We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll fall in love with Villa Roquette” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Roquette

Villa Roquette
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montblanc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Roquette
146 Rue De La Republique, 34290 Montblanc, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Montblanc B&B and Inns
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You'll fall in love with Villa Roquette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been traveling to Languedoc in the South of France for a number of years and have stayed in Tony and Carole Tidswell's properties. Villa Roquette is in the perfect, lovely little village
near the Mediterranean. They are the most welcoming innkeepers. Full of local lore, history and information as to where to go and what to do during your visit. You really get a taste of French village life. Their apartments are very comfortable and nicely furnished. They have an outdoor garden area and good size swimming pool. You are near the larger cities of Bezier, Montpellier and Perpignan but we love the smaller villages. Be sure to go to Marseillan for some nice restaurants overlooking their charming port and visit Noilly Prat. We'll be coming back to Villa Roquette, hopefully, with the grandkids, too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at Villa Roquette for two nights in May as part of a short "self-guided" cycling trip in southern France. We were warmly welcomed and escorted to a bright and lovely 2 room suite- with all that I needed to fix a cup of tea after a well-earned shower. After a full day of riding, with our only transportation (bicycles) safely stowed and sheltered, we were delighted to dine that night (and the next one) on tasty home-cooked food, with our interesting and gracious hosts!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly IA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were struggling to find a b&b for our overnight while driving through the southern center of France. After 4 towns & not having any success, we inquired at a restaurant in Montblanc. The gracious hostess connected us with Carole Tidswell, the owner of the only b&b. After a few wrong turns with the crazy maze of one-way streets, we found her home! Our small suite, named the Poppy for its red hallway & decor, was on the second floor. We had a comfy queen bed, a large bath with a good shower/tub, & a separate toilet room, plus a little balcony overlooking the gardens. The room & villa was pleasantly decorated with original art works. Carol & Tony were wonderful hosts who made you feel a part of the family. Our breakfast was served in the garden & was casual with lots of interesting conversation. We enjoyed our first night so much, we asked about staying a second, which we were able to do. There was also free use of a washing machine which was timely for altering the mass of dirty laundry in our suitcases. (The laundry dried quickly in the warm sunshine on the outdoor lines.) We found our stay with the Tidwells to be very pleasant & fun. We enjoyed sipping a local wine with them as we visited in their gardens after our day of sightseeing. Carole even brought out pizza to share with her guests as we enjoyed the company of other guests & our hosts. It's difficult to find overnight facilities in this area as the French have rules against signage. No wonder we were having problems! The Tidwells are British & have lived in France for more than 16 years, so it was good to have hosts who easily understood us & we didn't have to struggle with our limited French vocabulary. The Villa Roquette was a great find as we meandered our way across the South of France. We highly recommend you find this little town & friendly hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Wonderful accommodation and ideally located with easy access to the coast and many places of interest. Excellent hosts too - friendly and welcoming whilst still allowing guests space to do their own thing! Spacious rooms, comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. Parking also no problem. A couple of excellent restuarants very nearby - but also good food available on site! Carole is an excellent cook! Only 10-15 minutes drive takes you into Pezenas which has a wealth of shops bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Villa Roquette in mid March staying in the Rose apartment. Our apartment was an ideal base for touring and discovering the area, was comfortable and peaceful, equipped with everything we could need including an exceptionally comfortable bed and excellent shower!
Tony and Carole were superb hosts and we greatly appreciated their company and sharing their extensive local knowledge which was so freely given.
The atmosphere at Villa Roquette is congenial and relaxed offering the opportunity for privacy or pleasant conversation and a glass of wine with other guests and Tony and Carole as desired.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and plan to return very soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Although a regular visitor to the Pezenas area, this was the first time I have stayed as a guest in a bed and breakfast in the Languedoc. And what a first visit. Villa Roquette is a lovely chambres d'hotes in a typical French maison de village with gardens and a swimming pool. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and have been well thought out in order to cater for individuals through to large families, as well as being available as self-contained apartments. Tony and Carole are the perfect hosts and willing and able to respond to any request or question whether about your stay, the Languedoc, the internet and general knowledge quizzes! The village of Montblanc is the perfect location for visiting Pezenas, Beziers, Cap d'Agde and the surrounding areas as well as giving easy access to the rest of the beautiful Languedoc. I was only able to stay two nights but I will be back to see them very soon, whether it be for bed and breakfast or coffee with friends!
Thanks again, Carole and Tony.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband, his mother, and I stayed at Villa Roquette last June/early July in the Rose Apartment. We did need a car to get around to bigger towns and beaches, but there was a bakery and small grocery store within walking distance. The apartment was very comfortable and clean. We really enjoyed travelling to nearby markets and historical sites, like the Pont du Gard and Colisseum in Nimes. If we ever return to the area, we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Roquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Roquette

Address: 146 Rue De La Republique, 34290 Montblanc, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montblanc
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montblanc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B, Guest House - in the center of Herault in the region of Languedoc and the main towns of Agde, Beziers and Pezenas - close to the Mediterranean sea, the mountains of the Herault National Park, lakes and many historic destinations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Roquette France/Montblanc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Roquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Roquette to your Saves list