We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful spot with heart, soul and warm hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam

Save Saved
You added The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   126/9 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach,, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Taling Ngam
Point Reyes Station, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot with heart, soul and warm hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Sunset Beach Resort & Spa may be out of the way, with a very modest beach, yet it offers a restful retreat, especially if remoteness is considered a plus. I 'd reserved a two-night splurge at a newly opened, pricey 5 star resort, yet to me it lacked an inviting atmosphere, taste, value. By comparison, Sunset Beach Resort was a breathe of fresh air. I love this place. Pluses for me: Scale/size - it's small, with a comfortable roomy feel. Ambiance/People: The welcome by staff is warm and continues throughout with sincere good service, friendliness. I also appreciated the composition of guests, international, mostly couples, small families (several well behaved children). Food/Drink: Restaurant is casual, comfortable with very good food (never made it past the tasty Thai dishes) and the happy hour drink specials are a treat. Spa/Ammenities: Resort had spa specials and I enjoyed a WONDERFUL massage. The pool is large enough for laps and nice to sit around. Special Touches: The rooms had fresh flowers, fruit, flower petals on turned down beds. Word of my birthday was out and along with cupcakes/candles at lunch, at the end of the day roses and a peronalized cake appeared in my room. Rooms: I looked at the garden and deluxe/superior. Both were very nice and I opted for the deluxe/superior. It was spotless, with a comfortable large bed, oversized jacuzzi tub, roomy open shower, nice small deck, polished wooden floors, tasteful simple decor, comfortable temperature, subtle air conditioner. The room was about 1/3 of the price of the high end resort and not only did I prefer the comfortable feel of this room, the relative cost/value was a treat. Due to weather I passed on an excursion to the Marine Park, instead enjoying a relaxing 2 nights/days at Sunset Beach before continuing on to Kao Tao. I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: I liked my room - # 1 level 2 (reception area level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for the uplifting review! It was a great pleasure to have you here, with your laid back style and happy attitude! We wish you the best and looking forward to see you again in the near future!
Kind regards,
Henrik & all of the staffmembers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    59
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
149
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights before heading forward to Chaweng. Three words: everything was perfect.
Clean and well-maintained room with all the amenities you could possibly ask for. Kind and service-oriented staff, the scent of the Jasmine flower everywhere, spacious pool, sunset by the beach, massage on the beach, etc. It's a perfect, serene and romantic get-away.
However, if you're looking for wild parties and Khao-San-Road-like-markets, this is not the place. We rented a scooter from the hotel (250THB/day) and rode to Nathon, Lamai beach, and the nearby surroundings. That's how we explored that part of the island.
When going back to Koh Samui (whenever that'll be,) we'll definitely stay at the Sunset beach resort again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa and sharing your comments with other guest’s. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, our romantic location and the genuine hospitality of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back next time!
The team at The Sunset Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed a couple of days at Lamai Beach before swapping hotels and beach to the Sunset Beach Resort at Taling Ngam.

Before we stayed at a rather budget accommodation so we wanted to pamper ourselves over the last days of our holiday. We didn't know how remote Taling Ngam was and quickly realized that if we don't want to hire a car there is not much you can do by foot around the area.

The welcome was very friendly and the staff in general was very helpful and super polite to all the time.

Our room was a "Sunset Jacuzzi Room" with lovely traditional Thai interior design a huge bed with sea view and a balcony. The only thing I never understood is why some rooms don't have proper doors to the toilet but that is just a minor setback.

The complex is nicely setup in elegant light colors. Everything is clean and has a calming atmosphere to it. The pool is salt water and great to swim labs even that due to the water temperature it doesn't really give you that refreshing feel.

The beach in Taling Ngam is fairly narrow and not as beautiful as other beaches on Samui. There were also some rocks in the water which made a cool down a bit more tricky.

Culinary we were really pleased as the breakfast selection was big with several freshly pressed juices to chose from, variations of eggs, waffles and cold cuts. The restaurant had some great dishes, like the Tuna Steak and a Coconut Rice to die for. This proofed very important as besides some few other hotels there were no restaurants close by or in walking distance. They also offer romantic dinners at the beach which seemed a bit setup on the narrow piece of sand and other guests still lying on the chairs next to the eating couples so we didn't go for it.

Also appreciated was the cocktail happy hour at sunset which we often made use of during our stay. Delicious.

Overall this is a great clean hotel with friendly staff and restaurants that offer delicious and fresh food as well as great sundowner drinks to a higher price level. Only downside is the beach really.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

It was nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you warmheartedly for the good feedback about the restaurant and staff.
Regarding the beach I actually haven't heard any complains before, quite the opposite. Please also keep in mind this is the only part of the island, this time of year, that is calm without high waves.
Look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
The Sunset Beach Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Not located around the busy part of Samui but that is what adds to the beauty of it. Swift service, good room (we stayed in their jacuzzi suite) with a breathtaking view. A lovely pool area and the best is the evening arrangement for dinner by the sea side. Elaborate breakfast. Food is expensive but the taste makes you forget that. Staff is warm and helpful. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Must stay here for atleast a week, take a scooty to see the town and do not take the speed boat ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending the resort to future visitors. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the overall stay with us, like the dinning at the sea side, and hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Henrik&Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were relocated from Elements Boutique Resort, as they had problems with their guest rooms. So this Sunset Beach resort was not originally intended as our holiday in Koh Samui but we were so pleased we had the opportunity to stay in this resort.

Overall décor and design looked outdated, but clean and functional.
Room was spacious and clean, swimming pool was big (30m length), fantastic private beach (though the sea itself was not crystal clear to swim, the beach was lovely), great place to watch the Sunset, very polite and attending staffs. They even make the room twice a day!

We absolutely loved the breakfast buffet, which consisted of many fresh fruit juices, smoothie, lots of tropical fruit, homemade bread, homemade jams, and a lot. I am still missing them back home….

It is true that this is a remote area and no shops are around, but we preferred it for the quiet and relaxing holiday.

There was a nice local restaurant just 3 minutes away where we could see the beautiful sunset with drinks followed by dinner.
The restaurant at the hotel was rather expensive, tourist price.

The only small problem was that sometimes they did not understand English much, and some orders at the restaurant and breakfast got wrong. But it is just minor issue, in comparison to how they care for details.

We would like to come back if we have chance in future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you wholeheartedly for a very wonderful review. It was a great pleasure for all of us to have you here. Rest-assured that we will make more extra ordinary service for all our guests in the future. We hope to welcome you again to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I am currently staying here..my last of seven nights. This hotel is lovely and it has the Thai charm and the Swiss perfectionism( even though you are definitely on "island time") We have a lovely beach villa complete with plunge pool/jacuzzi and separate " Thai Sala". Yes, the bathrooms are outside and I must say the BEST hot showers ever! There is nothing to do here but relax and to really unwind, especially if you came from The hustle and bustle of Bangkok. There are a few walking excursions...to local restaurants and the Intercontinental next door but not necessary . The Thai food is lovely ( we are Americans who lived in Bangkok for 8 years..in the past, so we can be quite the critic!) The Traditional Thai massage in the beach was terrific! The Thai staff will not disappoint you...their smiles , their soft and gentle nature are apparent all over this resort!
Again, I love it here but you must come prepared to relax..bring plenty of books, games, iPod, etc.
Will DEFINITELY come again!!! Thank you!

Room Tip: You must be able to appreciate the Thai people and the tropical nature of this resort. IT IS NOT a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Sawasdee khrap from the The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa! We are absolutely beside ourself with delight that you had such wonderful time here! I have already sent your lovely comments to all staff.
Welcome back any time!
Best regards from all of us at The Sunset Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 weeks in January and had a fantastic time. We knew it was fairly isolated but that’s perfect for us. We emailed the hotel prior to arrival and request a high room- they were quick to respond. We had a Sunset Jacuzzi suite on the top floor (room 10) that gave breathtaking views of the sunset from the balcony. Rooms are large enough, cleaned twice a day and the bed comfortable; the toilet is though perhaps a little intimate especially when getting used to the Thai diet! Breakfast is good and available from 0630-1100hrs. Lunch menu is varied and I loved the Caesar Salad. We did find the prices quite high and sometimes the food in the evening was only lukewarm. There are other places to eat near the hotel which are cheaper (see reviews). Henrik the manager is very personable and makes himself known to the guests. All the staff work very hard and have wonderful smiles, I remember in particular Cha in the restaurant, the beautiful Palm, M and Jaew who do the breakfast, Muay and Amp on reception, and best smile was from Nek who helps with the gardens and keeps the sand in order on the beach. The beach was great and so stress free- no having to get up early to get a beach bed, as it is a small hotel, there were always plenty as people who stayed in the Garden or Beach Villas tended to come out later. Forget snorkelling though, as although the water looks clear it is quite cloudy/dusty and the fish are small and timid. We did a boat trip from the hotel to Koh Tan and this was only a bit better. The water though is so warm. The beach is nice to walk along or take one of the kayaks, row for about 20 minutes to the left past the pier, past the 5 Islands restaurant with their green flags on the beach, past the little fishing harbour and you will find deserted coves with the most beautiful sand and utmost privacy. Alternatively take one of the hotel bicycles and the 7/11 is only 15 minutes if you head left out of the hotel, if you go right you will come across a temple with a mummified monk- just leave a donation. We didn’t hire a moped, we saw plenty of skin injuries as a result of accidents, mostly white tourists who haven’t ridden before. The legal age in Thailand to ride is 14, but we saw younger riders and as many as 5 people on 1 moped. We both ride considerably bigger bikes in the UK but just couldn’t risk getting injured. The hotel does do a 100 baht shuttle to Lamai and Nathon, but you have to pay considerably more to get back. It is possible to hire a taxi for 500 baht an hour and do a tour of the whole island. There is free wifi and a computer for guest use. Happy hour for drinks was the same time as the sunset 1700-1830hrs, and the Spa was from 1000-1400hrs I would recommend reflexology and head massage which was good hour and 500 baht..

I’ve given the hotel 5 stars because the staff and service was exceptional and the experience was a great introduction to Thailand, its lovely people and laid back way of life. It was the perfect R and R that we needed from our stressful jobs. My only tips would be take plenty of mosquito spray and a high factor sun cream.

Room Tip: Top floor Sunset Jacuzzi was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSBR, General Manager at The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Long Stay Guest, We appreciate you taking the time and writing a comprehensive review. I will pass on all the comments to the staff, so they will be part of this to. Your many reviews, and staying with us for such a long time as three weeks, make us feel very pleased that we exceeded your expectations! I hope comming back to Cornwall was pleasant. We have bought in some mosquito spray and plenty a high factor sun cream for your next visit.
Henrik&Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam

Address: 126/9 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach,, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Taling Ngam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique resort and spa located directly on the beach front commanding spectacular views of the Koh Samui coast and nearby islands, Sunset Beach Resort & Spa's superbly appointed beachfront villas and sunset rooms sit amidst our private, tranquil spa and gardens where the only sound is the gentle rhythm of the sea. The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam offers 21 uniquely decorated rooms and villas. Sunset rooms are located above reception in a two storey building. Garden villas are positioned around the swimming pool and of course the beach front villas are right by the sand and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
The Sunset Beach Resort And Spa, Taling Ngam
Ban Sabai Sunset Beach Hotel
The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam Ko Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sunset Beach Resort & Spa, Taling Ngam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.