We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Chimneys Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mombello Monferrato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Five Chimneys Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Five Chimneys Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Fraz. Pozzengo, 15020 Mombello Monferrato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Piedmont is a hidden treasure of Italy. And the 5 Chimneys B&B is a hidden treasure in Piedmont. Giorgio and Patrizia are the greatest hosts and Patrizia’s meals are not to be missed; give them 10 stars, at least. (And be sure to buy a copy of her cookbook, available on their website or in person if you go.) We stayed with them for 3 days in October 2012 and wish it had been for at least a week. It's like staying with family. The only drawback is the weight you may put on from the wonderful food. And the wine choices are wonderful also.

We will be sure to schedule a visit with them the next time we are in Piedmont.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
omaha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great B and B in a beautiful area. English speaking owners for those who might be intimidated by the language barrier. Giorgio will either drive you on a variety of day trips, or he will help you navigate via train or subway in the bigger cities. The meals at Five Chimneys were incredible. We had a very relaxing trip, and the best part was experiencing lesser known areas of Italy and avoiding the tourist traps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHT, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had been traveling throughout Italy for ten days when we arrived at Five Chimneys. Giorgio picked us up at the train station in Alessandria and brought us "home", We were greeted by a smiling Patrizia, who had snacks and wine in the beautiful garden. We felt like we had known them all our lives, as they made us feel so comfortable and welcome. Patrizia is an amazing cook. Her eggplant carponata was so yummy, as were all her special meals she prepared daily for us. We bought her cookbook, and I've already made the carponata, which our guests loved.
Our room was spacious with two balconies (the views were spectacular) and had screens (which is a rarity in Italy). Contrary to Mountainlaurel's comments about the lack of closet space, there was ample space in the wardrobe for our clothes. The beautiful double sink bathroom was very large and bright. There was a wonderful "tea room" just outside our room where you could read or just relax and look out the window at the mountains,

Patrizia sets a beautiful dining room table and serves wonderful breakfasts of cereal, fruit (her baked apples and pears are yummy!) and takes special requests for scrambled eggs. Her dinners of homemade pasta with pesto sauce, quail, and turkey, along with lentil and garbanzo bean soups are mouthwatering and a welcome treat after being out all day.

Giorgio is a knowledgeable guide who will take you to the top of the mountains of Monferrato to experience some of the most beautiful countryside in all of Italy. We've been to Tuscany and feel that this region is more picturesque. It is also close to Torino (great city for shopping, gelatto and chocolate), Milano (the duomo is unbelievable), You can get to these cities via train from Vercelli, where Giorgio is more than happy to drive you. He also took us to Lake Orta, which is one of the prettiest areas in Northern Italy. We also had a very interesting tour of the Leporati winery, where we walked through the vineyards and tasted the delicious grapes right off the vine.

We also met Mario, the Vice Mayor of Pozzengo, who was very gracious, taking the time to show us the beautiful church in this tiny village. Five Chimneys is a wonderful place to relax, enjoy the countryside and experience the warm and caring Patrizia and Giorgio. You really do come as guests and leave as family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

In short, 5 Chimeny’s stay is like a home away from home. Our two days’ of vacation with Giorgio and Patrizia turned in to 4 days of bliss since we were supposed to go another place. We ate everyday night at the B&B where Patrizia is an amazing chef and prepared amazing Piedmont regional cuisine with the freshest and local ingredients and the food was to die for. Believe me since I cook for a living, and I learned a lot from her. Giorgio is a great host where he will take you to many local villages and show yon the proper way to taste Barolo wines and other grapes from the area. We really enjoyed our stay at 5 Chimney’s where they know so much about the area and will share their knowledge and you’ll really enjoy your time at their kindest and warmest hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Beautiful setting perfect hosts, personaized attention, but, disconcerting to find wardrobes filled with clothes and personal items. Nowhere to hang your clothes and while the bathroom was clean and spacious used soap was left in shower recess. Atmosphere was somewhat oppressive. Still couldn't find a more beautiful area and so close to Italian alps.

Room Tip: Allrooms are beautiful if somewhat cluttered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mombello, Owner at Five Chimneys Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Together with my wife Patrizia we thank you for having taken the time to write a review. We take very seriously our commitment to satisfy our guest to the fullest; hence, your input will benefit our improvement process. You have use the word ‘oppressive’ and quite honestly we fail to understand what you are referring to. Honestly, we do not remember your presence here at 5Chimneys in June 2012 especially from Sidney, because we only had guests from Melbourne.
Regards
Giorgio & Patrizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

After seeing the important monuments in Rome and Florence we ended our trip at 5 Chimneys. Our only regret - we waited too long and had too little time.
The B&B is charming - an old world setting, but all the modern amenities. You can't find better hosts than Patrizia and Giorgio. Giorgio is at your beck and call, to take you around to the local sites - which tend to be better than the highly publicized sites you find in all the tour guides. When you return, Patrizia will have a fabulous, authentic Italian dinner ready for you - complete with wines from their vineyard.
While you are there, you will get to meet the neighbors, including Google John - who really is a walking encyclopedia.
I can't think of a better way to end a trip to Italy - a chance to relax, unwind and be pampered before you return to normal life. Next time we go to Italy, this may just be the entire trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Highly recommend Five Chimneys as a place to experience and enjoy Italy's people, food, countryside, lakes and vineyards. Your hosts are warm and very helpful, your meals are excellent, the home is darling and your rooms are comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Five Chimneys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Chimneys Bed & Breakfast

Address: Fraz. Pozzengo, 15020 Mombello Monferrato, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Mombello Monferrato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mombello Monferrato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Chimneys is a charming and hidden jewel located in the Monferrato region of Piedmont, surranded by amazing landscape, let nature be you guide as you discover our history as you walk along our vineyards in harmony with nature.The unspoiled and spectacular vistas and back roads will draw you closer to our heritage. The itineraries we propose are therefore simple suggestions, you're invited to abandon your stress, your canned tour ideas, and enjoy the colors of our land, our food, hospitality, our welcome. Most of all become one of us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Five Chimneys Bed & Breakfast Italy/Mombello Monferrato

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Chimneys Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.