa facility is nice, clean and well equiped ( no jacuzzi :-(....??). The treatments, facial for me and massage for my partner were very good. We definitely want to return to this place located in the beautiful area (nice walks around). This was one of our best gataway in a five stars hotel. We felt like home!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, General Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Babette
Grazie mille !
Thank you so much for your very kind words. I have shared your comments with all my staff as they deserve all your compliments.
It is a pleasure to read that you felt like home, this is what we always try to achive for all our clients.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Cordiali saluti
Christoph Schlosser and the team Villa Orselina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights with our 3 months old baby. The staff were really welcoming and incredibly obliging, especially at the restaurant. The room was great, the view fantastic and there was nothing to complain about. We'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, General Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Buongiorno dear family

Thank you so much for your kind and positive feedback. It was a real pleasure to have you here with us and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We really look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Cordiali saluti
Christoph Schlosser and all the team at Villa Orselina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Villa Orselina. The room was nice and bright although as it was the least expensive room it was quite small and had no balcony. It was a nice to find a bottle of cold prosecco and snacks in the room.
The bar and pool both have beautiful views. It is fun to take the funicular down into Locarno and up to Cardada. We enjoyed the restaurant, although it was quite expensive. The breakfast buffet was very nice and it was great to eat and enjoy the gorgeous views.
The only thing which seemed inconsistent with the high quality of the hotel was the housekeeping. The sheets were not changed during the three night of our stay. But other than that the room was very well kept.
Check out the restaurant Al Grottino which is basically across the street for a really nice meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback.

We are already looking forward welcoming you again in the Ticino and Villa Orselina.

Kind regards e cari saluti,

Christoph Schlosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A wonderful stay at an almost perfect "small" hotel at the heights of Locarno (CH) with a fantastic view on the Lago Maggiore and the Alps, excellent restaurant with breathtaking views, well managed into every detail, customer-oriented with the personal touch. Only critics to the small bathroom (no separate WC, only shower ) and the deficient roomkeeping. A place to recommend !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Buon Giorno

A big thank you, that you rewarded Villa Orselina with your evaluations.
Your praise and compliments delighted our team and motivate us to keep delivering a top service every single day.

Hopefully see you very soon again in Villa Orselina

With our warmest regards
Christoph Schlosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Indeed, this hotel may be a bit on the expensive side but then, you get a lot in return.

The premises are very beautiful and well kept, great views over the lake, nice pool area, excellent food,.... Service is of a high standard, especially in the restaurant and bar.

The only negative is that not all rooms seems to have balconies. We were first given a room next to reception (great view, but no balcony) and asked to change (I am a light sleeper...). Our next room which was a bit further on the corridor was truly gorgeous: spacious, separate sitting area, wonderful views, ... Exactly what we wanted. So, I would say, make sure you ask for a room with a balcony (as far as I can remember there is no price difference, but we felt there was a big difference in experience).

I would certainly recommend this hotel and would not doubt to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony. Also, some of the rooms are very close/next to the recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Google Translation
Guten Tag
Ein grosses Dankeschön, dass Sie die Villa Orselina bewertet haben.
Ihr Lob und Ihre Komplimente haben unser ganzes Team sehr erfreut und motivieren zu weiteren Höchstleistungen.
Bis bald wieder in Orselina.
Cari saluti,
Christoph Schlosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Orselina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Orselina

Address: Via Santuario 10 | Orselina-Locarno, Orselina 6644, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Orselina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orselina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Orselina 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, Escapio, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Orselina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Orselina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.