We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Cottage
Oak Cottage
Oak Cottage
Oak Cottage
Master bedroom
Dining area
Kitchen
Loch Tay
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rachel M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a lovely little holiday rental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I stayed here with my husband and baby for our first family holiday. As soon as we walked in it felt homely with baby chair and toys awaiting our arrival. The facilities in the house were excellent with spotless decoration throughout and the view over the loch was amazing! The hot tub was wonderful and we even saw a few deer grazing down the hill which was the icing on the cake. I would definitely like to stay here again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Views
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Will B
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well off the beaten track, didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Nice property, self-catering and left alone to enjoy the peace and quiet. Beautiful views of the Loch and mountains. Would recommend and will certainly be coming back myself. Owners were very helpful throughout the stay. Don't get too popular!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The remoteness!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Paul_Yvon...
Glasgow
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

we stayed in november 2011, my husband, myself and my mum. we had the master bedroom, lovely and spacious, big comfy bed, large bathroom with seperate bath & shower. mum had the twin room, again comfy beds, spacious, nice ensuite shower room. ALL rooms in oak have a lovely uninterrupted view to the loch and nice big windows. the layout was great with an nice open plan lounge / kitchen / dining room. there was a lovely decking area outside with a hot tub again looking down to the loch. i would highly recommend oak. all properties in craggantoul are well furnished and nicely done out and most have hot tubs, but oak was our favourite as it felt isolated - due to being the property closest to the loch you couldn't see the other properties unless you looked behind you.we would love to be able to do a self build cottage one day in a serene location like loch tay, and oak has given us a lot of ideas should we ever take the plunge to do this. highly recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: views, hot tub
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kathryn F
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This was my first visit to Scotland and we couldn't have stayed anywhere more ideal. The cottage was immaculate and very spacious, with beautiful furniture and fixtures. The views over the fields and Loch Tay were stunning and we woke every morning to find deer in the front garden!
We were advised to take the drive to Glenlyon and Ben Lawyers and we weren't disappointed. The scenery and the wildlife was amazing. In fact we did the drive at least 3 times in our 5 day stay at the cottage!
Next time we visit we will be bringing the children as its ideal for a family holiday.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cottage and the stunning views
Liked least: There wasn't anything to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AStevens...
Penicuik, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing place with wonderful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This is our second time at the lovely Craggantoul Estate at the foot of Ben Lawers mountain and it lived up to all our expectations the second time around. This time we stayed at Oak Cottage which is 5 * top of the range very comfortable furnishings. Perfect just to sit in the hot tub on the very spacious decking area and soak in the wonderful views and watch the wildlife. Nearby Killin and Kenmore are worth a visit especially for the watersports and the Ben Lawers Hotel just a short 5 minute drive away does fantastic food and lots of it!
Can't wait to go back again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Very comfortable furnishings and the views from the bath and hot tub amazing.
Liked least: The weather could have been slightly better this time around
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$233
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Manager
Nina Deakin (Property Manager Nina Deakin)
44 7977 485866
Speaks English, French, German
Listed since : Apr 2010
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this manager is unavailable.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing