We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at Lalon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lalon - CLOSED

Lalon
A52 Radcliffe Road | Holme Pierrepont, Holme Pierrepont, Nottingham, England
0115 981 60 30
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Newark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First time at Lalon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Food excellent - Value for money - Staff attentive , helpful and polite - Well worth a visit - Make sure you are hungry good portions

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lalon review”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I returned to the Lalon with an old friend and my family with a previous glowing review of the restaurant. However, i'm sad to say this it was awful, the food was bald, we had to wait 40 minutes before each course and we even ended up leaving before even had been served our dessert because of the time it was taking. The waiters where so quite you could barely hear them and seemed be blatantly ignoring us as they all would much rather stand around and talk among themselves. Not only all this but we received a doggy bag to find out we had someone else's leftovers! i left very disappointed and highly doubt i will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One word sums this place up - average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Went here on Groupon voucher for 2 for about £19.

Food wasn't too bad. Service wasn't very attentive. Probably won't go back...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“GREAT SERVICE, GREAT FOOD, GREAT PLACE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lalon is probably up there with some of the best indians in Nottingham. the food is stunningly presented and tastes even better. the service was great, staff couldnt do enough for you. what they need is an outside area to really bring this place in to its own, there is a lot of land around to do so. its close to holme pierrepont so ideal if you are staying around this area.
the food is reasonably priced but i would pay more for some of the dishes on this menu.
a real gem this place

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing like it in Notts..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Me and my husband have been going to Lalon since it first opened. It's a fantastic curry house, in fact it deserves more - it's a fantastic restaurant.

This isn't the sort of place where everyone either orders a Balti or a Korma. There's amazing menu options, from lobster and scallops, to some fantastic vegetarian options, and a mix of spices from the Bangladeshi region, which offer so much flavour to go with the heat.

Many will know this place as the old Little Chef building, but once you're inside, you would have no idea. Beautifully decorated, overlooking a lake, and we understand the new manager (who is a great man, with real vision for this place) is planning on building an outside area to make it a real sociable space for the summer months.

Two years ago we moved over half an hour away, but we still make the journey on a regular basis, even if it's just to pick up a take away.

They welcome everyone from couples, to families and big groups. Our 8-month-old daughter has been welcome in Lalon since she was five days old..and she will be a regular for as long as we can help it.

When you're looking for Indian food in Nottingham, make sure you don't forget this gem!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalon also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.