We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Breton experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Blanche Hermine

La Blanche Hermine
1, place Charles de Gaulle, 29 190 Pleyben, France
02 98 26 61 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Pleyben
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The Breton experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely Breton tavern, serving typical homely food - we ate indoors, because the aroma was tantalisingly good, even though we could have sat outside because of the lovely weather. We had the most succulent pork served with tiny 'matchstick' courgettes and carrots. The meals here need to be eaten leisurely and savoured - so don't be in a rush! We always stop here on our way back to Roscoff, as the route takes us across French 'Dartmoor'! The little town of Pleyben is charming, the very grand and ornate church is a 'must visit' (the tavern is right opposite). The staff are very friendly and helpful, and there is a nice atmosphere about the place. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Traditional Breton cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is a very traditional Breton cuisine, where you can expect really "heavy" food. They have a starter platter with different charcuterie and sausages giving you a good overview as well as different traditional breton dishes, lots of pork, but also daily specials, which are good, but also on the heavy front. They also have a huge selection of beers. Atmosphere is nice, so really a great place for some local traditional food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eat and Drink Breton!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed dinner here on a Monday evening recently. Dinner was good and hearty Breton fare - I had chicken cooked in mead, while my husband had a bowl of ham, blood sausage, and cabbage (if you have not tried boudin noir, it's great!). We washed everything down with some really good locally-brewed Breton beers that our host recommended.

The restaurant was easy to find and there is a nice view of the parish close across the street as well.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful tavern serving traditional local food from the region.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This restaurant is situated in a lovely spot in Pleyben, right opposite the ornate church across the road. There is seating both outside and inside. We sat inside. The menu is really interesting and there was plenty of wine to choose from, served by the glass or bottle. There is also a German and English version for guests. We opted for local dishes - all served in rustical earthenware pots, big portions and very very tasty. We were too full for dessert. The prices were very reasonable and the service was friendly and efficient. This would be a regular place I'd visit if I lived in the area. Well worth a stop if you're travelling the Finistere region.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Blanche Hermine also viewed

 
Pleyben, Finistere
 

Been to La Blanche Hermine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Blanche Hermine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.