We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Inn

Save Saved
You added The Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1105 Lake Shore Dr, The Villages, FL 32162   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in The Villages
GreenLeadersSilver level
chicago, il
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Almost 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a beautiful property and a great location if you are visiting The Villages. There are some flaws and that keeps it from being 5 star, in my opnion. The breakfast is not complimentary and this is all right but everytime someone on the staff would tell me about the breakfast, they would start by saying "The breakfast is $10". Why not start by saying the breakfast is not complimentary and here is what it includes? This leads to another irritation. I had cold cereal and milk both mornings I was there and was charged $10 one morning and $3 the second morning. Huh? The staff while overall was nice and attentive also had some rather aloof and somewhat non caring people. One morning I came down for early morning coffee which is a nice feature of the Waterfront Inn and asked a staff member a question. It turns out I interrupted that staff member who was playing a computer game. And I got that look! There is a great bellman when you check in and Neal was very helpful. On balance it was a lovely stay and yes, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: While rooms with the view of the lake are more expensive it is a very lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelias52, General Manager at The Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your kind words about Neal, our bellman. I shall pass your message along to him as well as our entire team. It is by comments like yours that we learn and become aware of our flaws. It is our goal to provide excellent service to all of our guests. I am happy you enjoyed our property and look forward to providing you with the exceptional service for which The Waterfront Inn is known. Kind Regards, Jamie Ross-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    38
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
55
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on the advice of friends, to see what " the villages" is all about.
We were given a lovely room overlooking a lake.
It's worth visiting just to see how huge this " village" is.
The hotel is walking distance to shops and restaurants.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Not many places were open to serve dinner on Christmas night. The buffet was plentiful with lots of selections; Chicken, Seafood, Stuffed Cod, Roast Pork, Prime Rib and Salad and Soup (Lobster Bisque) Desert and coffee were included. Service was excellent. We sat on the patio and had a pleasant view of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

From the exterior, this hotel presents a nice image, and the lobby area is nicely decorated. Instead of a registration desk, you sit at one of two office-style desks.

The lobby is papered in pineapple themed wallpaper, as is every wall surface in the public areas of the hotel. Mercifully, the rooms are not. The pineapple images might have been nice if they were simply small framed rectangles mounted on otherwise blank walls. Unfortunately, the effect quickly morphed from 'nice' to 'overwhelming' to 'get me out of here'.

Our room was smallish, but nicely appointed, and the beds were comfortable. Room service at breakfast was a disaster. It took five phone calls, most of which landed in an answering machine. We left a message and they later claimed to have called back, but they did not.

Sunday evening the lobby bar was crowded with drinkers listening to a series of Karaoke singers proving just how bad country and western music from the tone-deaf school could possibly sound. Perhaps they were too drunk to notice.

This hotel has only one thing going for it: it is just a block or two from Lake Sumter Landing, which is the most interesting of the three town squares in this huge development.

All in all, not a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here twice while looking at property in The Villages. The rooms were spacious, pleasant & very comfortable. I found the beds to be "just right" for a good nights sleep. Because I was worn out after a very long day of driving I ordered room service. Although the service was good I was disappointed in the food. The staff is courteous & helpful & the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel was great! The service was great and very accommodating. We had a full view of the lake and golf course. We rented a golf cart for the day which allowed us to travel all in the villages. Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Top floor, lake front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Inn

Address: 1105 Lake Shore Dr, The Villages, FL 32162
Location: United States > Florida > The Villages
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in The Villages
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Lady Lake
Waterfront Hotel Lady Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.