We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Orselina

Save Saved
You added Villa Orselina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Orselina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santuario 10 | Orselina-Locarno, Orselina, Locarno 6644, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orselina
Knokke, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A wonderful stay at an almost perfect "small" hotel at the heights of Locarno (CH) with a fantastic view on the Lago Maggiore and the Alps, excellent restaurant with breathtaking views, well managed into every detail, customer-oriented with the personal touch. Only critics to the small bathroom (no separate WC, only shower ) and the deficient roomkeeping. A place to recommend !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Buon Giorno

A big thank you, that you rewarded Villa Orselina with your evaluations.
Your praise and compliments delighted our team and motivate us to keep delivering a top service every single day.

Hopefully see you very soon again in Villa Orselina

With our warmest regards
Christoph Schlosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
51
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Indeed, this hotel may be a bit on the expensive side but then, you get a lot in return.

The premises are very beautiful and well kept, great views over the lake, nice pool area, excellent food,.... Service is of a high standard, especially in the restaurant and bar.

The only negative is that not all rooms seems to have balconies. We were first given a room next to reception (great view, but no balcony) and asked to change (I am a light sleeper...). Our next room which was a bit further on the corridor was truly gorgeous: spacious, separate sitting area, wonderful views, ... Exactly what we wanted. So, I would say, make sure you ask for a room with a balcony (as far as I can remember there is no price difference, but we felt there was a big difference in experience).

I would certainly recommend this hotel and would not doubt to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony. Also, some of the rooms are very close/next to the recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Google Translation
Guten Tag
Ein grosses Dankeschön, dass Sie die Villa Orselina bewertet haben.
Ihr Lob und Ihre Komplimente haben unser ganzes Team sehr erfreut und motivieren zu weiteren Höchstleistungen.
Bis bald wieder in Orselina.
Cari saluti,
Christoph Schlosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stumbled on the Villa Orselina by chance when looking for somewhere to stay for the Moon and Stars festival in Locarno. That annual event really chews up hotel space in the area so the Villa was one of the few options left a few months out if we wanted to be walking distance to the concert in the Piazza Grande. This recently renovated hotel is actually up in Orselina, way up above Locarno. But there is a Funicolare just down the street from the hotel, by the famous Madonna del Sasso. It runs down to Locarno every 15 minutes during the day and every 30 minutes in the evening. For the concerts be careful as the last trip up the very steep hillside is at 12.30am and the cabin is not huge. In Locarno the Funicolare leaves from a base less than a five minute, fairly flat, walk from the main station and is just off the main road. Once up in Orselina, turn left and follow the road up the hill for another five minutes or less and you’ll be there. With one large wheeled suitcase it was an easy trip off the train from Montreux. The hotel gave us some complimentary return tickets for the Funicolare when we checked in.

The Villa Orselina itself is a fairly large building but the hotel section is only 28 rooms. The rest of the space seems to be taken up by private apartments which I think are also looked after by the hotel. Every room has a stunning view of the valley and it would be easy for the hotel to just rest on its laurels and let people pay for the view, it is that good. But they haven’t and while yes it is very expensive, the attention to detail and level of service was exceptional. Check in was warm and personal and we were quickly shown to our room. A complimentary iced bottle of Prosecco awaited us as we really began to soak up the location. We were in a double room on the top floor and so looked down over the gardens and heated outdoor pool area and to Locarno below. A nice touch was the pair of binoculars on the balcony table. Inside, the room was large and spotless; the bedding was first class with a pillow menu on the side table. Aside from our welcome drink there was a fully stocked mini bar including some nice looking wines albeit at a cost, but Nespresso coffee and quality teas were complimentary as was Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The bathroom was impressive though we were a little bemused by the special effects lighting; a little out of place perhaps or just a very nice extra touch, we couldn’t quite make up our minds.

We took dinner one night in the highly regarded 14 Gault Millau point restaurant and the location on the veranda in the garden is stunning in the early evening. The service was to match but we were just a little caught out by the food. The restaurant is geared towards the traditional Italian meal of four courses, with pasta as the second course; a little welcoming card on the table explains that. But the four course menu seemed like too much food for us, so we elected for ala carte and for each of us just a starter and a pasta dish as a main secondo course. The food was delicious but you will not get fat on the portions. Following a magnificent red mullet and fennel soup I had a delightful plate of seafood ravioli but it was only I think six small pieces of albeit handmade pasta parcels sat on a sauce. I’m not sure what you’d get for the regular primo version. Anyway, it was probably our fault for not asking about the course sizes and so we devoured the wonderful basket of homemade breads. So my advice would be to take the daily four course menu if you eat here, it’s not cheap but the food is very, very good and you’ll have room for all of it. On the second night we just wanted something easy and quick on the way to the concert and so we went to the cafe across from the Funicolare and it was actually pretty good. It’s far from Gault Millau but the food was great value and the view still stunning.

Just a note on the Funicolare, its well worth going even higher than Orselina via the two further stages up to Cimetta at 1,670m. From there you’ll be able to see the lowest point in Switzerland - in Locarno - to the highest point - Monte Rosa. The first stage of the trip is in a large cabin cable car and the second is a two person side facing cable lift. Just be warned that the latter closes each day for lunch, between 1215 and 1315, something I was surprised at in high summer in this day and age.

Getting back to the hotel, really it is stunning from start to finish and they have it all once you you’re in and over the high price hurdle. Location, location, location. Indoor and outdoor pools, a spa and fitness centre. Great food across the 14 point dinner restaurant, the poolside grill during the day and the stunning breakfast buffet which was of a very high quality, something we really admired as we tucked in each morning. They even have a complimentary BMW SUV and a cute two seat electric car that you borrow during your stay and free bikes too.
Really we loved it, it was the complete package and after two nights we’d have happily stayed longer, maybe next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Google Translation
Buon Giorno
Ein grosses Dankeschön für Ihr ausführliches Feedback und dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, Ihre Eindrücke über die Villa Orselina zu schildern.
Wir freuen uns riesig, dass Sie die Villa Orselina als 'Close to perfect' wahrgenommen haben. Unser ganzes Team setzt sich tagtäglich für das Gästewohl, eine hohe Dienstleistungsqualität und das 'Dolce far niente-Feeling' ein. Wunderbar, dass dies von Ihnen auch so wahrgenommen wurde.
Gerne hoffen wir, dass Sie das nächste Mal einige Tage länger bei uns verweilen können.
Wir freuen uns auf Ihren erneuten Besuch and wishing you the very best.
Hopefully seeing you very soon again and cari saluti
Christoph Schlosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Orselina in early June for one night. We stayed here as part of a package (so I’m not certain of the rate), but online prices looked like our Superiore Double Room was probably slightly more than 400 Swiss Francs ($431 or 325 Euros).
The positives for this place begin with the fantastic service from the warm, friendly staff. The views of Lago Maggiore are outstanding. The restaurant is great. Probably the best thing the hotel offers is discretion and privacy. If you’re trying to get away (and not be found), this would be a great place to go. The hotel is small (only 28 rooms), and windows can be closed up not only with curtains, but also with metal shutters.

The negatives start with the room. The décor was a little strange, with an overall white-and-silver theme (bed, tables, chairs, lamps, flooring) in the bedroom – very chic. But the bedroom also had a walnut-colored desk that looked like it was overlooked in the 2011 renovation. The black marble where the tea and coffee was placed seemed a little out of place as well. The bathroom was really odd. The ceiling had about 70 LEDs – both my wife and I thought the designers were trying to create a ‘starry sky’ look. The shower (which was quite nice with a rainfall shower head and six wall-mounted jets) also had colored LEDs in the shower head. You can set it for red, purple, green, etc. – or you can have the colors change as you shower – like slow-motion disco lights. Really odd. Other minor negatives include the fact that the pool closes at 6pm and the fact that no one was at the pool to take a drink or food order (we were there from 4:30 until 6). Also, the gym wasn’t open until after 7am – if everyone has electronic cards, set up the gym so guests can have access whenever they want. Finally, breakfast wasn’t available until 7:30am. I realize that these hours are reasonable to some people, but when people travel here and may be jetlagged, I think hours should be more generous. Maybe we should have ordered room service.

Overall, a classy place to stay with great staff – but don’t stay in your room too long. You’ll forget you’re in a $400+ per night hotel if you do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Google Translation
Buon Giorno
Besten Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, eine Bewertung für die Villa Orselina zu schreiben.
Ihr Lob und Anerkennung ehrt unser Team und uns sehr.
Auf bald wieder und herzliche Grüsse
Christoph Schlosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spent two nights here: upgraded to a junior suite, I think, and the facilities in the room and the hotel were first class (although I never did work out the air-conditioning). Loved the funky lights in the shower!
The food was excellent - we had the "special menu of the day" for supper and it was delicious, beautifully presented. Sitting on the terrace to eat was getting cold but all tables were provided with warm wraps - typical of attention to detail. Oh and on request they will collect and deliver you from/to the train station for free.
But the best is the location and the view. Stunning, stunning. Wow. Locarno doesn't seem to get a lot of English visitors but on this basis I can't understand why!
We didn't use the spa or (outside) pool.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view - sorry, THE view - so it really depends on what you want to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback.
We are already looking forward welcoming you again in the Villa Orselina.
Kind regards
Christoph Schlosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Everything is fantastic about this hotel. The rooms, decor, expansive views and more importantly the people. Each staff member is so warm and welcoming. They ensure that it is a real pleasure to stay with them. Not only did they upgrade us to a Suite but to make up for the non-functioning funicular (very close-by to the hotel) the hotel staff arranged for a pick-up from / drop to the station on each and every occasion during our entire stay.

Usually it is the case of the hotel property being good or the staff being friendly, but at this hotel we get the best of both worlds. I have travelled extensively over the years, but I have no qualms admitting that this is truly an exceptional hotel. It is so easily understandable why this hotel is so well rated by each and every reviewer.

We cannot thank them enough for making it our most memorable experience. Thank you very much.

Ramuloo

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Buon Giorno

A big thank you, that you rewarded Villa Orselina with your evaluations.
Your praise and compliments delighted our team and motivate us to keep delivering a top service every single day.

Hopefully see you very soon again in Villa Orselina

With our warmest regards
Christoph Schlosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose the Hotel given the inviting pictures presented on the hotel's homepage, the small number of rooms and its location right next to Madonna del Sasso. Despite the many promises made, our expectations were more than exceeded as soon as we stepped into the hotel. Every word of promise is an understatement of what you actually will enjoy in this lovely hotel. From the minute you enter the lobby, you feel warmly welcome in a calm, elegant and charming environment that immediately invites you to take a deep breath and to start relaxing. The furniture is dominated by cozy white and modern chic, with the historic rooms not being loaded with unnecessary style elements. The ceilings are dominated by amazing original woodwork. We were personally welcomed by Mr. Schlosser, the tenant and “soul” behind the hotel, and were granted a guided and entertaining tour through the building. In our suite we were awaited by sparkling wine, fruit and flowers and Mr. Schlosser took his time introducing us to our room’s facilities and its technical features, including the bathroom’s “star sky” and “your choice of shower lighting”. The room’s furniture is well selected and comfortable. The bed is of high quality and covered with soft linens. Again, the rooms are not overloaded and dominated by white colors, wood and marble. Attention is paid to small details, e.g. on the balcony table a pair of binoculars invite you to further explore the wonderful garden and stunning view. A further highlight of the hotel is its outstanding restaurant. Located in a beautiful room, it offers high class cuisine paired with top service. A lot of emphasis was taken to offer a tasty selection of freshly prepared food and a great selection of regional wine. We recommend the degustation menu and the “Tagliatelle fresche al ragù di faraona e pistacchi” are a must! There is many more to experience at the Villa Orselina, but we leave it to you to make your discoveries and meet this charming team around Mr. Schlosser. For us a place to be again...

Room Tip: All the rooms (from standard to suites) have a high quality standard. The suites are very spacious a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph S, Manager at Villa Orselina, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Buon Giorno

A big thank you, that you rewarded Villa Orselina with your evaluations.
Your praise and compliments delighted our team and motivate us to keep delivering a top service every single day.

Hopefully see you very soon again in Villa Orselina

With our warmest regards
Christoph Schlosser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Orselina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Orselina

Address: Via Santuario 10 | Orselina-Locarno, Orselina, Locarno 6644, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno > Orselina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orselina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Orselina 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Escapio, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Villa Orselina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Orselina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.