We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely country estate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Posta dei Donini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alla Posta dei Donini to your Saves list
Alla Posta dei Donini
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Deruta 43, 06132 San Martino in Campo, Perugia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A lovely country estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here as my wife was attending a conference at the hotel. The hotel is quite lovely: very spacious and elegantly furnished rooms, located on a large site in a small village, so very quiet. Wifi worked well. Breakfast and dinner were excellent in the hotel restaurant, and the staff were very courteous and helpful. While my wife attended her conference, I took a local bus into Perugia, which was easy and very inexpensive. Note that, to stay here, you really should have a car. Although the bus was convenient, there are really no local options for dining other than the hotel. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTD43, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
dear Mayorswede,
thanks a lot for the time you've spent at Alla Posta dei Donini! we are really happy to know that you've enjoyed your time in Perugia. We hope to meet you and your wife again during your next trip in Italy!!
kind regards
Lucia Mencaroni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    146
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
52
271
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I've learnt on this trip to Europe that although France and Italy are packed to bursting in the summer holidays, and there is ugly pollution along the Mediterrannean coast; the locals have also created hotels which offer peaceful and restful surroundings.
Alla Poste dei Donini is one of these.
We chanced upon it during a brief spell that our wi fi was working properly in France- and at a very competitive rate.
We stayed a week and our air conditioned room (overlooking the pool on the 2nd floor) couldn't be faulted.
The restaurant food and service was very good. I say that as a traveller who prefers local dishes simply cooked.
A heatwave had struck and the attractive pool area and surrounding trees were well used by the residents.
Plenty of choice for breakfast.
All round good service from staff.
very handy to the Milan-Rome motorway, but no noise from that.
About 30 mins to Perugia/Assisi/Deruta
About an hour to Spoleto.
Lovely, restored, historic building.with some impressive public areas. Reminiscent of the country house hotels of 50 years ago, but not pretentious.
Most of the customers were Italian, and you could see they were enjoying their holiday in peace and quiet.!
Relaxed so much that I didn't organise myself to try the treatments in the spa.

Room Tip: From the photos, there appears to be a variety of rooms, so it would pay to check exactly what you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

The stand was very friendly and helpfull in beling to solve a reservatoon misunderstanding, with sucess. The hotel and the room were perfect as well as the restaurant. If there was an WiFi connection in the room ..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, during a recent tour of Italy.
All of the staff are exceedingly helpful and friendly.
The rooms are spacious with good amenities.
The grounds are immaculate.
The restaurant is a must.
The village has nothing to offer. You will need a car but the local towns noted above are a 15 minute drive.
Free wifi was a nice touch.
It is very quiet in the evening so if you need nightlife you want to stay in perugia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTD43, Direttore vendite at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Dave 1NL,
thanks a lot for your review! we hope to meet you again during your next holiday in Italy!
have a nice day
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here two days while holidaying in Italy.
The first impression was - well, impressive! And everything remained impressive about this hotel. Superbly furnished and spacious reception and lounge area, with an interesting library. Spacious and quietly rustic room with double aspect. Very quiet at all times, with beautiful gardens. Easy parking. A gourmet restaurant with very reasonable prices and superb service.
We could have happily stayed a week and would totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want fast internet, better to be closer to the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We spent lovely 2 days in this mansion hotel. Beautiful property in a quiet village 15 min from Perugia.We loved the peace and quietness. You need a car to stay here.Rooms are beautful and authentic and have nice beds.Good amenities,bath
room small but functional.Wifi not working but cable internet good. Breakfast was well prepared and good choice. Price is acceptable. Great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PTD43, Direttore vendite at Alla Posta dei Donini, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Dtjan,
Thanks for your stay in our hotel. It would be nice, next time, to show you the other room types, and during the summer, the beauty of our flower garden.
Best Regards
Gianpiero Scivetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

My Wife have stayed here twice and found it to be one of the most beautiful places imaginable. The site, food, rooms and service were outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alla Posta dei Donini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Posta dei Donini

Address: Via Deruta 43, 06132 San Martino in Campo, Perugia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia > San Martino in Campo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Martino in Campo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Posta dei Donini 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alla Posta dei Donini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Posta Dei Donini Perugia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Posta dei Donini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.