We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb. The negative reviews can only be from Competitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   295 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb. The negative reviews can only be from Competitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We recently spent a week at this hotel in a freestanding 2 bedroom villa as a family of 4 with two young children. Our villa had a huge living area with fantastic cliffside view to the ocean, quite elevated and with a large wrap around balcony.

Unlike many big name resorts this hotel is intimate and somewhat boutique with approximately 150 rooms and villas. Its quite spread out with half the rooms in the main building and the other half as villas, mainly on the cliff, with some by the beach.

Apparently the hotel was full or close to full when we were there, but you would not have known it. Perhaps this is due to the various and spectacular public spaces so you never felt you needed to compete for a pool lounge, or make a booking etc. It never felt busy and it was never noisy.

There were still some renovation works being undertaken to a few villas up the hill from us, however this was well contained and did not produce any noise that we were aware of.

The day spa was temporarily located in nearby villa whilst the actual was being completed.
The gym was well equipped and had a prime view over the beach.

We had a club package which was unique and had some great inclusions including mini bar in the room (everything in the fridge) and one load of laundry (yes you could unload your entire suitcase and return home with it all clean if you had wanted).

Wi-Fi was free throughout the resort and of decent quality.

The food in the resort was very good and service excellent. Always very friendly and prompt.

The resort is located some 30 – 40minutes from the main tourist town of Chaweng. We spent one day there and that was more than you need. The remote location of this resort is a massive plus not detraction!

The view from the lobby and the Air bar was breathtaking, as was the infinity pool off the lobby.

There were several pools around the resort and one directly out front of our villa. We spent most of our time at the large pool by the beach which had great lounges, and a bar. The pool itself is well designed with a variety of areas including shallow sections for the kids to play, equipped with pool toys. The staff by the pool were very friendly and attentive.

Prior to arrival I had read some of the negative reviews which concerned me as we are fussy travellers. Our experience was only positive so I can only assume people associated with the competitor hotels must have written these.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear hdjrev

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort for your recent holiday in Koh Samui. We are delighted to read your exceptional review about the resort and we greatly appreciate that you fully enjoyed the elevated level of hospitality provided by the Club InterContinental benefits. Our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to the island soon.

Kind regards
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    144
    43
    22
    17
See reviews for
173
269
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Likes about this hotel:
- Nice, beautiful and well designed hotel.
- complete facilities with gym, many swimming pools, 2 restaurants; air bar; recreation center, kids club, bicycles;
- since this is a newly renovated hotel, all the hardware/equipment/facilities was new;
- the view was beautiful from the lobby and from the room ;
- Good food and good breakfast;
- Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa: Rooms are nicely decorated, bathroom feels luxurious, although a bit small; The TV was nice and big, and they had bose sound system.
- my previous stay in samui was at the Shasa which had bigger rooms, but less facilities than the Intercon
- There was wifi in the rooms, although it didn't always work;
- there are many swimming pools you can choose from. We stayed in a villa, so there was a seperate pool for the guests in the villas;
- there is also a nice library and from where you can rent DVDs;
- there are many activities you can do at the beach club namely, kayaking, hobbie cat, snorkling, boat ride etc..;
- sleep quality was wonderful

Dislikes or what the hotel could do to improve:
- there was no turn down service;
- service was average although the staff are friendly. They seem to be under staffed. We had to wait 30 minutes for check in; Also we tried to call concierge many times from the villa, but no one ever picked up the phone.
- the hotel is on a hill, so you either had to walk up and down the stairs/hill all the time, or wait for a buggy to transport you to the beach/lobby/restaurant.
- the beach is a bit rocky, so you can't really swim in the sea unless the tide is high.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Profiterole

Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had an overall wonderful experience. I have noted the points where we need to work on from your feedback and rest assured that I have already addressed these points with the concerned departmental teams.

Please feel free to contact me at arnaud.girodon@ihg.com if I can be of any assistance, and I look forward to welcoming you back to your “Home on Beautiful Cliff” soon.

Best regards
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Awesome rooms and hotel. Views are to die for. Definitely going to come back one day
The prospect if walking from the room to beach is daunting but it isn't so hard.
The Air Bar is a wonderful spot to watch the sunset. Great venue. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Davefromdownunder

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay at our iconic resort. It was pleasing to read that you have enjoyed the concept of the resort, service and certainly the views. We strive to make all of our guests stays memorable and we are delighted to hear that you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have a chance to return to visit Baan Taling Ngam which now become Intercontinental Hotel. No enough words to explain about the view and hotel set up, no other place in the the island to compare. Let see some feedback for my last visit Baan Taling Ngam Hotel

Plus :
* One of the best view hotel in the island
* New refurbishment, new product
* New restaurant set up with wonderful atmosphere top of the view
* Great service, personal touch, smile, nature, sincere and polite
* Nice beach restaurant with sunset bar step to the beach (The Frames)
* Big beach with clean, soft and white sand.
* Top hill restaurant and bar is the best. You can have dinner and move to the bard for
couple of drink before going to bed. This is the best area for evening drink.
Live DJ will entertain you with varieties of chilled out music (The Amber & Bar)
* Great view point during walking through the bridge from beach to the main lobby

Equal :
* Taste of some Thai Food is good but not wow. (For Thais & Asian)
* Price, as this is one of best 5 five stars hotel
* Far from the most night life places of the island

For additional information, there are two places for your dining with lower cost but great food around the area. The Sunset Hotel next to The Frame restaurant and one nice restaurant by the beach call "The Five Islands" which can walk from the hotel down to the beach (if you want to exercise)

Overall, I highly recommend the hotel for your holiday or have a chance for dining at this wonderful place.This place is the best place to host you customer who never come to Koh Samui. Thank you for Lek, Pen, Bow who provide a great service during our visit and dining in the restaurant. We have a great time dining at Baan Taling Ngam.

We will come back and of course we highly recommend this hotel for holiday and dining place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear JBJB1967

Thank you for your second visit and for sharing your wonderful holiday and dining experience here at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort. I am delighted to see that you had wonderful time with us and our colleagues have contributed a lot on it.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the island for the third time in the very near future.

Sincerely yours
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My girlfriend and i simply enjoyed indulging in this Spectacular Resort for 7-nights. Arriving late in the night from Singapore and the Resort Host is more anxious awaiting for us than we do. I strongly recommend you arranging your airport pickup with the resort; the local METER TAXI is a rip-off and drive restlessly.

40 minutes later we arrived the Resort's Lobby; calm and peaceful atmosphere. Receptionist is already awaiting you to check you in promptly. Cold towel and that tasty welcome drink washed away your tireness. Well-oriented by the resort Host again; they are all multi-task personnel. hahaha. We were shown various area and facilities before heading to our room - stunning ocean view Suite Room. The room and amenity is so beautiful and comfortable we have add into our wish list this coming Xmas.

The Resort offers a pillow menu allowing you to choose your preferred pillow. The bathroom is as big as our HDB master bedroom. The IT gadget work perfectly; big Samsung LCD TV, BOSE sound system, iPhone docking station & radio, Blue-ray DVD player. Don't bother getting the power adaptor along this trip as the rooms has built-in international power pulp on the war. The bathroom amenities are also extensive; we get so addicted we bought their bathroom amenities home!

In the morning, we were welcome first by the stunning ocean view and we enjoy our 1st cup coffee at our room balcony. IT'S SO BEAUTIFUL. we are just speechless and we have it recorded in our camera. The room is always turn down on time, tidy before you are back to your room and never being bother while you resting. They have a big jacuzzi bathtub with stunning ocean view awaiting you in the bathroom! The room also have automated coffee maker with really good coffee variety (Complimentary). Unlike other resorts, the resort allow you to have many drinking water as you want.

Amber and Flames are our next addiction over the next few days and nights; extensive breakfast spread and delicious food. The crew are so friendly that you feel them like friends; Ball, Kong, Pom, New, Jiew, Lew, Kwan, Kwang, Stephane, Arnaud, David, etc. This list just went on. They can remember your name and will address you by name and your preference. They will always assist you with your food and the kitchen will go beyond to cater your taste bud. The breakfast coffee really tasty and fresh. I like the see thru wine cellar; the pricing are reasonable.

The pools .... they have many pools and we managed to explore till 5 out of 7. each with its unique style and comfort. The staffs will welcome you with cold towels and refilled your iced water always during the day at the pool making your experience even better.

Resort offers scuttle bus service daily to the city. they never missed the customer!

Also did a scuba diving course; Nemo is very helpful getting us the preferred learning agency and price package. Yes....we are now PADI certified.

We also did a Thai cooking class in the resort and is very enjoyable. Waiting to be certify!

The Gym is well-equipped and well maintained with a nice ocean view in front of you while working out in the gym. Also have various recreational activity complimentary daily to the hotel guests.

The beach is clean but not advisable to swim along there because of the eco-friendly matter - save the coral!

Also long heard the resort award winning Spa, we did a try and it is really GOOD!

Thank you and we shall be back.

Room Tip: ask for #211 or #209.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Sarrono

Thank you very much for posting such a fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I enjoyed reading it and sharing your review with our team; and it gives a thorough overview about our unique property to the future guests who would like to visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the resort in the very near future.

Best regards
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Spent 4 nights and stayed at the Ocean View Suite. Lovely room, can't complaint! Best view of in the hotel, perfect sunset view! There are two locations for the Ocean View Suite, one is at the Cliff and the other in the main building. At the cliff is more private, but yet very convenient to go around the hotel with their buggy service; the other is at the main buidling. Personally I like the suite in the main building.

Lovely staff, again, can't complaint! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear bigbigeye

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a short & sweet review about your holiday experience at InterContinental Samui. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the Ocean View Suite. I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort for longer stay soon! Many thanks for sharing the photos, they look fantastic!

Warm regards
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My family and I have just spent a week at Intercontinental Samui staying in a 2 bedroom villa and taking the Club Intercontinental package. My wife booked this holiday and I must say at first I was a bit skeptical about an Intercontinental Resort in it's soft opening phase, having generally found some of their business hotels relatively average compared to alternatives.

I am a total convert now though - this is a beautiful property, in a quiet, secluded part of the island with fantastic staff, great food and all the amenities one would expect from a world class resort. Add to this the stunning views and I don't think one could go wrong in selecting this resort. Not only were we impressed from the moment we made our reservations, thanks to Khun Jarunee who is a true asset to the property, but she is one of the most patient and polite people that I have ever come across!

As mentioned we took the Club Intercontinental package which I think is a top class product offering a much higher standard of service than one typically associated with hotel "clubs". Firstly, the butler service comprises a dedicated butler who is always checking in and helping with everything. Our butler Nicky was an exceptional young man who befriended our 2 boys so fast, we barely saw them for the entire week. They were very well looked after, which meant that we had nothing to worry about but fully unwind and relax!

Despite being in it's soft opening phase, we had an absolutely fantastic week without a single hiccup.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear RRRR

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful family holiday at InterContinental Samui. The Club Intercontinental package is indeed a fantastic value-add and we are very pleased to see our guest enjoy the elevated level of hospitality. Thank you as well for mentioning the names of our colleagues that made your stay extra special, we have celebrated this recognition with them.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Samui Island soon.

Best regards
Arnaud Girodon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort

Address: 295 Moo 3, Taling Ngam Beach, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taling Ngam
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taling Ngam
#3 Spa Hotel in Taling Ngam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam is renowned for its legendary status as Koh Samui’s first ever luxury resort. Nestled on a dramatic cliff of Taling Ngam, with spectacular views over the bay and the neighboring Five Islands. The resort features chic and innovative dining, seven swimming pools, 79 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas including the iconic Beachfront Pool Villas. Baan Thai Spa and the famed Air Bar complete the picture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Taling Ngam Resort And Spa
Baan Taling Ngam Hotel Taling Ngam
Hotel Baan Taling Ngam
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort Ko Samui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.