We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Priory Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Priory Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
High Street, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caerleon
solihull
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Sat outside in the lovely garden and enjoyed choosing our food from a display inside. Both had fish for starters and mains! Surprised we had to pay extra for a bowl of salad as no veg were included. Service was fine and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    73
    43
    22
    21
See reviews for
40
68
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have visited the Priory for many years with my daughter and have at all times found the staff most obliging and friendly. Both restaurant staff and bar staff cannot do enough to please and make ones visit so pleasurable.
Food is always good, with a daily varied menu displayed near the chill counter.
To me though, the wow factor goes to the tremendous team who make our visits so memorable.
My ninety two year old ex mother in law will eat nowhere else.!
Indeed a testimony to the atmosphere and care given by the staff.
Well done and many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Priory Restaurant u have to see to believe the fresh fish and salads laid out is quite amazing
we were going round the Roman ruins and we called in the Priory for a welcome drink and decided to eat there The waiter was a little ignorant but maybe because he was not British that we felt the torn of his voice was excusable The food was very nice but the drinks we thought was a bit over priced Would return for the food again but I think the staff need a bit of training in how to welcome people

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice hotel with charm in the countryside. Have been to eat here several times over the years and the food and service have always been top notch, with a view to staying at the adjoining hotel given the opportunity. Well the opportunity presented itself during the July heatwave. We always complain about the weather in Canada, because of the extremes and this was no different. It was an unusually hot day (week) and this country hotel has no AC. The did have fans for their guest which was good news. The pigeons woke me up at about 05:00 AM. Was that a bad experience? No, it only added to the charm and character of the visit.

Room Tip: On a hot July day - try and get a room with two windows so that you can take advantage of the breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I went to the priory today with the intention of catching up with many fiends. Amongst us was mummy's and 6 children. After sitting in the garden, which is a beautiful setting, we went to the bar to order some drinks. I was met at the the bar to what can only be described as the most ignorant, unhelpful excuse for a barman, I believe his name was Juan. I cannot believe that this man is employed in a hotel / bar that prides itself on high quality service. I would not employ this man to tend to animals!

Eventually we got our drinks, and gave the inexcusable barman a massive by ball. We then asked to look at the food menu, to which, unbelievably, I was told I would have to get of my backside and go inside to look at the menu that was nailed to the wall. Incredible! Being that there was over 10 people at our table we all ordered food at different time, to which the waiters we extremely rude about as it didn't suit what they wanted (there was probably 15 people in the whole restaurant). It really was incredible!

There is not enough room to complete my review, so to sum up, we had a horrendous experience at this hotel!
I am happy to reply to an comments, please PM me.
kind regards, a very dissatisfied customer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and myself were given a voucher to have a meal here as a present, so we deceided to go the whole hog and booked a room as well. We had been here before a few years ago but never stayed the night. It was beautiful then, festooned in flowers but this time when we drove in there wasn't a flower in sight no hanging baskets or patio tubs nothing, so that was the first disappointment. Then when we went for our meal, they didin't have a few things that were on the menu (disappointment number 2) so I decided to have the chicken which was called Chicken Barbados, they described it to me as chicken in a curry like sauce with chips £14.95. When I asked for side salad I was informed that would be an extra £2.45 and any vegetables were £3.95 (disappointment number 3). I don't mind paying but hate being ripped off so I refused the extras which just left me with a chicken in curry sauce and chips that cost £15 all because they had poshed it up and called it "Chicken Barbados", and likewise my husband had the steak with just chips. I really don't think it is asking too much for a bit of side salad or just peas to go with the meal. When we retired to our room which was very clean,there was disappointment number 4, the bed was so uncomfortable, the mattress was hard and made so much noise it was like an organ playing each time we turned over. On a much better note, the breakfast was really nice I couldn't fault it and all the staff were very helpful. But the reason we came, to have a meal and stay the night, well it's nil points I'm afraid, wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't bother going
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester (via boro)
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Firstly Caerleon is build on an a roman legionary fortress, lots to see ... The Priory is in the middle of town and its a hidden spanish retreat. Its a well run hotel and resturant, clean and tidy and a good 3 star. Food is generally good, welcoming staff, spanish music playing and my favourate barman (no names but older chap with glasses, does late shift, likes his golf !). Rooms are tidy and always clean and staff always helpful ... my third visit to play golf in the area. Plenty of parking and good value, i will be back.

Room Tip: if there is a group of 4-5 wanting rooms together ask for the priory cottage, 100 yds from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Priory Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel & Restaurant

Address: High Street, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caerleon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Priory is nestled within the historic town of Caerleon on the River Usk. Dating back to 1180 and starting life as a Cistercian Monastery, it later became a Nunnery, private residence and since 1996, this beautiful building and its secluded grounds have been home to the Priory Hotel and Restaurant. We want your stay with us to be relaxing, enjoyable and focused on fantastic food. The Priory is the perfect setting to unwind, enjoy the best of locally sourced cuisine, and have a truly memorable stay in the historic town of Caerleon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Hotel And Restaurant
Priory Hotel Newport
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant Caerleon, UK - Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Priory Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.