We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog

The Dog
The Green, Grundisburgh, Woodbridge IP13 6TA, England
+44 1473 735267
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

love the theme nights there fun great local pub the beer is fantastic service wonderful ,
food on the whole is very goodjust needa liitle more varity

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    35
    16
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Perfectly good food, but service time struggles when busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A Sat night, had booked for 6 people at 8pm, and looked like most other tables were booked so they had advance warning it would be busy.

We arrived at 7:50pm and despite asking 3 members of staff it took 20 mins to get a drink at the bar.

After that we were shown quickly to our table, given menu and had our orders taken. Lady service was helpful and very cheerful at her work.

Food was good for a pub - but at the price you expect more than pub food and it did deliver....cannot fault the food based on description and price. Nothing outstanding though.

The steak, even when ordered rare, was more like medium....but had been pre-warned of this so had ordered rare when wanted a medium.

Disappointed that the desert on the specials board was not available, even though still on the board.

All in, OK. If we hadn't traveled here for a booking I would probably have walked out at the first delayed service at the bar...but glad I didn't.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“First visit, will be going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

First visit to the dog and was very impressed

Food was out in good time and all piping hot. Great presentation of the burger and really good choice of food on the menu from pub grub to more fancy food. I like pub food so the burger was an easy choice.

Restaurant was busy so was in the bar which was nice and relaxed so didn't mind.

Overall a great visit and will be back but will book in advance to try the restaurant area...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous food great atmosphere, shame about the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We all went as a family of 5 ( three small children) the food was great quality and very good portions for the children, the atmosphere was lovely and the pub was wonderful inside and out, all I will say is, it was a little pricey and although the lady behind the bar was friendly and helpful it's a shame I can't say the same for the male waiter, in a rush very blunt and didn't seem interested in being there. But overall it was great :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first visit to The Dog & one we had been meaning to do for a long time as we'd heard good things about the food. We booked late but a table was found for us which we were really happy about.
The pub is in a really pretty setting and as we entered there seemed to be a nice atmosphere. We ordered drinks and were shown to our table.
There was a large menu with two choices for myself (I'm a vegetarian). We waited for the waitress to take our order and then had nearly a 40 minute wait for the food to arrive. We also noticed a table of people had come in after us and were served way before we were. Just as we were about to ask our food arrived. We ordered a cannelloni/spinach ricotta & garlic bread; sausages/mash/red wine jus and liver & bacon. The sausages and mash were ordinary, the ricotta was pretty standard and the garlic bread undercooked and dry and you couldn't taste any garlic and the liver and bacon was pretty awful. There was only one slice of bacon and the liver was almost like pink pate and could be mashed, there were saute potatoes with the dish which were pretty inedible as they were verging on charcoal.
We did think of having a desert but as one of us had to catch a train (the station is about 15 minutes away) an hour later didn't feel that we could risk it due to the wait so we left.
I'm not sure if there was a staff shortage and that was what the problem was. The waitress who served us was fine although she only asked us if everything was ok literally just after she served us. I wouldn't complain about that though as she was on the go the whole time we were in there.
There's only been twice in my life when I've left somewhere having had a meal out & still been hungry and this was one of them. The pricing was reasonable if the food had been a better standard but we were disappointed all round.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog also viewed

Woodbridge, Suffolk
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 
Pettistree, Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Suffolk
 

Been to The Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.