We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aldridge Lodge

Aldridge Lodge
Duncannon | Aldridge Lodge Restaurant and Guesthouse, Duncannon, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Duncannon
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My favourite Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Food is out of this world and so reasonably priced for what you get. Service is also excellent. Very nice setting also. Have been at least 10 times and have never been dissappointed. Will be returning many more times!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Brilliant time" as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Myself and my husband have just returned from two day stay in Aldridge Lodge. The food just gets better and better. Always a lovely selection on the menu, so many great dishes it is hard to choose.Food is locally sourced, which we like. We both love sea food dishes, of which there is always a great choice,but you also have beef, venison , rabbit, duck or goose to choose from. The proprietors Billy and Joanne always pay great attention to detail and it shows both in the food and the friendliness of the staff. From the first time we went we loved it and go back regularly and it never disappoints.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top Notch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Aldridge Lodge is one of the best restaurants I have ever visited. The best is fab and the staff and service is excellent. Well worth a visit! Also the prices are very reasonable!! Definitely won't disappoint!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A class act.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at Aldridge Lodge for the last two days of the ploughing championships, with a couple of friends and couldn't have asked for more. The rooms were clean, with tea and coffee facilities, including, fresh milk. The restaurant has got to be rated as one of Irelands best, with a varied menu, including, vegetarian. The meals we had, were amongst some of the best I have had, anywhere.

Joanne, front of house and Billy, the chef are a well matched couple, offering friendly service, without being patronising and the staff complimented this friendly atmosphere, superbly.

We will definitely be returning, soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Tucked away on a small country road, just south of Duncannon in County Wexford, Aldridge Lodge is a real surprise. From the outside, it appears to be a mid-sized guest house, which it is. But step inside and you are suddenly in a seriously excellent restaurant. The whole place exudes an air of professionalism - from the modern decor to the smartly turned-out and highly attentive staff.

The Irish cuisine menu only offers a choice of six starters and six main courses, but each of these is clearly selected to provide a wide choice for all tastes and all are mouthwateringly good. And unlike so many restaurants these days, the portions are generous.

There is also a wide choice of wines, all reasonably priced, plus a selection of home-made deserts that would tempt even the most dedicated weight-watcher.

All in all, a terrific experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldridge Lodge also viewed

Duncannon, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Been to Aldridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldridge Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.