We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dinas Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glan House
Save
You added Glan House to your Saves list
Dinas Cross, Dinas Cross, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0XQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Dinas Cross B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were looking for a good place to stay and found a wonderful place in Glan House. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home and relaxed with our luggage carried to our room and tea and Welsh cakes offered. Nothing was too much trouble and our hosts, Christine and Patrick, were simply fantastic. The B&B is spotlessly clean and we had a light, airy room with a fabulous sea view. Breakfast was superb; you won't need lunch! If we are back that way again then there is no other place we would consider going to. If you are going that way then there is no other place you need consider!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
68
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We could only stay for 1 night, but this delightful Bed and Breakfast was a great find. From warm Welsh cakes and tea on the patio on arrival to our departure we were made to feel welcomed and looked after. We had 2 lovely rooms,very comfortable and beautifully refurbished.

Very good breakfast, healthy options and the more traditional ....

An excellent location- a pretty 15 minute walk down to Aberbach beach and a 5 minute drive to Newport with the consistent,delicious food provided by the Golden Lion Inn (suggest booking) and some easy walking from the scenic Parrog.

For a tranquil,cosseted stay in real comfort- look no further.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We often take short breaks in B&B accommodation and have been to many excellent ones (some quite awful!!) but Glan House has won our our top award. We can only echo the other comments you will have read from the other reviewers. A really lovely couple of people of obviously enjoy being hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they've probably anticipated your needs anyway. Loads of ideas for things to do and visit and Patrick cooks a superb breakfast. Everything is beautifully clean but there is lovely warm atmosphere. Chris met us with tea and warm Welsh cakes. Not only can we not fault it, we can't imagine how it could be bettered. Our room was very spacious with a really good sea view. We will be going back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at Glan house which is an outstanding B and B, the whole house is immaculate. Christine and Patrick were excellent hosts, nothing was too much for them. On arrival, Patrick insisted on taking our baggage from the car to our room which was spotlessly clean, while Christine made us a pot of tea and Welsh cakes which we thoroughly enjoyed on the patio. Breakfast was freshly prepared for each morning and was plentiful. Both Christine and Patrick were very knowledgeable about the immediate area, and further a field, especially with regards to walking routes. There were guides, maps and even a DVD available for the area, all of which could be borrowed. We will certainly be returning

Room Tip: Room 3 has a view out over the garden to the sea and entrance to Fishguard harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We can not fault any part of our stay at Glan House. Patrick and Christine were the perfect hosts, offering tea and welsh cakes upon our arrival. The breakfast was delicious and of high quality. I have never stayed in such an immaculate place, everywhere was spotless and the attention to detail, and finish of the interior was outstanding. We were very thankful of their local knowledge and nothing was too much trouble for them.

We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After staying in a variety of B&Bs in the area while walking the coastal path, it was more than a relief to turn up at Glan House. Chris & Patrick warmly welcomed us into their immaculate house with tea & Welsh cakes & then taken down to the pub to eat by car because it was raining. The rooms were beautifully clean, the shower was great & I had the best night sleep I'd had in a week! Breakfast was delicious & plentiful & toast cooked on the Aga is definitely the best. Sadly we could only stay one night. I will be recommending Glan House to all my friends who are visiting this area, it is by far the best B&B I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for the weekend recently and will definately be going back. A lovely location, a spotlessly clean house/room/ensuite and a very warm welcome from Christine and Patrick. Breakfast was freshly prepared and excellent on both mornings. Christine and Patrick are a mine of useful local information and were really helpful during our stay. Thank you both very much.

Room Tip: All rooms are v good. Coast side facing will be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan House

Address: Dinas Cross, Dinas Cross, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0XQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth > Dinas Cross
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dinas Cross
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Glan House Dinas Cross, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.