We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Country home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cragganmore House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballindalloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cragganmore House B & B
Save
You added Cragganmore House B & B to your Saves list
Cragganmore, Ballindalloch AB37 9AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Country home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Cragganmore House while on a Speyside Way walking tour. I'd highly recommend Cragganmore if you're looking for lodging in this area. It's a beautiful country home built by the man who founded the Cragganmore Distillery in 1869. The rooms are decorated in they style of the time the house was built. There's a lovely sitting room where you can have tea and sit by the fireplace. The owners, Tony and Helen Allcott, are outstanding hosts. They attend to your every need. I managed to get mud all over my pants and boots while out on a walk and Helen cleaned them for me, ready to use the next day! Tony is an award-winning chef. DO NOT MISS the dinner he prepares each night. His cooking is exquisite. There are some cute, colorful chickens wandering the grounds, as well as ducks. It was a wonderful experience and I'd go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Biggar, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed here whilst walking the Speyside Way and it was superb. The house itself is homely and quirky with amazing views. Our hosts were warm,friendly and certainly looked after us.
Dinner was incredible, fresh local produce beautifully presented with great service. The dinning room with a roaring log fire was just the perfect setting. Sitting at the window for dinner the antics of the two groups of ducks in the garden provided endless entertainment!
Lovely breakfast with lots of choice and a great packed lunch including the home made bread!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I surprised my husband with a trip to the Speyside Malt Whisky festival, which ticked a box for something he had always wanted, staying in a turret was another. We stayed in the beautifully decorated turret room for 3 nights, and both of us couldn't have wished for a warmer welcome or more beautiful place to stay both inside or the view outside.

Helen was very helpful when booking, I mentioned it was to be my husbands birthday the day we arrived and she offered to make a cake, little did I know how amazing the cake would be (see pics), we arrived to a roaring fire and the offer of coffee in the lounge, with the coffee arrived the cake along with helen singing happy birthday! Breakfasts were freshly cooked and yummy, including home made marmalade that my husband adored so much Tony and Helen gave us a jar to come home with.

Would definitely book again if going up that way.

Room Tip: Turret room was large with amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

my husband and i stayed here for one night during our walking holiday of the speyside way. After a hards day walk in the rain,Helen kindly picked us up. We were then provided with a lovely decorated room, free standing bath and a fantastic dinner. The lounge, with log fire was just the tonic after our days walk.
Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwater, West Sussex, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We returned to Cragganmore House but this time with our adult children, who are also foodies. None of us were disappointed. A really warm welcome from Helen and Tony, roaring open fire, afternoon tea in the guests drawing room. Tony cooked for us both nights, to rather exacting dietry demands, and we had a feast. Home smoked salmon, cannon of lamb, venison and wonderful vegaterian options. Rooms were lovely, with lots of nice little touches. If you want comfort, peace, excellent food and warm welcoming hosts, look no further.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at Cragganmore House whilst walking the Speyside Way. Tony and Helen were very welcoming and made us feel completely at home. The house is beautifully restored and furnished and very comfortable indeed. We were in the Turret Room, which has an ensuite with antique bath. The house is in a beautiful location, close to Ballindalloch Station. Dinner was one of the best meals we have ever had, and breakfast similarly lived up to expectations. We can recommend this B&B without any reservations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Thanks to Helen and Tony for making our stay with you such a memorable one. I have called this a feast for the soul as the location is breathtakingly beautiful and the ambience within the house is one that immediately puts you at your ease. Welcoming fires and a deep bath after a day's walking are quite beyond superlatives.
With the Cragganmore distillery literally on your (back)doorstep and the Speyside walk about a quarter of a mile away, it catered for both items on our wish list. The feast continued with the wonderful local fayre we had both in the evening and for breakfast (sausages are quite possibly the best I have tasted anywhere).
The last (but not least) treat for us was the exquisite way in which Helen and Tony have decorated their home making it quite simply a feast for the eyes and somewhere we hope to visit again. Thank you both for everything - it was perfect. Elaine and Mike D.

Room Tip: ASk for the turret room - it adds a little something extra to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cragganmore House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cragganmore House B & B

Address: Cragganmore, Ballindalloch AB37 9AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Ballindalloch
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ballindalloch
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cragganmore House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.