We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for the 3rd year.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culdees Bunkhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fearnan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culdees Bunkhouse
Boreland Farm, Fearnan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PH15 2PG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Back for the 3rd year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've given Culdees an excellent review before and nothing has changed - it's still a wonderful place to stay to recharge your batteries.
This year we stayed in the cottage, which is adjoining the far end of the main accommodation, and comprises a large dining kitchen, bathroom and sitting room & dining room on the ground floor, with a stair leading up to 2 rooms, each with a double and bunks, and one ensuite. Although we were again there with a large group and had booked the whole place, this is a lovely self contained wing and would be perfect for a break in it's own right.
Again Maryse & John couldn't have been kinder and again they had organised stunning weather! :-) The only downside is the ensuing depression when you have to tear yourself away & back to reality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
5
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hamilton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

stayed here for two night with 10 other lads on a stag weekend ,downside 10 miles outside aberfeldy and as the town only has 1 taxican be tricky to get back to the diggs .we took cars in and were lucky to get the number of a mini bus that had taken us canyoning earlier in the day .on the previous night when we arrived we stayed in the bunkhouse and had a good laugh with all the instuments in the music room and as none of us can play a note you could imagine how that could be anoying but it was only our party that was there. the couple that run the bunkhouse are friendly if a little wierd but they leave you to get on with it . dont know if i would go up with the misssus as a large group of lads and a couple might not mix well in the communal areas when drink is involved but i think they have rooms in the farmhouse so that may be a better idea might be good to check first if you get good weather the view from the picnic tables is breathtaking you can see for miles down the loch,MAKES YOU PROUD TO BE SCOTTISH there is a hotel about 4 miles away for a drink and a meal walkable but not in the dark as you may get run down .beds were comfy and clean and there a showers dotted all over the place also has well eqiupped kitchen that sits about 10, we had a good time hope if you go you do to ..cheers

Room Tip: get room at the bottom of the hall as it is furthest away from the kit and bathrooms if you want a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here for three nights but was not long enough enjoyed this bunkhouse very much and cannot wait to return. Everyone is friendly and very helpfull in every way. It is being set up as an eco-village and is really interesting. You do really need a car to get around, although there is a bus service that does go close. It is very good for walkers from beginners to experienced. If you like to get away from it all this is the best place to come. It has a great view of Loch Tay. There is also water sports near at hand in nearby Aberfeldy and the other direction in Lochearnhead. The nearest shops and bars are up to 10 miles away so take some supplies with you. Cannot wait to return here soon. I was lucky to have been here in some really nice warm weather.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Culdees offer top quality bunkhouse and accommodation in a working eco-village project located above the shores of Loch Tay in Fearnan, near Aberfeldy. There are four bunk rooms, each sleeping four people plus five family rooms. Additional accommodation is available for larger parties.
The farm where the bunkhouse is located enjoys spectacular views of Loch Tay and nearby is Ben Lawers, just under 4,000 feet above sea level and is one of several Munros in the area.
The farm itself is being developed as an eco-village and co-housing project with vegetable gardens and eggs from resident chickens and milk from a goat. The long term aim is to create a sustainable community for a sizable number of people and currently the project is staffed by volunteers whom you may meet during your stay. Here at Culdees you are encouraged to separate your rubbish into separate, marked bins.
As with many bunkhouses the accommodation is self catering and here a high standard of cleaniness is maintained. Ample parking is provided.

Room Tip: There are five family rooms plus four bunk rooms sleeping four. Solo travellers and couples are wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Our stag group stayed at Culdees between the 18th and 20th May. It's on a farm so don't expect a smooth driveway! The bunkhouse accommodation is much like a hostel. Beds were clean and comfortable, and linen provided. You are not allowed to bring sleeping bags in. Our group of 11 were quite happy with the set up, with the communal areas being plenty big enough for us all. The showers were a bit hit and miss, and could do with improvement, but I'm sure this is on their list of things to do as cash becomes available. It is a rather remote location, so be mindful of this if you plan on visiting Kenmore or Aberfeldy for a couple of drinks. Apparently taxis are very expensive... All in all e enjoyed our stay and have taken away some very good memories. The view itself down Loch Tay is something I'll personally never forget.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Fascinating and intriguing accommodation in a remote and spectacular setting.We visited here over Easter for some Munro bagging.Very comfortable dorm rooms, lots of kitchens for our self catering and a friendly, laid back atmosphere.Very good value for money. Loved the concept and ethos of Culdees. Ignore all the old caravans on the lane, they are all part of the experience. Would recommend a stay here to anyone looking for something a bit different.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a wonderful and welcoming stay over the long weekend. The hosts were helpful and accommodating and the atmosphere was very relaxing. We booked a family room so we could sleep on a double bed instead of bunk beds, and the room was clean and quiet. For the price we paid, we got more value for money here than some other pricier hotels which had lower quality rooms and experience. It really depends on your own preference and previous experiences are when it comes to judging your stay at this place. For us, it was a perfect place to wind down after a weekend of exploring the beautiful area surrounding this place. What really struck out to us is that Culdees is more than just a hostel, but the vision behind the future projects is really encouraging and inspiring.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fearnan
Fortingall Hotel 4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews Kenmore Hotel 4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
View all 0 hotels in Fearnan, ranked by popularity

Been to Culdees Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culdees Bunkhouse

Address: Boreland Farm, Fearnan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PH15 2PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Fearnan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Fearnan
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Culdees Bunkhouse, with stunning views over Loch Tay, offers a wide range of accommodation, from a bunkhouse hostel, to B&B style family rooms and a real home-from-home self-catering holiday cottage in the midst of the beautiful Perthshire Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culdees Bunkhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Culdees Bunkhouse to your Saves list