We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Day Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)

Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)
Akrotiri, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Attractions in Akrotiri
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Attraction details
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our stop at the Monastery was a pleasant surprise during our stay in Chania. We were lucky enough to visit the Monastery without tour buses or crowds of people. The location is stunning and like stepping back into time. The courtyard and gardens surrounding the church are beautiful, and the church itself (while small) is impressively decorated and maintained. The small museum gave good insight into the history and importance of the Monastery. We spent more time here than we anticipated strolling through the courtyard and enjoying the scenery. We bought some very good olive oil, and wish we could have tasted the wines before buying.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Only a short drive outside of Chania, this monastery is really worth visiting. If you only visit one monastery on Crete, I would say this should be the one. Setting and atmosphere are truly magnificent.
We were lucky to enjoy it almost to ourselves by visiting early in the day. I am sure much of the magic would be lost if a visit was overshadowed by crowds.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A must do, if you are in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

As mentioned in prior reviews, this is a gorgeous property, with lovely buildings, monastery/church and internal grounds.

You will need a car to get there (20-30 mins from Chania Town, 10 mins from the airport), but we spent 45 minutes here and absolutely loved it (and even bought some wine and olive oil in their shop).

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Perfect time to visit is early evening once the crowds have gone and the evening light illuminates the beautiful, though dilapidated , structure of the building

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“CRUISE DAIRY DAY 8 - CHANIA part 1”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We started our tour of Chania with a visit to the Akrotiri monastery. It was a good experience to see an old monastery. It had a church with a fabulous altar and marvelous icons like those found in Istanbul. It also had a small museum.

Seeing the Chania country side on the way back to the harbor is a nice bonus after visiting the monastery. The guide explained that Crete is like a small continent with self sustaining capacity. This is the reason why it was a goal for the Nazi to conquer it, aside from its strategic location to Europe and Africa.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada) also viewed

Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 
Sfakia, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.