We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comlongon Castle Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarencefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comlongon Castle Hotel
Save
You added Comlongon Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clarencefield DG1 4NA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. The ceremony was conducted in the castle, we had the reception in the banqueting hall & then we stayed overnight. It is the perfect venue for a wedding, the castle is amazing, the grounds are beautiful & the rooms are lovely.
The staff were very friendly & helpful without being overbearing. We had two very young (18mths & 3yrs) children with us who made very welcome & had a good selection of food on the menu for them.
The reception dinner was excellent. Breakfast was nice, a good selection of cereal was on display only slightly marred by the lack of yoghurt & fresh fruit but this may have been available on request. The cooked breakfast was very nice & the black pudding was particularly good.
The sun shone which helped to make this a perfect day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    12
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
107
123
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Excellent stay at Comlongon for a wedding (August Bank Hol weekend 2014).

All the staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful to all guests and really helped make the wedding a fantastic day.

The grounds of the castle & hotel are beautiful as are the interiors and the bedrooms.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed one night whilst on tour. Great place to stay, staff were excellent and dining was great. Room size was great with a good size bathroom. Wifi facility only works in reception not in the rooms, but works well in reception or the bar

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

There isn't words to describe.

Absolutely perfect.
Welcome.
Efficient staff.
Very clean.
Full of character.
Stunning rooms.
Stunning location.
Stunning grounds.
Stunning views.

Gorgeous food.
Excellent service at the bar. At the main meal and at breakfast.

Staff very knowledgable. Very accommodating. Very helpful. Very pleasant.

Brilliant stay. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our wedding was perfect as it was just immediate family and our closest circle of friends, which was just the way we wanted it. Me and my Husband were married 29th August 1996, the day was wonderful, the sun shone brilliantly all day. Everything about the location is wonderful, even now 18 years later I describe my wedding day as "magical". The staff are wonderful, the food was amazing and the grounds are spectacular. We had bagpipes, champagne and summer fruit punch served whilst the photographs were taken, which were stunning and so informal, as already stated the meal was amazing and was all local produce and in the evening we had a local Ceilidh band which was so much fun, with the men trying to do a traditional dance over swords. I couldn't recommend this location highly enough and cant wait t go back !.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Sooo ... what a weekend we have just had at Comlongon Castle. We took over the Castle for the whole weekend to celebrate my 50th Brithday and our Wedding - what a double celebration. The Castle, Hotel, Grounds and Staff are all amazing, I think if you have read any of the other reviews, you already get the gist !!

I can't thank Ashley, Alex and the rest of the staff enough for making it all feel like Magic - things just happened, although perhaps that was also to do with the two years planning :-)

The food was absolutely lovely, it was great that everyone could choose from a menu, very impressive.

Everyroom was great, every sip of Champagne to be savoured. I didn't think I could love my family and friends anymore but this venue is so romantic it just gets better.

Thanks again, if you are thinking about using this venue ... just do it. Look at the feedback, you really won't be disappointed.

Many thanks. Sandy & Mike Maher - 15th/16th and 17th August 2014.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Gardens. The Lodge is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our friends got married at the castle in the keep. The castle was lovely with fab gardens. The honeymoon suite, the lodge was fantastic. The guest rooms were all different and, comfortable. Would have been nice if they offered different pillows which we found quite hard. The food was great especially on the wedding day. The 2 piece band was great they played a mix of Scottish and modern music. They made the night with their great personalities and joined in with the dancing while they sang and played. The wedding service was held in the keep which had a fab room and a falcon which was supposed to deliver the rings to the groom but decided not to perform on the day, we all took it in good humour. Breakfast was also very good. Pow foot golf course nearby.

Room Tip: The Lodge is the best if you get a chance to book it and not much more money then the large suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comlongon Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comlongon Castle Hotel

Address: Clarencefield DG1 4NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Clarencefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Clarencefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 15th-century castle and adjoining 15 roomed Baronial hotel set in over 120 acres of private grounds. Comlongon specialises in weddings, receptions, celebrations and private functions on a daily basis. The Hotel offers a unique blend of luxury, history and privacy with displays of armour and oak paneling. Award winning chefs specialise in fresh local produce. Comlongon is a privately owned and run family business where service and value for money are paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Comlongon Castle Dumfries
Comlongon Castle Hotel Dumfries
Comlongon Castle Hotel Scotland/Clarencefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comlongon Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.