We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location for a date weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willersley Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Willersley Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Willersley Castle Hotel
Mill Lane, Cromford DE4 5JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Amazing location for a date weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night at the end of November.
I booked it as I loved the look of the castle and it seemed to be in a great location.
When we arrived I wasn't disappointed - it looked impressive on the drive up to it and our room had amazing views.
We stayed in room 30 which was at the top in the corner, we had 3 windows which gave stunning views and the room was spacious with a large bathroom.
The decor could do with updating - but I think this added to the charm of the hotel.
There is a woodland walk to Matlock Bath which adds to the experience, but you have to walk the long way back to the hotel at night as there are no lights on the path (which you wouldn't expect anyway in the middle of the woods!)
Matlock Bath has a variety of country pubs and chip shops, and a mile or two further is Matlock. We walked to Matlock and back stopping at the pubs on the way, and at night the castle and grounds are really quiet and peaceful.
In the morning we paid for breakfast at £7.50 each - we wouldn't normally as I prefer to go out - but the hangover needed feeding!!
There were cold + hot buffet options, unlimited juice,tea/coffee and toast, plus items cooked to order. The egg and soldiers went down a treat!
I would definately stay here again, we paid £57 for a deluxe room which I think is absolutely worth the money.
In the morning we left the car in the car park and walked to Cromford Mills - quaint little shopping area with handmade items.
Matlock is a lovely area, and perfect for a Winter weekend away sampling the local beverages!

Room Tip: Room 30 - deluxe double which is large with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
16
49
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked four nights here and thoroughly enjoyed every moment, the Hotel is beautiful and steeped with history, it is set in an area of outstanding beauty. The Willersley is not your run of the mill travel lodge, it will not be everyone's cup of tea but like most things in life it is what you make of it. My room was in an annex, it was warm comfortable and offered all I wanted, the decor was dated and a little tired, to me It made it seem more like an old castle. The staff were all lovely, educated and helpful, I highly commend them.
The hotel has some lovely facilities - do try them out. I did not dine here due to the set meal times and my own busy schedule but the guest I spoke to liked the idea of everyone sitting down together, like a family, as it gave them a chance to meet the neighbours. I regret not joining in.
I would certainly return here and truely believe I would be made as welcome as the first time.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay at Willersley Castle Hotel, it was our first visit but definitely wont be our last!
The building is over 200 years old and steeped in local history, we booked it as a 'cheap and cheerful' break away to use as a base close to Matlock Bath. We didn't expect too much given that we had paid £64 for two rooms but we were pleasantly surprised. The location and grounds and exterior of the building are stunning with amazing views. Our rooms were adequate, clean and comfortable although the fixtures, fittings and carpets were tired and worn , toiletries provided also hairdryers and tvs in both rooms and plenty of tea, coffee and milk.
There is a beautiful indoor pool which is in the grounds in a separate 'log cabin' we could use this for free and towels were provided!
The breakfast was delicious £7.95 a head - plenty of everything.
All the staff were extremely warm and friendly and made us feel very welcome. We were able to leave our car on the car park all day after we had checked out for no extra charge. We spent hours walking and were able to walk along the river into Matlock Bath & on to Matlock - we paid £5 to borrow a gate key which allows you to access the route ( this is refunded after you return)
We will be back to Willersley Castle an absolute gem of a place

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

Im sure if you stay it may be.nice but for us this was a mistake setting foot in this place. The area and such is beautiful, we are in the peak distirct after all! We had four afternoon teas after being told we do not serve lunch only light lunch to find they do infact serve lunch. With two vegitarians who were served straight salad sandwiches after requesting cheese and in addition to all being served straight branston pickle sandwiches in a hotel?! When we finally recieved our chips they were cheap oven chips you'd expect on a childrens meal and we were stuck in an over heated room on a table that we as four had zero space and no other choice. Overall not a great experience! The drawing room ad a whole is cleanish but the mirrors are disgusting! Feel very unwelcome. But i can add Tom the waiter was the lovliest waiter!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We stayed in the Willerslye castle hotel last week for one night. We were first given a small double bed room, which had a rather very small double bed. But we then asked & moved to a larger double bed room which was slightly more expensive but perfectly acceptable. The room was rather basic with dated decor, but the view was fantastic which made for all the other shortcoming.
The staff in the hotel were very nice & the area around the hotel was very pleasant for a stroll. But as the hotel is part of christen guild they told us that the dinner will be served @6.30 sharp for everybody & there was no choice of coming a bit later. It was also most odd that they had put us in a separate room for dinner totally on our own. So we decided not to stay for dinner & went to a restaurant in Cromford.
Overall it was a comfortable hotel with very helpful & nice staff & very beautiful surrounding & scenic views, & we would be happy to go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the mountain & river view on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Had a 3 night stay at the castle. The room I stayed in was in the castle and was spotlessly clean and quiet. The deal I was on was £52 for room, breakfast and 3 course meal which in this day and age cannot be beaten. Food was excellent and the staff were helpful. Great stay.

Room Tip: Room 34 in the castle has lovely views, however it it right at the top so you need to be able to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Unbeatable for the views from the castle over Cromford hills & the river. Lovely grounds. Recommend the walk to Matlock from the Hotel along the river.
Friendly, helpful staff. Functional rooms but right for the price.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willersley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willersley Castle Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cromford DE4 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Cromford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cromford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willersley Castle is a 200 year old Grade II listed building, commissioned by the great industrialist Sir Richard Arkwright. It occupies a magnificent position on the edge of the Peak District, overlooking the River Derwent.Designed in the Georgian style, Willersley Castle stands in 60 acres of grounds ranging from meadows to limestone crags, on the outskirts of Cromford, just south of the spa town of Matlock Bath.It makes an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Derbyshire Dales and the Peak District National Park. With its dramatic gritstone edges and vibrant limestone valleys, Derbyshire is a walkers’ and climbers’ paradise, full of geological gems like the show-caverns at Castleton and the imposing cliffs of Matlock Bath.The area is steeped in history, from the grandeur of Chatsworth House to the elegance of the spa town of Buxton and the rich industrial heritage of Wirksworth, Cromford, and the Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Willersley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willersley Castle Hotel Cromford, Derbyshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willersley Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.