We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huccomb House Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huccombe House

Huccombe House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beesands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huccombe House
Save
You added Huccombe House to your Saves list
Huccombe | Kingsbridge, Beesands TQ7 2EP , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #2 of 2 Beesands B&B and Inns
Sothport
1 review
“Huccomb House Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

South Devon and Huccomb House was a jewel find Martin and Shirley were most welcoming and we did not want to leave our room was fabulous the view we had was stunning. Shirley is a very good cook it was a real home from home cant wait to go back next July. Thank you Shirley and Martin see you in July with my father.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Huccombe House was an excellent find at short notice. Can't fault it. What a peaceful location with lovely views. The converted school is stunning, very well appointed and our bedroom was extremely comfortable, with a spacious en-suite. Shirley and Martin were very welcoming and patient when answering our questions. Shirley cooks an outstanding breakfast - who needs lunch ? We have been very tempted to keep it our secret as we will definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook Norton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After having been refused by at least half a dozen B&B's in the region to get a room for one night only (Saturday), we found Huccombe House on the internet. 'One night only' was not a problem there. We arrived late afternoon and we instantly felt 'home' after the friendly welcome by Shirley and Martin. The interior of the converted old school is simply stunning and very tasteful. The size of the room was very generous and so was the bathroom and common lounge. Everything is of high standard and very clean. The view down a valley over fields with grazing sheep added to the 'country living' experience. Yes, we were kept awake for quite some time during the night because of a big thunderstorm which made us only more aware of how comfortable the beds were...
The host’s passion for their B&B also reflected on the breakfast, where a love for fresh food took the English / Continental breakfast to the next level (unless you prefer tinned fruit of course…). If you fancy a break in comfort and you have a love for the quiet countryside, this is the place to go. I'm sure we will find an excuse in the future to go back to Huccombe House! Great value for money. Thank you very much! Markus & Rebecca

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Beautiful accommodation in a peaceful setting, our ground floor room and en-suite bathroom was lovely. Shirley and Martin have done a brilliant conversion, taking B and B to an exceptional standard. Breakfast was very nice, just the right balance of everything.
Shirley and Martin make you very welcome, a brilliant find would love to keep it secret !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Martin and Shirley provide sumptuous accommodation and offer a great welcome. The converted school house is simply charming. The room we had on the ground floor was very well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable. Huccombe House is a little bit off the beaten track but this does make it beautifully peaceful. But within 15 minutes you can be at Torcross. Martin and Shirley cook a great breakfast and are only too happy to help with questions about the surrounding area. It was just a shame we could only be there 1 night this time. But we shall go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from a two night stay in luxury B&B in South Hams Devon - Huccombe House.
Huccombe House is a converted village school.
The proprietor and her mother went to school there, walking the very country mile or so from the nearby fishing village of Bee Sands.

The conversion is stunning, the rooms very generous with great bathrooms and and very comfortable lounge where you can sit and browse walkin guides and take in the spectacular view.
Shirley and Martin make you feel very welcome.
Hightly recommended.

Room Tip: Follow Martin's directions - not your sat nav! Downstairs room has a mansize bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We found Huccombe by chance and are delighted we did. A superb B and B run and owned by Shirley and Martin. Very quiet location that really suited us. Clean and lovely room. Hospitality was super and our little one year old was very at home. We will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huccombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huccombe House

Address: Huccombe | Kingsbridge, Beesands TQ7 2EP , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Beesands
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beesands
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huccombe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.