We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Nottingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Nottingham to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Nottingham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Brailsford Way | Chilwell, Chilwell, Nottingham NG9 6DL, England (Formerly De Vere Village Nottingham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
hertfordshire, england
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“a nice break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

after reading mixed reviews we went with an open mind, i booked this weekend break and i can say that we were not disappointed, they check in staff were friendly and helpful.
we had a standard room which was, clean, comfortable and served our needs,
we were on a kgb deal, bed, breakfast and evening meal, we used the spa facilities and booked a full body massage, we had a lovely day with a very nice evening 3 course meal.
i would like to thank all the staff we encountered for making a lovely break for us.
the breakfast was buffet style, it was good and plentiful,
i would have no hesitation of recommending the village nottingham for a short break.
once again, thank you.

Room Tip: ask for a new refurbished room overlooking the car park, sounds silly, it was rather quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    186
    96
    63
    28
See reviews for
93
135
18
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here on 21/3/14 on a KGB voucher deal. Opted for a £ 20 room upgrade on the Upper Deck when booking. Strangely tucked away at the back of a retail park, the surrounding scenery is not too pleasant. However check in was easy, room was a surprising high standard and well equipped. Both dinner and breakfast were of a very good standard for the price. Staff were pleasant and attentive throughout. The spa facilities were really good and treatments reasonably priced. The only disappointment was that the enormous swimming pool seemed to contain every under 5 from the Nottingham area, making proper swimming quite impossible.
Would point out that we first asked for a Thursday night stay which they confirmed was available but as soon as we mentioned our KGB deal it was suddenly 'unavailable' even though our voucher was valid for that day. Be wary of their free open days which can make a busy hotel very crowded.
However overall very good value and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We paid for an upgrade so not sure of the quality of the standard rooms. Our room (120) surpassed ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We've been to this hotel before and like it because it is so close to the nature reserve, which we enjoy visiting. We like the fact that after a day sightseeing or shopping there is a good pool plus jacuzzi before dining. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and the food we had was good for the price. The only problem we encountered was the layout of the hotel which is a bit bonkers - to get to our room we had to go left to the lift, go up a floor, walk three sides of a square and up a half-flight of stairs, to another lift and go down two floors. However, I'd go there again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, make sure you are on the same level as reception if possible, or as nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here for one night 15/3/14. We had an upper deck room on a discounted price as I am a member of the leisure centre at the Blackpool DeVere. The hotel was clean and staff helpful. Tea and coffee in room along with iron etc (all the usual). The TV was a bit of a faff to get going but other than that very good. Very warm at night so we slept with the windows open. Average price for hotel drinks at the bar - Magner £4.55 but sort of expect that now. Cooked buffet breakfast was good and again staff tried to get us seated quickly. Swimming pool/Spa was fab! There were quite a few people complaining about various things as we checked out but we had a great stay. In a bit of a random spot on a retail park but would definitely recommend. 15 min drive to Nottingham centre.

Room Tip: Upper Deck only have tea/coffee extra as we had friends who had a normal room but i'd pay the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed at the DeVerre on Saturday 15th March and all that I can say is it was a big dissapointment and not the standard I expected. The rooms are dirty and smelly and leave a lot to be desired. The lift is knackered and there were people struggling to manage the stairs. The location is on an industrial estate and it costs £15 to get into Nottingham in a taxi, breakfast was badly organised and not great x I would advise any one to steer clear and book a central Nottingham hotel. As the DeVerre is Travel lodge standard at an extionate rate

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chilwell hotels

Nottingham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

First some background - I've stayed in the Village at Chilwell for a few times now, not least as the "launchpad" for my daughter's wedding five years ago, and we often take a one night break to enjoy the lesiure facilities. Chilwell is not too far from us. On top of this, we have stayed in other Village hotels, so we can compare with some accuracy.

As might be expected, De Vere have been very precise in ensuring every Village presents the same image on arrival, with the same Verve Grill, same colour schemes, and same levels of very good service. We've always been happy with Village and that's the background. I'm surprised I haven't actually reviewed this hotel before.

On this occasion we booked a Friday night break to end a week's holiday in a log cabin - I had expected maybe a little cold and discomfort so thought a night in a nice plush hotel would be just the ticket.

The standard rate was £69 for a double room which we know are of good quality - more than decent Sealy beds, wifi, tea and coffee making facilities etc. BUT on this occasion I found myself enticed to spend £20 more on Upperdeck - a premium package with better bedding, a mattress topper, a "bespoke Starbucks drinks package", SKY TV and BOSE ipod dock, and newly refurbed rooms.

So, having checked in and been given the executive reception treatment - you cant fault the staff - we headed up to the room, which was on the first floor (lowerdeck?) and a reasonable walk from the lift.

So how does Upperdeck compare with the standard room. Size wise, the room felt smaller, and the view was - different - looking out onto a flat roof between the hotel blocks - I assume this is the upperdeck. Well, there was the BOSE ipod dock, nice but hardly hi-tech. We didn't use it. There was Sky TV, with the box strangely screwed to the underside of a limed effect dresser which strangely reminded me of a woodwork bench. The leather padded chair (no wheels) had to be dragged out of the way to allow the remote to see the box. I could understand if this had been to give a neater look by hiding cables etc, but there was a huge clutter of cables under the dresser anyway. Instructions were very precise for activating the TV and Sky Box - I'm sure there must be a less complicated way - but ours wouldnt work - with the sky box on, the TV tried to switch to HDMI 1 but then fell back on freeview TV, with a rubbish picture. Not to be outdone I quickly inspected the rear of the TV to find the Skybox plugged into HDMI 2. A quick cable swap and the box and TV fired up immediately as per the instructions.Personally, we dont watch a lot of TV but if we did, I would probably prefer to buy a new film than select from Sky Movies repeats.

A Strange chest, a leather chair and the normal hanging rail completed the furnishings, which made the room seem cluttered and smaller than we had been used to.

The room had been redecorated in what I can only assume is the new Upperdeck colours (I preferred the original design, brighter and less oppressive), and although we were told this was one of the newest rooms tobe refurbished, it was looking a bit battered. Gloss paint peeling on door frames and window sills (tip - better preparation, use proper undercoat and never paint over silicone sealer), and a badly fitted and badly stained striped carpet that somehow doesnt match the decor.

A large panelled headboard had been fitted in the room, which looked like it was designed to accommodate a kingsize bed. The bedside shelves were a stretch to reach from the bed, and the headboard was cold and hard to lean on when sitting up.

The bed was a very comfortable bed as usual, and I assume a Sealy - I didnt check - but it certainly wasn't brand new as could be seen from slight marks on the mattress, After a comfortable nights sleep, I checked the topper to find the thinnest topper imaginable had been fitted - the ones we looked at for home had been 40-50mm thick - this was more like a mattress protector than a topper. So, I don't expect we gained much advantage from it. In terms of luxury bedding, the linen was good quality (we've had better) the duvet was indeed snuggly as advertised - in fact so much so that it was off most of the night - the room was incredibly hot with the heating off. The pillows were far to soft and in the end we both used the themed cushions under a single pillow to add some firmness. A Upperdeck emblazened throw finished the ensemble.

So, OK, what else did I get for my £20 extra? Oh yes, the "bespoke" starbucks drinks package. Now, to be fair to De Vere they don't actually describe what this is, but with a Starbucks downstairs I had expected some sort of deal or offer. But no, it was a tea and coffee tray, but instead of Nescafe it was VIA, allegedly the type used in Starbucks, with a couple of teabags, some cartons of milk, sugar sachets etc. Neither bespoke or a package. So no latte- disappointed!

You also get a luggage tag (in case you lose you luggage on the way to the room?) with a special ID number which you use to sign up to an exclusive Upperdeck website and get exclusive member offers and discounts. Only they had run out of luggage tags and didnt know a code so we couldnt get this benefit.

So to recap - a branded tea and coffee tray, a badly decorated and scruffy room, some cute cushions, Sky TV and no exclusive luggage tag or website. Represents excellent value dont you think?

Everywhere you turn in the room, you are reminded that you are, for tonight, Upperdeck. I assume this is either because you might not realise it otherwise, OR if they say it often enough you might start to believe it.

Dont get me wrong - Village hotels are comfortable and normally good value - watch the breaks advertised for cracking deals. And I firmly believe you will get the same experience from any Village.

Food on this occasion wasnt impressive, but they did seem a bit rushed. The barman who chose to make a string of quips about my surname should probably learn some manners.

So my advice - Go Village, but give Upperdeck a miss. It isnt quite different enough or good enough to warrant a 25-30% price hike.

Room Tip: Go for a standard room. If you dont mind walking, get a room as far away from the lifts as possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This must of been the worst meal I have ever had. Don't eat here. Steak was full of tube and not edible. Husband had ribs and they tasted off and the mushroom tart was bland and tinned mushrooms not fresh. Been throwing up all night and would never eat here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Nottingham

Address: Brailsford Way | Chilwell, Chilwell, Nottingham NG9 6DL, England (Formerly De Vere Village Nottingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Chilwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Nottingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Nottingham is minutes away from junction 25 of the M1 and just outside the City Centre. The hotel is ideally located for many major attractions including Nottingham Castle, Sherwood Forest, Newstead Abbey, American Adventure and Alton Towers Theme Parks. Nottingham is a vibrant city renowned for its fantastic shops and nightlife. Village Urban Resort Nottingham has 135 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Nottingham
Village Hotel Leisure Nottingham
Hotel Nottingham Village
Village Urban Resort Nottingham Chilwell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Nottingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.