We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)

Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)
Akrotiri, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Attractions in Akrotiri
Type: Churches/ Cathedrals
Attraction Details
BC, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Only a short drive outside of Chania, this monastery is really worth visiting. If you only visit one monastery on Crete, I would say this should be the one. Setting and atmosphere are truly magnificent.
We were lucky to enjoy it almost to ourselves by visiting early in the day. I am sure much of the magic would be lost if a visit was overshadowed by crowds.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A must do, if you are in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

As mentioned in prior reviews, this is a gorgeous property, with lovely buildings, monastery/church and internal grounds.

You will need a car to get there (20-30 mins from Chania Town, 10 mins from the airport), but we spent 45 minutes here and absolutely loved it (and even bought some wine and olive oil in their shop).

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Perfect time to visit is early evening once the crowds have gone and the evening light illuminates the beautiful, though dilapidated , structure of the building

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“CRUISE DAIRY DAY 8 - CHANIA part 1”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We started our tour of Chania with a visit to the Akrotiri monastery. It was a good experience to see an old monastery. It had a church with a fabulous altar and marvelous icons like those found in Istanbul. It also had a small museum.

Seeing the Chania country side on the way back to the harbor is a nice bonus after visiting the monastery. The guide explained that Crete is like a small continent with self sustaining capacity. This is the reason why it was a goal for the Nazi to conquer it, aside from its strategic location to Europe and Africa.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tromsoe,Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Visit during the Greek Easter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Monastery of Agia Triada Tsangarolon is a Greek Orthodox monastery in the Akrotiri peninsula, not far from Chania airport. It also contains a museum and a small shop where you can buy insence, vinegar. wine and cheese. The monastery is said to be one of the major historical monuments of the island.
The monastery church is beautiful and I recommend that you wander round the area for a while. Do take a look at the quite large exhibition of woodcarvings and icons in the monastery Museum.
The Monastery produce it´s own wine which you can buy. They also sell other products produced in Crete, like a honey and balsamico vinegar of good quality.
If you can visit the Monastery during the greek Easter, you are in for some beautiful experiences, it never ceaces to impress me the feeling you get of real devotion from the church-goers and their dedication to their religion. It is impressive. I highly recommend a visit to the Monastery!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada) also viewed

Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holy Trinity Monastery (Agia Triada), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.