We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comlongon Castle Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarencefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comlongon Castle Hotel
Save
You added Comlongon Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Clarencefield DG1 4NA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We held our wedding here on the 1st June. It was a perfect wedding....so much more than we could ever imagine. The castle is an amazing setting. The staff are so good, kept us right all day without being intrusive. Cannot praise them enough. Sunshine even came as part of the package so we were able to get married outside. The gardens are a perfect place to get married. We had the Lairds Blessing as part of our day...highly recommend this. It was brilliant and felt really special. Plus I jumped over the broom highest so I am in charge in our marriage...Nice one!! The fireworks were amazing! We love fireworks. Even the piper was amazing. Calmed my nervous father down before the ceremony!!
The food was faultless...all our guests commented on that. The rooms are sumptuous! The lodge is out of this world. There were so many little touches that went together to make such a special day absolutely perfect! Thanks to Phil and his team for a more than perfect day.... Would love to do it all again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for this particular review. With a variety of venues on offer for any couple wishing to celebrate there are a host of venues available. All I would say is we do not advertise; we rely upon personal recommendations, which seems to work for us. Look at every other venue, and then come and see us. It will become clear why we have such reviews.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    12
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
107
123
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were booked here as part of a tour and found it quite special. We had an enormous room and bath, decorated in over-the-top "castle" decor and were most comfortable. Our room overlooked the gardens and we had the treat of first hearing, then seeing, a piper "pipe" a bride and groom to a photo spot. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel owner gave us a tour of the castle that included descriptions of medieval warfare and life as it was in the day. The food was good if not spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you. It is rewarding when we receive a compliment from a client that has enjoyed our hospitality other than a wedding. I realise most reviews here relate to weddings or celebrations, but once you have been here you will realise we are far more than a wedding venue. We organise personal guided tours of the castle where the history of the castle and the wider border region is brought to life.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from comlongon castle after a friend got married there yesterday. We would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of getting married there or just wanting to stay as it was outsanding. We stayed in the ruthwell suite room 9 and had an extra bed as we had our daughter with us and there was plenty of space, and spotless. The bathroom had a free standing bath and lots of space. We had a very sunny day and it was lovely having the wedding outside with the bagpipes playing. The gardens are beautiful. It was an amazing all around experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you. As most folk know from reading these reviews, we supply a very unusual product. The only way to find out is to visit us. If you are thinking of having a wedding or indeed any celebration come and see us. Personally, I use review sites far more now than I ever did. But the only way to prove if these are correct is to go; so before spending a great deal of money come and meet us and see if what everyone is posting is valid.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Belated we know but we wanted to give positive feedback for our brilliant wedding day in June 2012! We have utmost thanks and praise for the Comlongon staff from the time of the original enquiry/booking to departure the day after the ceremony. Carol, Ashley and Rosemary cannot have been more professional, helpful, understanding, accommodating, knowledgeable nor patient and provided such a personal and discreet service on the day. What a great co-ordination team!

We went to Comlongon's Wedding Fayre in the March (can definitely recommend if you're considering it for your venue) which was an extremely productive week-end, meeting all of their recommended suppliers whom we used on the day: Diane Boa (hair & make-up), Blooms (florist), Rainbow Sugarcraft (amazing bespoke cake & beautifully hand-crafted ring cushion), 420 Video (excellent and much-treasured DVD), Balloons For All (fabulous balloons & table linen), and of course the Comlongon Duo, to name a few. You can also view all the accommodation to select the best rooms for you and your guests - very useful.

Compliments must also go to the Chef for providing a sumptuous feast. Great idea to offer the menu to guests on the day so they could choose their meals spontaneously rather than well in advance. Fabulous tasting, local and seasonal food, beautifully presented. Banquet Hall also used for evening entertainment whilst you have wedding cake & coffee in the Drawing Room - all very civilised.

Blessed with sunshine (after such a wet Spring!), as planned, we were able to have a two-part ceremony, starting in The Great Hall within the Castle keep and ending in the Crannag within the stunning Castle grounds. The Lower Vaulted Hall was on standby as an alternative had it rained. Thanks to Ashley the Piper and special thanks go to our chosen Pagan celebrant, Elinor Predota, who wrote the most powerful/moving vows and conducted the ceremony, (including handfasting and 'jumping the broom').

We stayed in the Honeymoon Lodge which was fantastically spacious, ideal for pre-ceremony preparation in peace and quiet, with huge hanging space for wedding gown and great lighting/mirrors for hair & make-up. Only thing is we didn't have enough time to spend in there together and make the most of it!

Well done to everyone for making our day so special and memorable. We loved it so much, we are returning for our anniversary!

Room Tip: Wedding couple - choose the Honeymoon Lodge for space and tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Well where do I start? We hold regular wedding fares, which allow potential couples to see what we provide, and more importantly what our recommended suppliers supply. Our next one is on Sunday 15th September 2013 from 1pm-5pm, and the dome will be here; a very unusual option for a marquee,- and a lot cheaper.
There are numerous things we need to get right for any booking; staff, location, rooms, staff, gardens, weather (we try), and subcontractors. Anyone could let us down and lead to a complaint and a bad review. Thankfully we have a tremendous relationship with the folk we recommend, so this is unlikely. I would urge anyone to book direct with us and not to go through others who may not have the same ethos however.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Kerry, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I could not express how much , I loved this Castle, We had our wedding there recently and it was out of this world, everything was perfect,I feel like getting divorced just to go back and do it all again,I am so happy I choose Comlongon Castle, and I would say to anyone do not hesitate book it now,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you. I know from talking to guests that many read these reviews, which from some part of their decision to book here. Having done this for nearly 3 decades I cannot think of anything else we can do to improve the place. If a review pointed out a failing, it would be acted upon. Apart from that- come and see us.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruabon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had our wedding here at comlongon castle on Thursday 28th March, the day before Good Friday . We decided on a 6pm wedding as we were driving up from North Wales and didn't want to rush.

The castle is amazing, wow. Your first impression is wow, as we approached the castle everyone in the car just said " wow". We were married in the Great Hall. It's a fantastic location, but very cold ( however it has been the coldest Easter in record since 1986). We had a piper, who was fantastic, an 8 month owl as a ring bearer who was just unbelievable. the owl owner/handler was lovely she let the children stroke the owl. Finally we all had doves to let go. Truly magical.

The whole experience is something very very special, and unforgettable. We kept our wedding party to 16 people in Scotland and everyone had a great time, and loved the castle.

The registrar was lovely, as was the wedding co-ordinator lady, very professional. My only criticism was our photographer seemed a little on the bossy side! But it provided us with a source of laughter when we were having dinner that evening, as some of our guests were mimicking him! But i have to say his photos are good which is the important thing! Also they arrived very quickly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for this. There are a number of weddings we host here that just marry and enjoy our facilities, but do not stay with us. Often agents do not explain that we provide not only the ceremony, but also catering and accommodation, which is sometimes too late for couples to change their arrangements. If you do organise a ceremony here, it is worth contacting us direct to see if we can supply you with everything else. One of the most common complaints we get is “we wish we knew we could have stayed with you” Get in touch, you never know; we do bespoke.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at Comlongon Castle last night and were married yesterday outside in the Dove Coat by candlelight. (yes in February! It was gorgeous weather) The team were really accommodating considering it was just the 2 of us (and a guest!) and the castle really was magical. We have some beautiful photos to take away. Also the food was the best meal I've ever tasted! I would recommend it to anyone for a wedding venue; we plan to come back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comlongon, Owner at Comlongon Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you. Every day here is different. Every client is unique. Sometimes when we host intimate weddings (you need a minimum of two!) it can make the most memorable memories, for you and staff. The one thing that is common to all groups is what people refer to as bespoke- you tell us what you want, and we will do everything we can to ensure it will be done. It’s simple really.
Phillip Ptolomey
Comlongon Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comlongon Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comlongon Castle Hotel

Address: Clarencefield DG1 4NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Clarencefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Clarencefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 15th-century castle and adjoining 15 roomed Baronial hotel set in over 120 acres of private grounds. Comlongon specialises in weddings, receptions, celebrations and private functions on a daily basis. The Hotel offers a unique blend of luxury, history and privacy with displays of armour and oak paneling. Award winning chefs specialise in fresh local produce. Comlongon is a privately owned and run family business where service and value for money are paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Comlongon Castle Dumfries
Comlongon Castle Hotel Dumfries
Comlongon Castle Hotel Scotland/Clarencefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comlongon Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.