We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top fishing at Top Cats in Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TopCats Fresh Water Fishing Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taling Ngam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TopCats Fresh Water Fishing Resort
Save
You added TopCats Fresh Water Fishing Resort to your Saves list
100/1 Moo1, Ban Taling Ngam, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Taling Ngam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top fishing at Top Cats in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Big thank you to everyone at Top Cats for a great 3 day break. My partner loved the use of your pool while I was busy lake side. I went for th ebig carp and was not disapointed at all. Duke said 3 in a day would be a good day.. We got 5 in one day and 8 in total over 2.5 days fishing.. One of them hit the 100lb mark which made my guide Duke even more happy than me I think as he lifted me up in the water and threw me over his head in celebration. Big shout out to him especially as he was the best guide I have ever had. Had 5 Mekong cats (1 was over 150lb), 4 Redtails (1 over 120lb), couple of Pacu, and 1 Aliligator Gar.. Missed endless Aripima bites, tricky so and so's..

Only problem I had with Top Cats fishery is I will now never be able to feel the same way about fishing in England.. A double figure carp will never measure up to the experience of Samui. :-)

The new bungalow's are nice inside and the air con units are probably the quietest I have ever had th epleasure of sleeping with. My partner very much appreciated that :-)

Would deffinately recomend a visit to anyone who likes fishing or even wants to try for the first time.

Room Tip: The boats look nice, but would recomend the bungalow's for slightly more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I went here for my 40th birthday in May 2012 with some friends and my brothers, and wow what a place , we will most certainly be going back at some point.
The fishing was out of this world by a mile , helped by the best guides i have ever come across, Duke in Particular was an absolute Legend, Thankyou for that.
I have been fishing for approx 30 years and to go to a lake and catch 10 different species of fish in one place was a first for me, the fish are of an extrordinary standard and looked after very very well.
The photos i have will stay with me forever as possibly the best trip i have ever been on and posssibly the best trip i will ever go on.
the fish we caught included
Mekong catfish, Redtail Catfish, Asian Redtails, Yellow Pacu Phiranha, Black Phiranha, Siamese Carp, Asian Carp, Arapiema ,Alligator Gar , Snakeheads, wallagoo Catfish
but there are actually many more species in this lake that we did not catch and i will be going after next time.
From the accommodation ( boats on the lake you fish) to the service provided round the lake was outstanding with a choice of tradditional thai food to a corned beef sandwich if you prefered.
the girls who provide this service are very friendly and very funny, credit to them.
The Lady of the Lake (Bim) sorted out all of our washing for us at very little cost .
Shaun , who owns and runs the place ,your a double legend !
Really nice guy who i had the pleasure of meeting again at a fishing show back in England.
Taxi service was no problem again running us into the nearby town of Llami each night for more drinks and entertainment.
Summary = You will have the trip of a life time going here , run by the friendliest and nicest people i have had the pleasure of meeting, .
I will be coming back for sure !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamsterley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic time fishing out at TopCats, the guides were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The service from all of the staff was excellent, I can not wait to go back again! Couldn't recommend this place enough to everyone from novice to experts it has something for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I have been to Topcats 4 times and just love going back there. The staff and the guides are great and of course the fishing is as good as the weather (fabulous)
I caught some great fish, the biggest of each sprecies I caught was:
Carp 90lb
Mekong Catfish 140lb
Arapima 130lb
Red Tail Catfish 80lb
Leopoard Catfish 60lb
Alligator Gar 50lb
Havent had the oppurtunity to sample the newly built bungalows yet, so looking forward to that on a return visit.
My wife loved the peacefulness there and liked to relax and sit around the pool. The island is really easy to get around and my wife would regularly jump into the hire car and explore the island, saying how safe she felt and how friendly the people were.
CANT WAIT TO GET BACK THERE.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

just come back from a weeks fishing at topcats went last year for couple of days this time we went for a week staying on the house boat wich we loved as everything you need air con wich is a must so hot shaun and is wife will make youre stay as welcome as anywhere you will stay well back to the fishing wat can you say the best fishing you could ask for the guides are so helpefull and make the fishing so good morning fishing or afternoon till late dont matter fishing is awsome big carp redtails garr pirahna mekkon its got the lot truly awsome fishing been back a week and so much wish i was back there anyone who loves fishing should pay them a visit because you will go back time and time again we looking to go back for xmas just love the lads there and the awsome fishing thanks to shaun and all the staff for a fantastic holiday with fishing james bond and bev

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent two days fishing catching fish from 40 - 100 lbs and all varieties

Very exciting and entertaining for the very keen angeler to the novice

Staying in the boat rooms just topper it off

Great value for money entertainment

The fishing guides were amazing

Thank you

Simon & Charles

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed 3 days best 3 days i've ever had on my holidays amazing fishing 11 species,30 fish total catch weight 1120lbs.Acomm is great staying on a boat clean and comfy. Pool ideal for cooling off and the food is great will be back again for more monster fish.

Room Tip: All rooms are nearly the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TopCats Fresh Water Fishing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TopCats Fresh Water Fishing Resort

Address: 100/1 Moo1, Ban Taling Ngam, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Taling Ngam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Taling Ngam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TopCats Fishing Resort is a man made lake set in 6 Acres with backdrop coconut trees and mountins. Accomadation is in Thai Teak House Boats or Lakeside bungalows New for 2013. Fishing Tackle is provided for all guest to use whilst here and fishing guide assistance for all. We have large Bar/Resturant seating 100 and cater for European Food and Thai Food. Wedding parties and birthdays etc. can be catered for please ask. We have a swimming pool and shaded areas for you to fish from. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Top Cats Fresh Water Fishing Hotel Taling Ngam
TopCats Fresh Water Fishing Resort Ko Samui/Taling Ngam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TopCats Fresh Water Fishing Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.