We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop for a wee Dram” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glenlivet Distillery

The Glenlivet Distillery
B9008 | Banffshire, Ballindalloch AB37 9DB, Scotland
+44 1340 821720
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Distilleries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: * Winner of Best Visitor Attraction Award at 2013 Scottish Thistle Awards * Revered by connoisseurs, flattered by imitators, The Glenlivet can only be made in one particular spot, in a single glen, in the heart of Scotland's malt whisky-making country. The following tours are available at this award-winning visitor centre: - The Glenlivet Tour - FREE - departs every 20 minutes - includes a guided tour of the distillery, a visit to one of our bonded warehouses and a complimentary dram . Over 8s only. Pre-booking required for groups of ten or more. - Spirit of the Malt Tour - £30pp. Follow in the footsteps of George Smith, founder of the distillery on a journey of discovery. Visit to the water source (Josie's Well), detailed distllery tour, tutored tasting of 7 expressions of The Glenlivet & visit to dunnage warehouse for a cask sample. Over 18s only. Must be pre-booked and pre-paid. - Legacy Experience - £60pp. Discover what makes The Glenlivet so special on this fascinating tour. Includes in-depth tasting of some very old and rare whiskies, cask sample in dunnage warehouse and exclusive gift. Over 18s only. Must be pre-booked and pre-paid. We also have an exhibition, gift shop selling coffee shop and fill your own bottle experience. Slainthe!
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stop for a wee Dram”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Fantastic place to visit even if you don't like Malt Whiskey.
Very informative tour of part of the production process with a well laid out visitor centre. Excellent cafteria for a light lunch.
We went on an unusually very warm and sunny day, the views around the distillery were stunning.
A special mention for the staff who were genuine and very welcoming.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at The Glenlivet Distillery, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Glenlivet Distillery on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you thought our staff were genuine and welcoming. We have a very strong team of staff here, and we all go out of our way to try to ensure our visitors enjoy their time here and we certainly appreciate your positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you here again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    46
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A 'Must' for visitors to the Scottish Highlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A tour of a whiskey distillery has to be done if ever you bank on visiting the Scottish Highlands. The Glenlivet is one of Scotland's older distilleries dating back to the 1800s - when many distilleries were 'illegally operated', Glenlivet was one of the first to become legalised as the then King of England always asked for Glenlivet!

The tour is highly comprehensive and you are taken on a guided walk around the modern day premises of the Glenlivet Distillery by a friendly and knowledgeable tour-guide (we were guided by Amy) who was able to answer any questions we had.

As my first visit to a distillery, I primarily chose the Glenlivet over some of the others as it still to this day uses natural processes - of course with the help of modern technology - and was interested to learn that there are more tour guides than labourers working in the distillery itself.

The tour itself is free of charge and you have the opportunity to consume a small sample of Glenlivet 12, 15 or 18 [whiskey years of age] at the end (delicious!) and explore the shop and small self-guided exhibition afterwards. There is also a coffee shop/restaurant on site though we didn't dine here.

Tour groups consist of about 12-16 guests and roughly depart on foot every 15 minutes or so. I would allow about 1-2 hours (in total) for your visit. The distillery is located on the northern side of the Cairngorms National Park a few miles east of Grantown on Spey.

Would definitely recommend this based on my visit to anyone visiting the Scottish Highlands, even if you're not that big on whiskey!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at The Glenlivet Distillery, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate all feedback we receive, and I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your tour here with Amy, and found her to be friendly and knowledgable.

We will be very pleased to welcome you back to The Glenlivet Distillery if you are ever in this area again.

Kind regards

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glenlivet - A must for whiskey lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband is a lover of whiskey, and when we knew we were honeymooning in Scotland he chose the Glenlivet Distillery before we decided anything else!

We rented a car and drove to the distillery and gave ourselves plenty of time for sightseeing as well as getting lost. Thank goodness for that! There is construction on a nearby road which unfortunately is confusing when following signs to the distillery. Make sure to follow Distillery signs and not the "diversion" signs.

The distillery itself is a beautiful building and the staff were so nice! We were greeted at the door with friendly smiles, and even had congratulations on our recent wedding!

I highly suggest the Spirit of the Malt tour. I have heard the free tours are great, but lacking in content...this tour was 30 pounds per person, and it was well worth it! We were given a detailed tour of the venue, which lasted about an hour and a half, (they take you outside so be sure to wear comfortable shoes/clothes!) then we were taken to a tasting room where we sampled 7 different whiskeys! (pictures attached!) Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and a lot of fun. I never knew the benefits of adding water to my whiskey!

We then were taken to a separate storehouse for a special treat...an extra whiskey that has been aging for quite a while! I won't ruin it, but definitely take advantage of this tour!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at The Glenlivet Distillery, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Glenlivet Distillery on TripAdvisor. We were deligthed to welcome you here as part of your honeymoon, and I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed the Spirit of the Malt Tour with Michelle. I will certainly pass on your compliments to her.

We hope to welcome you back here one day - perhaps for your wedding anniversary!

Kind regards

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneNY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We decided to give Glenlivet Distillery a surprise visit today and I was very impressed when driving in. Distilleries are all very neat and very tidy but this one had the wow as you drove up to it. The main visitors building is lovely and we had our lunch in the cafe/coffee shop before having the tour.

We've been to a few distilleries now and I love hearing about how the distillery was founded and all the little anecdotes you are told about the people who worked there, but disappointingly there was none of that and the tour guide couldn't really tell me anything about how Josie's Well was named even though she made a thing of the name.

Anyway it was a basic tour and since reading the review below I now know there were other tours on offer, we just weren't told about these. It's a shame as we live really close by so I would maybe of preferred a longer, more detailed one.

We did get the offer of one of three whiskies, a 12 year old, 15 year old or 18 year old which was nice considering the tour was free however compared to other distilleries a choice of one felt a bit mean!

Lovely, lovely setting and as I said the buildings are lovely and well kept too but we were just a little disappointed about the contents of the tour. I would however still recommend it as it was free and we didn't wait long for the tour to start.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at The Glenlivet Distillery, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Glenlivet Distillery on TripAdvisor. The tour you took part in was our standard tour which is free of charge. We do indeed have two other tour options - The Spirit of the Malt Tour and the Legacy Experience - which explain more of the history behind The Glenlivet and involve tutored tastings of some of our whiskies. These are advertised on our leaflets, through our websites and within the Visitor Centre, but due to the high demand for these tours they must be booked in advance.

We are delighted to offer you a complimentary full 25ml dram of The Glenlivet at the end of the tour - we are the only distillery that offers a full dram free of charge.

The guides was unable to inform you about the history behind Josie - this is because we are unsure of who Josie was! It's something our Archive team are trying to find more information about but at the moment Josie remains a mystery!

I hope we are able to welcome you back here again for one of our in-depth tours. Please contact us directly to book.

Kind regards

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Glenlivit Guardian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nice tour in a beautiful part of Scotland. You can choose to taste one sample of either the 12, 15, or 18 year whisky.
Just a tip -, if you go to their website, you can sign up to be a Glenlivit Guardian, which entitles you to make a reservation for the library. We did that and so after our tour, a guide took us up to the rich, leather-filled library and gave us a private tasting where we sampled a special cask-strength whisky and had time to chat with her. Made our trip to Glenlivit very memorable! Thanks Glenlivit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley M, Manager at The Glenlivet Distillery, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Glenlivet Distillery on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in our Guardian's Library - we think it's very special!

I hope we're able to welcome you back here again.

Kind regards

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glenlivet Distillery also viewed

 

Been to The Glenlivet Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glenlivet Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.