We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Our 'much loved' Cottage
Living room with comfy sofas & 42' television
A cosy corner for reading
Sociable open plan living area
Maire-Levescault
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laura H
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful little French retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Vingt-Deux is a delightful house in a very rural location, though accessible to the main cities and towns, like La Rochelle and Bordeaux.
We found the owner, Mandy to be very helpful. She sent us a sat nav that worked beautifully in France and helped us out when we needed it the most! The house was fully equipped with plates, cutlery, fresh towels, linen and even outdoor games to play. The weather was disappointing, which meant we were unable to take advantage of the pool, however it looked well looked after and I'm sure it will house a few kiddies playtime sessions with the warmer weather.
We couldn't fault the house at all and the service from Mandy was second to none.
Thanks again and we would highly recommend it if you're not afraid to do a fair bit of driving on your holiday.
Laura and Andy.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The lounge/kitchen open plan area
Liked least: The bed was too hard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kerrie C
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great French getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

A very enjoyable Christmas & new year spent here, it is definitely a place where you need a car, the facilities were very good, especially if you had children, it seemed as there was lots of toys etc to keep them entertained (we don't have any).

Mandy was very helpful on booking and sending information, you couldn't have asked for more, prompt and efficient.

There was plenty of places to walk the dog, we found an English speaking vet in a nearby village who was great with us and the dog! And we even used the bikes to take ourselves into town a few miles away.

Given that we were there over a quiet period, wireless internet would have been great, but we did find a nice cafe in town that offered that along with some good breakfasts.

Overall a very enjoyable time and I am sure in the summer it would be even better when the sun shines for longer.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Godfrerz
1 review
“Beautiful French cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We recently stayed in this beautiful cottage. The cottage is so luxurious are party of four didn't want to leave. Cooking in the very well equipped kitchen. Sitting in front of the log burners playing board games. Idyllic !!! A very French village with beautiful scenery. Best bike ride. But close enough to the supermarket to pop for all your necessities. The local village with the English fish and chip van is so close your chips are still hot when you get them home. Homemade pizza from the same village pizza van. Was amazing ! Spent the whole day at future scope the theme park near Poitier was well worth the money. The cottage is everything you need for a true French holiday. We had such lovely weather we sat in the garden in our sleeveless t shirts drinking wine. In October !!! What more could you ask for.
Mandy the owner is very efficient and will organise a lovley hamper ( we per paid ) for your convenience on arrival. Ours was a life saver as our flight was delayed. Everything you need and more!!! Well done Mandy for a beautifully excited holiday let. We had the best time ever! We all hope to return very soon.
Kind regards Tina, stuart, Angela and Peter.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
stuart g
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful stress free get away. Very beautiful French cottage.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We would like to thank Carl and Mandy for the stay at their beautiful cottage.
We were greeted by a lovely hamper (paid for in advance) this was an excellent service. (didn't have the hassle of trying to find somewhere to eat after getting off the plane).We cooked and sat and chatted in the beautiful fully equipped kitchen.
The cottage is beautiful. From the luxurious bedrooms to the comfortable couches that went on forever.
Each afternoon the sun shone making the garden at the cottage the most relaxing place to sit with a glass of wine.
In the evening we sat in front of the cosy log fire playing board games. How idillic!
Towns nearby such as La Rochelle and Poitier are lovely.
Even though the cottage is situated in a picturesque french village, the supermarket, is minutes away, making it the ideal location.
We went to Future Scope an amazing theme park nearby. We spent the whole day there.
If you don't feel like cooking, the nearby village has an english fish and chip van and a pizza van you can watch your pizza made from scratch. Delicious !!!
We were really sad to leave the cottage we had a totally stress free, relaxing holiday. We would have no hesitation to return, or to recommend it to other travellers. We hope to return very soon. Mandy and Carl really have paid attention to detail. Well done for providing a beautiful place to stay to explore the french countryside.
Thank you again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The cottage was amazing. location ideal. Booking procedure excellent.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2012
Your kind comments regarding the cottage are greatly appreciated. I know the cottage came recommended to you and I am so pleased that No.22 lived up to the expectations of you and your party. I hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kingsoflo...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little gem in beautiful rural France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed here in early September with our 21 month old daughter - it was quite simply our best family holiday yet! The cottage is absolutely stunning both inside and out (and we are fussy!!) It is as every bit as beautiful as the pictures and Mandy's attention to detail is second to none. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed, and at home. It is really well equipped with everything you might need (except pool towels - so make sure you take some) - a large garden/courtyard area with a plunge pool and loungers, a BBQ, outdoor seating, bikes (and a baby seat) plenty of books, DVDs - and 3 boxes of toys and books (including outdoor toys) for our little girl! The bathroom even included all the toiletries we needed for our daughter, a baby bath (although we didn't use it) and - much to her delight - a potty! The location is very rural and quiet, however the nearest supermarket and small town is 5 mins in the car, and the location is actually really well placed to explore surrounding France in any direction. We visited the Vallee Des Singes (monkey forest), Zoodysee animal park, Chef Boutonne Saturday market, Poitiers, La Rochelle and Ile de Re (stunning) and beautiful Bordeaux (approx 1hr45 but worth every minute in the car!!). We came home feeling refreshed and relaxed - but sad it was all over! Thank you to Mandy for being so incredibly helpful and kind from the moment of booking and throughout the holiday. We would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful place and these fabulous hosts.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Decor and luxury, homely feel of the cottage
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Michelle...
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Brilliant Family Summer Holiday in this very beautiful part of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have just arrived back from a really relaxing family holiday in this a very comfy and home from home french cottage in rural France. The weather was glorious and we were thankful to cool off in the pool every day! There is so much to do around the area with something for everyone. The local village is great for your daily supply of baguettes and croissants (especially if you cycle there you have would certainly earned one!) Luckily we were there when the local brocante (like our car boot sale) was on and picked up quite a few bargains. The whole family ( 4 young adults and 1 teenager plus parents) all enjoyed The Valley of the Singes (valley of the monkey's) were you can get up close and personal with these gentle creatures and a visit to Puy du Fou (1hr 45mins drive) is a must . It certainly knocks Disney into a cocked hat! The bird show and the night show is not to be missed, you can get discount if you book online before you go. A day out at La Rochelle and Ile de Re was very enjoyable (16E to cross the bridge) . We enjoyed a return visit to the Aquarium (a request from my youngest son now 15 who was 3 last time we were here) still as fascinating!. Then over the bridge to Ile de Re and an afternoon on the beach. La Rochelle is lovely for an evening meal by the harbour. One of our highlights was a visit to E"panvillers a chateaux 20 mins from No22 , were for 5E each we were given a fascinating tour by the Swiss owner of his collection of board games. At the same time a complete European history lesson was thrown in. We finished our fortnight by going to The Mad Hatters Music Festival. This is a local restaurant run by a charming and welcoming english family, (they also serve Sunday lunches and afternoon teas). Every year the 3rd weekend in August they host this music festival with some great musical talent, open mike sessions BBQ and buffet. Staying at the cottage you really feel part of the community and we met some lovely people.
We came back relaxed, rested and enriched by our experiences. When can we go again?

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: That the cottage is well placed for visits and attractions but you can still feel away from it all!
Liked least: THe fact that i couldn't stay longer!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Vicki T
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful well equipped cottage in a stunning part of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

No 22 is a beautiful traditional French cottage that has been tastefully modernised and decorated throughout. It is extremely well equipped which means that you only need to take your clothes and toiletries. It has everything from French phrase books to travel plugs, books, DVDs, garden games, a fire pit, a well equipped kitchen and even bikes for the odd bike ride.

I totally fell in love with France and I didn't expect to. I loved the scenery and the locals are all so friendly. We drove from Southport, it took around 14hours plus the ferry time. It was a bit too far. I would fly next time and hire a car there. You definitely need a car as everything in France is spread out. We visited local villages, nearby Towns and tourist spots. Our best days out were to one of the local inland beaches (all free and very clean about 45 mins drive), also the Parc Adventure that was a bit like Go Ape in this country but much better an caters for all ages not just over 10s. That was about 1h30mins drive. We stayed for one week and didn't get to half the places that we would have like to go.

We shall definitely be returning again in the future and I would certainly recommend staying at No 22.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet of the location
Liked least: Flies
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$492
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Mandy W
44 07772 447094
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing