We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seafood, seafood on the sea shore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cricket Inn

The Cricket Inn
beesands, Beesands TQ7 2EN, England
01548 580215
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Beesands
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Slapton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“seafood, seafood on the sea shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As ever, fresh fish and seafood, often landed on the beach that day. Calamari cooked to perfection, mackerel with chorizo inspired and tasty, Cornish sardines just waiting to send you to heaven. Friendly, knowledgeable staff - do you know what a cod loin is? Good wine list. We were there Weds eve, impossible without booking at weekends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    75
    25
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Expectations.........but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended to go to this place and was really pleased to get a table at relatively short notice. Read the other reports on how wonderful the place looks,etc and it does. However, the chef must have left his taste buds at home today.....the food...two fish courses for both of us looked absolutely brilliant ......but tasted of nothing....how can you achieve completely tasteless fish??? Mmmm....should have had the good ol fish and chips.......big disappointment ......

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Food excellent...seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Visted the Cricket Inn once for drinks and once for a meal for three.One of two places for food in Beesands, looking straight on to the beach, Food excellent...service from the bar not so. Plenty of seafood on the menu, restaurant very clean and decor was lovely.Bookings advisable as we went on a weeknight and it was still very busy all three meals were well presneted and hot.
Would differnetly go back for a special occasions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Easter Sunday lunch !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had booked in advance BUT had forgotten to alter our clocks to Summer Time so arrived an hour late !! Many other restaurants might have turned us away...not so The Cricket ! They had moved our booking forward but it meant that our table was being 'turned round' an hour later....however with excellent service and some humour on both sides it was accomplished !! We had a delicious Sunday lunch of roast beef with all the trimmings followed by dessert and coffee. Congratulations to everyone involved !! We shall be visiting the South Hams frequently during the coming months and will be returning to The Cricket to sample yet more of their fare !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great seaside pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went here for a large family and friends get together part of a special weekend celebrations.
The order was large and took some time to deliver with 1 person having to wait a while for their meal but otherwise no complaints with service. We had a young child in the party and all members of the group from the 6 year old to the 80 year old were happy with the selection on the menu and their choice.
It is quite pricey for a pub but it is more of a foodie pub than a pubby pub (if you get my drift)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cricket Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Cricket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cricket Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.