We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem but with a downside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Largo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Upper Largo Hotel to your Saves list
Upper Largo Hotel
4 Main Street | Upper Largo Near St.Andrews, Fife, Largo KY8 6EJ, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Largo B&B and Inns
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Little Gem but with a downside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner and I had lunch here on 20.04.13. I thought I would try the 3 courses for £8.95, I am so glad I did everything I had was simple but beautifully cooked and had a truly lovely flavour. I started with the deep fried camembert with salad, main course was bangers and mash and for dessert it was orange tart with orange cream, the chef's salad dressing was lovely and a good dressing in my opinion is what makes a good dish great. My partner and I have eaten all over the country and I have to say that this meal for value and taste cannot be beaten. The downside though was my partner wasn't hungry enough for 3 courses so decided to pick off the main menu so ordered breaded fish and chips. The large plate was put down in front of him and the fish looked lovely and was lovely however my partner doesn't like salad and he doesn't like coleslaw (and there was a big portion of both on the plate) so all he had for I believe it was £11, was fish and frozen chips which were on the hard side and I don't believe the best quality. This was disappointing since I had enjoyed my lunch so much, I think in future that we will both eat off of the £8.95 menu or we will order something which comes with potatoes. The decor could do with a bit of updating as could the toilets however we will most certainly go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
25
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

One of the best dining experiences in East Fife. Punches above its weight; the food is superb and excellent value for money. A really good bet, every time. Great choices and locally sourced ingredients. Nice little bar adjacent to restaurant area for pre or post dinner refreshment. Booking advised, especially at weekends and holiday times of year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My son decided he wanted us to eat here on his birthday. He had seem a sample menu and we had read some favourable reviews. We had just travelled over 300 miles to our holiday accommodation and this was nearby and therefore convenient for an evening meal.

I had a very pleasant pint of Belhaven, but unfortunately that turned out to be the highlight of the evening.

The restaurant felt tired and service was at best average. There were quite a few people in the restaurant and we were made to feel like we were an inconvenience.

The menu did not resemble the sample menu we had seen and my son was disappointed that the item he wanted to try was not available that evening. The food was of very poor quality, tasteless and bland. The vegetables were lukewarm and overcooked and just seemed to be the left-overs. It was not particularly cheap either.

Given that other reviews for lunch seem good, it may be that we were just unlucky that evening, but needless to say with that experience we did not return during the rest of our holiday. My advice would be to jump in the car and drive to St. Andrews where there is a large choice of restaurants and free parking after 5pm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just been for one of the 'price crunch' lunches today with my husband; £8.95 for three courses. The hotel was pretty busy, but we were accommodated in the bar area which was fine. Enjoyed some delicious lentil soup followed by roast beef. Dessert was strawberry Eton mess...yum! Staff were polite and attentive, and the meal itself excellent value for money. Would recommend, but would advise you book a table first!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I eat here regularly with my family & have never been disappointed with the food. The regular menu is good, they have interesting specials & the waiting staff are excellent.
Would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had the pleasure of lunch at this busy, conservatory styled restaurant today. We arrived and were quickly shown to one of the few empty tables....might be a good idea to book in advance. The waitress brought our menus and took our drinks order. The menu's were very extensive, and were separated into 3 groups, we opted for the price crunch lunch (3 courses for £8.95), but we also could have opted for the more expensive "chefs local specialities" or the a la carte.

We both chose pate to start, followed by beautifully crisp, battered haddock (east neuk) and ice cream or cheese and oatcakes to finish. All the food was very tasty, and the friendly service never waivered in this very busy establishment.

One point to note is that the restaurant can get very warm on sunny days, especially in the conservatory.

In total for 3 courses each and 3 drinks came to an unbelievable £28. Worth every penny for the lovely experience.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

After eating at the upper largo hotel on more than a few occasions during my visits to Fife, I eventually decided that I had to tell someone about it. From the excellent value price crunch lunch to the outstandingly delicious á la carte. Never have I been treated to such luxurious fancies. Wood pigeon, duck, venison, scallops, you name it. The serving staff are quick, easy to talk to and the food always arrives in a flash, steaming hot and bursting with flavour. I would highly recommend this extremely underrated restaurant to anyone who likes dining well and enjoying a good evening or lunch for an affordable price.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Upper Largo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Largo Hotel

Address: 4 Main Street | Upper Largo Near St.Andrews, Fife, Largo KY8 6EJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the start of East Neuk of Fife, this charming 17th century Coaching Inn retains it's original features in the traditional public bar. The bright airy Conservatory Restaurant enjoys superb views over the Firth of Forth and the Lothians beyond. FOOD IS SERVED ALL DAY EVERY DAY!!! Our menus offer a great selection of dishes all freshly prepared using locally sourced produce from land and sea. All the food combines quality with affordability to suit every taste and budget. Function room & en-suite accommodation is available 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Upper Largo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Largo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.