We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shades 2 bed cottage
Shades 2 bed cottage
Shades 2 bed cottage
Front of property
Kitchen
Dining area
lounge area through to kitchen
Holder's Hill
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Claire B
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Living the Bajan lifestyle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We rented Shades for two months. Had a really good time living the Bajan lifestyle. Shades was clean and comfortable, the neighbours were brilliant and very friendly. We spent many a happy hour sat on the front balcony just saying hello and idle chatting to everyone who walked by. Marshalls Bar at the end of the road was fantastic value for money and very friendly the food was very good and popular with holiday makers and the locals. We hired a car for a week but would advise if you don't like walking up and down a steep hill to get to Paynes Bay or Holetown you would need a car for your stay. The local bus service at the end of the road takes you to Bridgetown but not down the hill to Paynes or Holetown. Thorell the caretaker was a lovely gentleman and gave us lots of advice on where to go and what to see and had a great sense of humour and loved telling us about his life on Barbados, a true character. As a base Shades was lovely and we would go back again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay.It would be a pleasure to have you as return guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Geraldine...
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Real Barbados at your finger tips!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

An absolutely fabulous little cottage with all the feelings of home from home. The kitchen was immaculate with all the kitchen ware essentials that you need!! The rooms were really spacious with lots of room for clothes, and the beds were really comfy. The fans were enough to keep us cool at night. The out side space at the cottage was fantastic, my first time in a hammock, I loved it, and room for two! The gardens are cared for really well, and nature is everywhere you look. Oh and and night star gazing!! The little library has some books on traversing the skies, I found it fascinating.
The local village is so welcoming, neighbours were really friendly and the local bar had fab food and lots of Banks beer (local brew).
We hired a car, which Louise helped us with. It was cheap and cheerful and got us all over the island. Holders hill is a great place to stay as you are in easy reach of all areas. Just down the hill is a wide range of bars and restaurants, all very delicious with lots of amazing fish dishes.
if you want a real taste of Barbados at a great price, then look no further!! Louise was so helpful, and our trip was amazing, I'm sure to be back next year and the year after that!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Out side space
Liked least: No internet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
752cather...
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“a little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 for a stay in February 2011

spent a month in this fabulous villa.. its ideal to use as a base to see the rest of the island... everything you need is at hand and is very comfortable... the perfect beaches are only a short walk away and there are some heavenly hotels and restaurants if you need a little bit of luxury.. the island is very beautiful and so are the people.. the neighbours are extremely hospitable. The house is very clean and the gardens are to die for!! some of my favourite moments were spent chilling in the hammock in the side garden. its perfect for families and for a romsntic getaway i highly reccomend this property!!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the gardens..
Liked least: the hill...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I love it when guests love our little cottage as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Alene L
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“The cottage provides a taste of rustic Barbados lifestyle, a home from home – we would definitely visit again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 for a stay in August 2010

A charming, comfortable cottage, perfectly located for exploring the island. Car hire is a must although we did get a bus into Bridgetown one evening and the bus stop was only two minutes walk. The cottage has a lovely well maintained garden, which provided a secluded spot for relaxing in the hammock in the shade of mature fruit trees. A friendly caretaker was very knowledgeable about the local area, giving tips on where to visit and eat. The local bar was excellent for lunches and evening meals at a reasonable price. The beach is 5 minutes drive down to Paynes Bay where sun loungers can be hired and a good selection of hotel bars and restaurants are available. Also a perfect location for swimming with turtles and snorkelling!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Hammock in the garden
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.I hope it was a wonderful honeymoon and hope to see you again very soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$109
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Louise N
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2012
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 6 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing