We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house and wonderfully warm welcome - four and a half stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pendragon House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caerleon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pendragon House B&B
Save
You added Pendragon House B&B to your Saves list
18 Cross Street, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Caerleon B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely house and wonderfully warm welcome - four and a half stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Pendragon House is located in the very centre of Caerleon. As noted by some other reviewers, the one-way road system of Caerleon made finding the B&B a little difficult - the trick is to look for the Olde Bull Inn's car park, then walk around the corner to the B&B. You will receive an incredibly warm welcome from Kathryn - a warmth that continued throughout our stay. Although distracted by family activities (we stayed on the weekend of her daughter's birthday), Kath's friendly helpfulness never wavered.

The rooms (we stayed in rooms 1 and 2) were not huge, but were spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms were lovely, with decent hot showers and lovely toiletries. However, our rooms faced the street, which proved to be quite noisy on weekends. We were disturbed by people leaving the pub and restaurant opposite. Sticking doors (the bane of old houses!) meant we were also woken by other guests returning to their rooms.

The cooked breakfast was plentiful and tasty, although we were a little disappointed by the continental selection. We had been spoiled at other B&Bs with yogurt and stewed fruit or fruit salad for breakfast, and did miss having those. A small matter, though. Kath catered well for our son's lactose intolerance.

I wish that I could give Pendragon House four and a half stars. While we could not fault Kath as a host (she really is quite wonderful), and the house and rooms are lovely, a couple of little issues did mean that our stay was not absolutely perfect. However, these would not prevent us from wanting to return, or from recommending Pendragon House to others.

Room Tip: The room at the back might be a better bet on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
40
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Best omelette and *award-winning sausages I've ever had. Not only a convenient location in a lovely little but large on history and scenery, this B&B is spotless and sooooo comfortable. And to be greeted and taken care of by the lovely Kathryn (Auntie Kath!) and her husband beat, you are made to feel like royalty.
Plus, they are well informed about the town and local surroundings.
A definite highlight of my trip, and I will most definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Only if you struggle with steps, ask for the first floor room (which also might be a bit quieter, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A lovely place and you will never be as well looked after as with Kath and Pete. Location wise its a good base to use for so many sights or business. You have Newport and Cardiff close by but to visit the Gower peninsula or up into the Brecon Beacons is easy from here as well. Just off the motorway but in a wonderful little town so not busy and yet close to amenities

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A colleague and I stayed here whilst attending a conference at Celtic Manor and it was a real treat. Kath made us extremely welcome and the rooms and breakfast were of first quality. So simple to arrange a cab to ferry us there and back and an infinitely more pleasant experience than staying at the nearby Holiday Inn / Hilton!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Now I have to to be upfront and say we knew Kath and Pete before visiting their wonderful B & B. We were neighbours in Surrey before they moved to a TOTALLY new venture in Wales.
It took us a couple of years to organise ourselves( ?!) but we made it to Caerleon this September.The main emphasis of the trip was for my brother to have a couple of rounds at the Celtic Manor course. That worked out really well and the staff were really helpful and accommodating.
Now our stay at Pendragon....... Well it was just lovely and homely and welcoming and cosy and fresh and .......... The bedrooms had everything you might hope for but couldn't expect and delightful finishing touches. The bed and linen was sumptuous and sooo... comfortable.
Kath cooked us delicious breakfasts each morning from an extensive choice of dishes..... The omelette is a must....and you can choose whatever you want to go in or with it! In a handful of years Kath and Pete have made an enviable and welcoming 'home from home'. It was just a very very special place to stay!
Now the other great thing is that this little gem is set right in the heart of a rather special town which is steeped in history and it's all on the doorstep, so once you've parked up you don't have to get in a car again until you leave.Stunning excavated Roman ruins, cosy restaurants, numerous hostelries and unrivalled scenery make this a 'must visit' destination.Put it on your list and stay at Pendragon to be pampered!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I are celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary by touring great homes and castles in the UK. We decided that South Wales would be a nice stopping point on the way up from the south to Portmeirion, and noting the uniformly superior reviews registered here for Pendragon, we made our reservations for a night.

Usually any B&B, or for that matter ANY site rated at Tripadvisor, has a scattering of negative reviews. Now having spent a night at Pendragon, we can see why it would be almost impossible to rate it as anything less than five out of five.

We did have trouble finding it, the secret amongst the one way roads in Caerleon is to turn right off of High Street into Cross Street, and look carefully for the relatively small sign that hangs out in front of the Pendragon, about three doors down on the right...then, as Cross Street is narrow, get your car onto the left curb, knock on the door at Pendragon, and a very cheerful woman, Kathryn, will enthusiastically help you unload your luggage...after which we found the trick was to then go backwards (watching for oncoming traffic), back onto High Street, drive a few yards, and to the right we parked at the Roman ruins parking lot...Kathryn provides a small placard to stick on the front dashboard to prove you are parking there legitimately!

Of the three rooms, we were in room number three, which had the most amazing bright light in a B&B we have ever encountered, perfect for reading. It was up some stairs, but Kathryn managed to get our bags up to the room for us. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom had ample shelf space, nice walk in shower with water as hot as one could wish for, adequate power. Cross Street is pretty quiet at night, so we slept with our window open. There are plenty of power outlets for charging electronic toys.

As were there on a Sunday night, with some restaurants closed, she suggested the Hanbury Arms for dinner, a quick two minute walk toward the river...a separate review has been posted, it met our needs perfectly.

Others have favorably commented upon the breakfasts...we opted for orange juice, porridge, fried (wife) and scrambled (me) eggs on toast, nice potent cups of coffee, and soon we were on our way north, quite well sated.

Bottom line, we had a perfect night here, and gladly join the chorus of others who have highly rated Pendragon House as a great B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

What an excellent B&B experience! Beautiful and charming room, very clean bathroom, lovely bed and linens, everything we needed. And the breakfast, oh my! What a treat. The town itself is lovely, lots of restaurants in the evening (we had dinner at the Phoenix and enjoyed it). All in all a great experience. We were only able to stay one night and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had room 3 on the street side but perfectly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pendragon House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendragon House B&B

Address: 18 Cross Street, Caerleon, Newport NP18 1AF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport > Caerleon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Caerleon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pendragon House is Georgian Grade II Listed house in the heart of Caerleon village in South Wales. A warm Welsh welcome is assured, whether you are visiting relatives or simply exploring this historic area. Close to all local amenities, golf courses and historic attractions. All our double and twin rooms have en-suite facilities offering elegant and luxurious accommodation for all the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pendragon House B&B Caerleon, UK - Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendragon House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.