We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun, Sea & Scallops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cricket Inn

The Cricket Inn
beesands, Beesands TQ7 2EN, England
01548 580215
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Beesands
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Sun, Sea & Scallops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On a balmy sunny day we descended on Beesands for a day on the beach. The sea was calm and the parking easy, and we had a pleasant morning enjoying the Devon Sunshine. Just behind the beach is the Cricket Inn, and there we had delicious Beesands Scallops and Sardines with crusty bread and Olives, washed down with a pint of Otter Ale. Perfect lunch for perfect day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    80
    27
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon england
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
493 helpful votes 493 helpful votes
“Good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

You cannot find a better location but sadly the food can be hit or miss, when it's right it's fabulous but occasionally it can be a disaster with undercooked chips and not so so good service.

In the good weather we are frequent visitors, but we prefer not to eat inside, no atmosphere unless you are with a party of friends, and they choose where you sit !

The food, especially the seafood pancake is delicious but the food sizes are not consistent and throughout the summer, one may find the portions disappointing, I suppose it depends on which chef/cook is in charge of the preparations.

We will continue to eat there but are aware of these shortcomings. One can accept the prices as long as one can rely on the portion sizes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food! Awesome puddings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited the Cricket Inn just a few days ago and had the most fantastic meal! Scallops for starter... Amazing, Lobster for main... Amazing... And the best pudding I have ever eaten!!! Great service and presentation and would go back every week if it wasn't 350 miles away! Also dog friendly which is a massive bonus, plus a fab view from the restaurant all round no matter where you sit!! Can't understand why some people are objecting to table position when it's great all round! ...... Thoroughly recommended!! Thanks to Rachel and Nigel and fab chef Scott!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Wonderful food, their famous seafood pancake was divine. Really nice ambience, they had the large doors completely open with a view of the sea from the restaurant. Cannot understand why there are so many complaints from people about not getting a table near the front as the view there is more obscured by the wall. We found it perfect a little way back in the restaurant. The only very minor negatives were that the portions were on the small side and no bread was provided, probably to encourage you to order side dishes. Overall, however a very enjoyable experience and we would return. By the way the staff were very pleasant and eager to please.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little disappointed.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Arrived for lunch yesterday around 2pm with our friends from abroad.
Most people were eating outside at that time as it was such a beautiful day so it was very quiet inside.
We are fairly regular visitors but wanting our friends to have the best experience asked if we could sit at an empty table by the side of the window but were told no, it has been booked - this was after 2! so were sat in the middle of a virtually empty room.
We didn't leave until after 3 and were just about the last diners inside but still no one came in to take the window table.
We have been in the restaurant/hotel business for many years and so can fully understand the need to make optimum use of tables etc. but this was just being awkward for awkwards sake.
Our food was very good apart from the chips being under cooked as they have been on our last two visits.
Will make us think twice about where we eat next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cricket Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Cricket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cricket Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.