We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable and reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cody's Original Roadhouse

Cody's Original Roadhouse
1041 Lake Shore Dr, The Villages, FL 32162
(352) 259-8500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 102 Restaurants in The Villages
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You'll only need to look around Cody's to see why "Original" is our middle name. You'll enter an era gone by, when things were simpler, more casual and definitely more relaxed. Tubs of roasted peanuts are available throughout for snackin', crackin' or throwin' on the floor. You'll enjoy Cody's fresh cut, flame broiled, USDA prime and choice Steaks, Prime Rib, Rotisserie Chicken, Pork Back Ribs, Fresh, Fresh Fish, Burgers, Fajitas and more. At Cody's, we're proud of our expert cooking skills and we've put the grill front and center for your viewing.All told, Cody's Original Roadhouse is a fun, casual, family friendly Roadhouse that serves "Just Plain Good Food®". You won't go home hungry or broke - you'll just go home happy!
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Reliable and reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Consistent good food at reasonable prices, especially daily specials. Great drinks, super service. Crowded to timing is important. Worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    150
    61
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Love the Ribs and house salad. Have visited several times over past year

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best of The Villages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have never been disappointed. Great service, great food and the prices are very low compared to other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice lakeside bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I like the casual nature of this place - fun servers and great draft beers - get the 20 ouncers if you're thirsty! Throw your peanut shells on the floor and enjoy the views of the lake. Fun outside bar and decent food for a bar. It does get crowded so avoid the crowds and arrive early afternoon or for late lunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Too much success?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We waited almost an hour for a table - they do "buy one get one free" frajitas on Wednesdays. I ordered steak frajitas - they were terrible - hugh chunks of overcooked beef - unchewable. No grilled onions and a couple of overcooked pieces of green pepper.
My husband had a chopped steak - overcooked, dry and no flavor. Very disappointing.
There are so many good restaurants in The Villages - we won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's Original Roadhouse also viewed

 
The Villages, FL
The Villages, FL
 

Been to Cody's Original Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cody's Original Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.