We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an improvement !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Nottingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Nottingham to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Nottingham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Brailsford Way | Chilwell, Chilwell, Nottingham NG9 6DL, England (Formerly De Vere Village Nottingham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What an improvement !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Have stayed here an number of times and would really like to congratulate this hotel with the amazing improvement on their new refurbished bedrooms. They're more than comfortable and really appreciated the lovey Arran bathroom 'lovelies' ! Can I also thank Sheila on reception for being a very warm and welcoming person. Hope to see you again soon

Room Tip: Top Deck !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    186
    96
    63
    28
See reviews for
93
135
18
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just had a two night stay on a B&B basis with dinner on both evenings. Arrived fairly late on Friday night, worried about our dinner reservation but staff were fine. Restaurant fairly busy so a little wait to be served and food order taken. Egg benedict starter was really nice, main course not as good husband had rump steak which was fairly fatty, my Moroccan vegetables and cous cous very disappointing, sent it back as the cous cous was not cooked, waiter returned and said it was quinoa and not cous cous but the chef had forgot to inform them. Staff offered to change to anything else on the menu but as it was late just had the Moroccan vegetables and some chips. Upon leaving the restaurant staff apologised and removed our drinks from the bill as an apology which we certainly did not expect.

Breakfast the following morning very good and fresh, only down side it the layout of the section where the juice, cereal and toast etc is. Everything is set out in a small area which means it is very difficult to get near and then trying to ensure you don't knock into anyone, ideally this area could be extended by removing a table to then spread everything out a little.

Leisure facilities really good and a bonus is the spa, but would recommend booking in advance. Staff very helpful, rooms very clean with tea and coffee making facilities. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel looks to have been built in the early to mid-nineties and is starting to show it’s age a bit. The room was spacious and quite well equipped (Desk to work at, Largish TV, Trouser press, iron etc.) The bed was a good size and very comfortable. However the décor looks dated, the carpets a bit worn and the tell-tale signs of a slightly hap hazard approach to maintenance are starting to creep in; odd fitments in the bathroom that seem a bit out of place, furniture a bit dark and past it’s best etc. OK for one night or a weekend but a week would feel like too long a stay I felt.

On the plus side the hotel is right opposite a retail park so it’s fairly easy to find and there’s lots of parking. I didn’t use the health club but there was a pool etc and judging by the amount of people in gym gear, it seems popular.

As my options were to dine alone or with another (male) colleague I ordered room service. However this took 90+ minutes to arrive and after a couple of calls to reception 2 harassed looking porters turned up full of apologies about being very busy and short-handed. I didn't have the heart to tear them off a strip; I don't think this was how they would have chosen to spend Valentine’s Day given the option. My annoyance was further quelled when the meal was provided free; a nice gesture.

Breakfast was nice, but I have to say that the choice was not particularly wide. Check out was quick and fairly hassle free. Would stay again, but only for a couple of nights max

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have just had the pleasure of spending most of the weekend at this venue. It was my daughters wedding there and as Mother of the Bride you want things to be lovely - I have to say that starting with the staff on Reception- their greeting and welcome was warm and they went out of their way to help with any queries and showed consideration to all the guests. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet overnight, the housekeeping staff were helpful and cheery.
|The wedding was beautiful and the rooms were set out with the tables and settings looking very elegant, it was a pleasure to see my close family so pleased with the surroundings. the guests all enjoyed the excellent food which was served very efficiently and without fuss, with the all the waiting staff on hand at all times to ensure it all went very smoothly. I must say that I noted that all the food was enjoyed by the guests.The evening went very smoothly with plenty of staff to serve at the bar thus minimal queing. After a nights sleep in a comfortable bed I was pleased to swim in a lovely warm pool which was a great start to the day, before enjoying a breakfast which catered for all tastes and was a another great start to the day. All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this venue. A fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have stayed here on various occassions. The rooms are fantastic and the staff are extremely helpful. The spa is amazing and the deals are definitely worth it. Beautiful meals in the restaurant too!!

We choose to come to the Nottingham branch (even though we have closer branches) because of the impecable service we receive on each visit. Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our first stay at a Village Hotel. We had booked in for a “Stars on Stage” night and didn’t know what to expect for what we had paid. The leisure facilities at the hotel are excellent; very clean and well staffed. The “entertainment package” was exceptional value and very enjoyable. How often do you get Olly Murs, Michael Bublé, Abba, and Robbie Williams in the one room? Staff were friendly and attentive and a credit to the hotel. Breakfast was good and plentiful BUT PLEASE DITCH THE TOAST MAKING MACHINE!!! We will most definitely use this chain again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here on Saturday 16th for one night. Having arrived a little early, we didn't expect our room to be ready. However it was and WOW!! We booked an 'Upper Deck' room which if you haven't tried yet, you really must.

Beautiful, modern and quite possibly the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in away from home and sky HD !! Well worth the money we paid. Breakfast was a real experience. We were advised by reception that breakfast would be very busy between 9am and 10am. Due to the comfort of the bed it was near impossible to get up earlier and avoid the rush.

We overheard other guests complaining to the staff, who in all honesty, were working very hard to serve everyone in a very busy restaurant. We were told it would be busy so I don't see how those people could complain !! You expect Sunday breakfast in a full hotel to be very busy, so we saw no need to grumble over waiting for a table. Check out was also busy but the young lady at reception was friendly and asked if we enjoyed our stay. Very nice touch.

The whole experience was good and we will be back. The staff are friendly and obliging even when greeted with the moaners.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Nottingham

Address: Brailsford Way | Chilwell, Chilwell, Nottingham NG9 6DL, England (Formerly De Vere Village Nottingham)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Chilwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chilwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Nottingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Nottingham is minutes away from junction 25 of the M1 and just outside the City Centre. The hotel is ideally located for many major attractions including Nottingham Castle, Sherwood Forest, Newstead Abbey, American Adventure and Alton Towers Theme Parks. Nottingham is a vibrant city renowned for its fantastic shops and nightlife. Village Urban Resort Nottingham has 135 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, 25 Metre Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel And Leisure Club Nottingham
Village Hotel Leisure Nottingham
Hotel Nottingham Village
Village Urban Resort Nottingham Chilwell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Nottingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.