We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rufford Abbey Country Park

Rufford Abbey Country Park
Rufford Abbey Country Park, Ollerton NG22 9DF, England
+44 1623 821338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Ollerton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park is centered around the 12th-century ruins of Rufford Abbey, with gardens, lakeside walks and woodland, shops, a cafe a restaurant and a small exhibition about the life of the medieval monks who once lived here. We open daily except Xmas Day and it's free to enter. Car park charge.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“I love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

As a local to the park i would recomend anyone to visit here. Its beautiful, unique, peaceful and interesting. There is the old abbey ruins to wak around, the lake with ducks to feed, the animal graveyards, the gardens, adventure play area, the icehouse. Its particularly nice in summer when you can picnic on the large field in the abbey grounds. Last year i went on an organised evening ghost walk which was grea fun. There are plenty of adventure trails for children to do, especially at easter and halloween, as well as a maze and art gallery. Worth a visit. During the school holidays and the summer weekends there is a carpark charge of £3.00.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    70
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent and free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful park.
Great shops.
Good kids' activities.
Lovely restaurant (Saville's).
Free or almost free parking and free to get in.
Love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Rufford Country Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just to say that after 20 years of absence at Rufford Park I was not disappointed but in fact enchanted by this magic place. I only remembered the ruined abbey, but not the crypt museum downstairs, I adored the crypt and its ancient history. I didn't see prior to this visit the lake. I still didn't have the time to visit the Ice House it will have to be next time. We came during the week so parking was free, the weather was stunning, local children were playing on a few rides and the ice cream seller was very busy indeed. We had a sizzling yummy huge bacon butty at a very reasonable price at the Coach House cafe, the only criticism would be that the over eager young catering female assistant did clear our table of our tea pot and cups too early under our noses without asking first! Charming place, nicer than Ollerton Edwinstow and different than Thoresby, will return again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Spend a lovely day out at Rufford Park. The grounds are beautiful and the shops well worth a visit. The cafe's hot chocolate it recommended!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been a regular visitor to Rufford Country Park since I was a child and love that I can now share it with my own family. On the day we visited , early Jan 2013, the parking was free ( usually £3.00 per car per day) which was a nice surprise. The grounds are gorgeous in any weather, and on this visit the wellies were required. Once into the grounds the child can run free ( dog must stay on lead). As a child myself I was always fascinated by the 'pets graveyard' and still have to go and have a look. Half way round the lake you can stop for refreshments, have a look in the outdoor shop and watch the cars drive through the ford , which was quite deep on the day due to the recent down pour. The bigger the splash the bigger the cheer from the crowd! The huts weren't open to buy the seed to feed the ducks, so not sure if they are only open in warmer weather, so take some bread in case. there are plenty of birds and ducks who gather to be fed....and their not shy!. The walk through the woods is always nice and a bit spooky round near the Ice House. The new children's play area is great, fits in with the surroundings, hours of fun to be had. Take a picnic in warmer months and make full use of the lovely grounds. The ruins of the Abbey itself are nice and the art gallery and shop worth a look. All in all a lovely local free attraction well worth a family day out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rufford Abbey Country Park also viewed

Ollerton, Nottinghamshire
Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire
 
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
Worksop, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Rufford Abbey Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rufford Abbey Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.