We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last of old Samui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Five Islands

The Five Islands
348 Moo3 | Koh Samui, Taling Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
+66 81 920 6162
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 restaurants in Taling Ngam
Price range: $5 - $99
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Last of old Samui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Great to find this place in a quiet spot with a nice beach and view. We spent a few days here travelling an hour from our accommodation to enjoy the piece and quiet and good food. No problem with the service and food was of good quality.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    116
    77
    32
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

So disappointing to be writing this review, the venue overlooking the ocean is outstanding, as was watching the sunset, this was about all the positives I can say... Food was quite good quality, not 4 star and menu a bit tired. The waiter, totally hopeless, every order was stuffed up, so were many tables around us, no cutlery for 10 minutes, we had to walk to the bar twice to order our drinks. The soft shell crab was tasty which my partner had, I ordered the pork, which was meant to come with vegetables, it was pork on the plate in gravy, nothing else, when I asked the waiter, he looked blankly and walked away, I guess I knew I was only having pork for dinner! Don't waste your $ on a taxi, the sunset is not worth 2000bht return from Chewang Beach... Try RockPool instead!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best dinner with a view ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The restaurant is located on the beach in a corner of the island of Koh Samui, overlooking the western sea as the sun sets. The food was high quality, the staff was quick, and they had a pretty good selection of wines. But the thing which puts this place over the top was the view that came with everything. Get there for dinner around 5:30, order drinks and your food, and sit back for the view. We were staying at a hotel ~10 minutes away, and the restaurant sent a car to pick us up and drop us off, which was greatly appreciated!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the short journey from Lamai.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were staying at Montra in Lamai and Su there recommended this restaurant for us to go to for a relaxed dinner on the seaside enjoying the sunset. We were not disappointed. Others have mentioned that this restaurant is expensive by Samui standards - I say, you get what you pay for. We found the staff attentive, the meals exactly as we expected and would happily pay this price for the serenity of the locality and the food. The staff had time to chat with us about where we were staying and if we were enjoying our holiday, as did the host, Colin. We like to support locally owned businesses where you feel welcomed - this is it. Go and experience this non commercial restaurant for yourself.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Romantic location. Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel suggested we try the restaurant. They telephoned a d we got picked up in a little tuk tuk. Great fun. We got to the restaurant and our table was on the beach. It was a lovely setting and very romantic with candal lite and the sea

We choice a set menu which gave us various different dishes to try and as this was our first night in Thailand a great idea to get the taste

The food was excellent. Service was good and atmosphere was lovely. The owner Colin walked round to check everything was. Ok and it was nice to have a chat with him

I would certainly recommend great to be picked up and dropped off and special to eat on the beach. We will return!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Five Islands also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Five Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Five Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.