We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good carry-out Chinese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of China Gourmet III

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Gourmet III
343 Colony Blvd, The Villages, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 99 Restaurants in The Villages
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good carry-out Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We ordered by phone and then picked up. Ready and waiting for us, we had:
#19 hot & sour soup (it was hot thermally and spicy),
#33 roast pork lo mein (my hubby loves this),
#101 diced chicken w/cashew nuts (chicken was okay, too much zucchini, not much flavor), and
#C20 shredded pork Szechuan style (excellent combination, comes with pork fried rice and egg roll). Restaurant gives you condiments and fortune cookies. A lot of food for the cost.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We've been here a few times and every time the place is jumpin! We found the food to be very good here and consistant. The first time we went in to order..big mistake...order by phone and pick-up..much easier...its waiting for you when you get there. If you do have to wait..grab yourself a cup of tea..on the house.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I eat here all the time, because it is on the way home from work.

It is basically a take out place, with a few tables, but we usually eat our food at the restaurant.

The food is pretty good.

Not great, but satisfactory for what it is.

I would actually rate it about a 3.5.

Be forewarned though that in the winter, it is almost like eating outside, because people keep coming in and out of the front door for takeout, and the place is so small.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was hoping that the food quality would be better then what the price for an 'All You Can Eat' buffet usually serves. The Chinese food was okay, the seafood which was what was ADVERTISED as being their 'thing' was terrible. Watery Crab legs, no flavor... overcooked peel n eat shrimp, muscles with no flavor. The only good thing was the price of a Corona beer. I will not be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere, USA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Can't see the attraction here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Granted, the food is served fresh and hot and is plentiful but that doesn't make it great Chinese food. It is "dumbed down" Chinese for senior American tastes. No heat to the spicy dishes, not a lot of vegetables in the lunch servings. We'll continue to look for a nice sit down Chinese restaurant in the area. This will do in a pinch when we're desperate for Chinese.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Gourmet III also viewed

 

Been to China Gourmet III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Gourmet III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.